We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jac D

Blending luxury with nature, perfectly.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Dec 2023
An unforgettable experience and a holiday of a lifetime for my mother-in-law, husband and I.

Ikuka Safari Camp is exceptional. The open rooms allow you to experience nature and also afford you 5* accommodation. The staff operate as a close knit family and are hugely welcoming. The camp is run exceptionally well and everything is delivered at the highest level of professional and totally flawless.

Having our own dedicated safari guide during the day allowed us to tailor our safari to suit ourselves. The wildlife is spectacular, and Luka’s (our guide) knowledge and insights certainly taught us a lot about Tanzania culture, the animals, birds, insects, plants etc etc

Unforgettable and unbeatable experience.

Thank you Ikuka team. We will be back soon!
Jen, Tim, Jac

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IKUKA SAFARI CAMP, General Manager at Ikuka Safari Camp, responded to this review
Responded 30 Dec 2023
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience on here with others, we truly appreciate it. We are really happy to hear that your experience was rich and that you had some great family time! We look forward to staying in touch. Best wishes from the Ikuka Family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 21 313
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 21 395
  • Lol.travel
19.3 km from Ikuka Safari Camp
Pool
Restaurant
R 4 397
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 4 397
  • Agoda.com
    R 4 393
30.9 km from Ikuka Safari Camp
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
29.9 km from Ikuka Safari Camp
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Contact accommodation for availability.
24.6 km from Ikuka Safari Camp
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Ruaha National Park
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
180
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
180
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews safari camp owners mark game drives plunge pool our honeymoon pure luxury bush breakfast breathtaking views hot water bottles travel agent great outdoors felt completely rock house great gin and tonic positive energy sitting room animal tracks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2023

From arrival to the day we had to leave, it was amazing! Tom and Chevy are such wonderful, kind and helpful hosts. The whole staff, the guides are excellent and very professional. Luka was a very good guide! And then the lodges : Wauw, we never experienced anything so perfect in every detail.The food was delicious and every plate was another kind of art.
The views, so many animals, the landscapes, everything completed the amazing experience.Thanks for this unbelievable experience!

Room tip: Just enjoy everything
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Corrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IKUKA SAFARI CAMP, General Manager at Ikuka Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2023

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience on here with others! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed every detail in the lodge and also that you saw so many animals - Ruaha is a special place :) Best wishes from the Ikuka family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2023

This camp is everything you could ever possibly dream about when it comes to having a sensational African safari experience. In fact everything exceeded our expectations - a real 'Out of Africa' sensation. Each tent was wonderfully equipped and offered magnificent views from the escarpment on which the camp was located. The quality of the cuisine was sublime, the staff were exceptional and our guide 'Joffrey' was fantastic all round. His knowledge seemed to know no bounds about the fauna and flora, and even taught us to be read animal tracks! I have no doubt that all the guides provided by the camp are equal to this, but Joffrey was our guide and he was superb. Tommy and Chevy who run the whole operation were at the top of their game and made us feel very special, as I'm sure they do to every guest who is fortunate enough to pass through the Ikuka Safari Camp.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HarryLipstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IKUKA SAFARI CAMP, General Manager at Ikuka Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2023

Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience on here with others, we truly appreciate it! We are so pleased you enjoyed everything about Ruaha and Ikuka and got to know our team and learnt how to read animal tracks! We look forward to staying in touch. Best wishes from the Ikuka family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2023

Wow - what a way to start our honeymoon! We couldn't fault a single thing Ikuka had to offer. Aside from the breathtaking location and views, sundowner sunsets and extremely knowledgeable tour guide (Habibu <3), the hotel and the whole team was outstanding and the food (really) blew us away.
We don't normally vow to go back to places for a second time as we want to explore as many places as possible, but for Ikuka we would go back in a heartbeat.
THANK YOU!!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IKUKA SAFARI CAMP, General Manager at Ikuka Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2023

Thank you so much for your lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience on here with others, we truly appreciate it. Thank you for choosing us as one of your honeymoon locations, we really enjoyed hosting you both and showing you the magic of Ruaha! We look forward to staying in touch. Best wishes from the Ikuka family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2023

I don't normally write reviews on here but felt after my experience in September at this beautiful little camp it warranted a double thumbs up. Everything is so well thought out. The staff take on board every wish and concern. Truly personal service and every guest is given a unique experience tailored to their requirements. You feel like you have joined an extended family. The camp is on a hilltop with beautiful views and far away from other camps. Our guide, Geofry was very experienced and his knowledge regarding the environment, birds and animals was first rate. Tommy, Chevy and their team made our experience a once in a lifetime one and my friend had a birthday which was well and truly celebrated in true Swahili style!

Room tip: Request a room with a plunge pool if you can
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WeybridgeSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IKUKA SAFARI CAMP, General Manager at Ikuka Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2023

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review and for sharing your experience on here with others, we truly appreciate it. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and chose us as a location to celebrate your friends birthday! Best wishes from the Ikuka family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2023 via mobile

From the moment you are picked up from the airstrip the game viewing starts. You get a warm welcome on arrival and the accomodation is absolutely stunning. No detail is overlooked in the camp or out on safari.
The food was fantastic, service is brilliant without being overbearing and nothing is too much trouble.
We did a walking safari which ended with breakfast in the bush which was amazing.
The game drives were different every day and our wonderful guide Habi could spot the big to the small and was extremely knowledgable.
Tommy and Chevy was also on hand to see how our day had gone and if we needed anything.
This seamless service looks effortless but is really hard work. The whole team make it look easy. Thank you all.
Next time a honey badger!

Room tip: Take less clothes, great laundry service.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IKUKA SAFARI CAMP, General Manager at Ikuka Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2023

Thank you for posting this wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience on here with others, we truly appreciate it! So great to hear you enjoyed game drives and a walking safari and we are waiting for you to return to see the honey badger! Best wishes from the Ikuka family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews