We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Amy K

Tandala tented camp, a little gem in the Ruaha, is a must to visit for safari. Loved every minute!! Bravo

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Oct 2023
October has to be one of the best times of the year to travel to Tanzania. Still in the dry season, but not overwhelmed with tourists, the Ruaha boasts the full complement of animals that one would want to meet on a photographic tour. Our accommodations in the bush allowed us to be up close and personal with flora and fauna of the Ruaha national park. In fact, a lion's roar and elephant calls may wake you from your sleep. But, have no fear, the camp's Masai guards walking with steathlike precision, patrol the perimeter to guard against unwanted intruders and all tents are elevated on stilts.
We absolutely loved the rustic feel of our tent and sinking into the soft leather seats of the great room/bar rounded out a long day on safari. ( the youngsters opted for the pool.) Our hosts, Dionysia and Yanni, a wonderful couple, provided all the comforts plus excellent meals. All staff members were exceptionally thoughtful, kind and helpful and thus all of our needs (plus laundry) were tended to.
Our guide, Damien, and driver Ibrahim superbly drove us through the Ruaha and were able to explain not only animal habits and habitats, but also were keen at spotting an unusual bird, common plant or land formation. ( I never realized that the Masai still use for medications those found in the bush.
Although the Tandala camp was our last stop on safari, it was by no means a lesser stop than the Serengeti or Ngorongoro.
Tandala tented camp is a little gem situated in the bush outside of Iringa and should be explored by those who want the feel of a "real" safari. We regret that we didn't spend extra time visiting but hope to extend our stay next time! Bravo to Dionysia, Yanni and the entire staff. We loved every minute

Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: Obey the camp rules -- don't stray off the paths and travel at night with your Masai guards who...
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 21 537
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 21 537
  • Lol.travel
43.0 km from Tandala Tented Camp
Pool
Restaurant
R 4 474
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 4 474
  • Agoda.com
    R 4 465
21.8 km from Tandala Tented Camp
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
40.2 km from Tandala Tented Camp
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Contact accommodation for availability.
14.6 km from Tandala Tented Camp
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Ruaha National Park
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
121
13
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
121
13
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watering hole water hole swimming pool on stilts game drives watch elephants viewing platform lounge area elephants coming african night main gate per day rainy season knew where shower and toilet water buck a great place to stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2023

Absolutely incredible experience! The owners are so genuine and kind, you feel like family when you are there. I can’t think of a better place to stay if i was in the country again! Seeing the elephants around the watering hole every evening was a memory ill have forever. Last but certainly not least, the dinners were delicious!

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sunshine56839388067
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2023

If you ever have a chance to visit this lodge DO IT! Experiencing elephants giraffes and other animals while drinking your coffee, showering or eating dinner because of the water hole has something special to it. The owners are the people who make this lodge special. Doing everything they can for you to make you feel welcome. The food was so good. Created with a lot of thoughts one was able to enjoy a 3 course meal every night under the stars. What could you want more. The owner even went so far to bake a two tire cake for my sisters birthday!

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lophia_seona
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2023 via mobile

This is an incredible place to relax - environment is simple and serene and it’s perfect. The animals of the park come to you at the water hole adjacent to property!. Less than 10 mins to Ruaha National park gate where the Tandala guides and drivers ensure a great experience. Tents are really authentic and dinner under the southern stars is very special. Well done Jannie , Dionysia and all the staff. We are looking forward to returning. Joe and Rosaleen.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Buccaneers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 May 2023

Return trip top Tandala with family was great. People / Camp / food and drink all of it remained great -- Park drives / especially the guides were fantastic. Will definitely return when next going to Ruaha National Park. Unqualified recommendation for the Camp.

Date of stay: May 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2023

As the title suggests this was our second visit to Tandala. It was so good on the first visit we just had to return again (and hopefully again.)
Booking was so easy. An eMail to Dionysia and it was arranged. Post Covid there were some different rules about payment etc., but all was done correctly. We arrived independently and after being greeted warmly Yannis had noted my wife's difficulty in getting out of the car and promptly and kindly allocated us a Land Rover for game drives which had easier access for us less agile folks.
The place was just as we remembered but being rainy season the grounds were more lush and beautifully green. Fewer animals needing the waterhole but there were still plenty around. Birdlife was plentiful too.
There is a small swimming pool by the main Lapa and as the outside dining area was not in use we ate breakfast and dinner in another small 'room'. I say room but it had no walls or windows and very homely.
Dionysia was away with family, as the season was ending but Yannis made the perfect friendly host.
Our tents are on stilts and quite roomy with a viewing platform outside and a large bed with storage area and a bathroom with all facilities en suite. One could and did lie awake and listen to the sounds of the African night. Lion, Hyena and Elephant rumblings.
Meals were very good, three courses were usual at dinner. Breakfast cooked to order each morning. We took packed lunches with us each day on game drives into the Park. The Camp is just 5km from the main gate so easily accessible. Our drivers/guides were very skilled and safe and knew where to find the wildlife. We saw Cheetah, Leopards and Lions and some of the friendliest Elephant I have ever met. Lots of young ones too and protective Aunties to guard them.
We had a wonderful four days and will certainly try our best to return before long.
Thank you Dionysia and Yanni, may you continue to prosper and entertain us.

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mfuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews