We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Craigeuan
London, United Kingdom

Just great!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Jul 2023via mobile
Just an amazing place! Fantastic lodge in an amazing location with great service, great food and great company.
The rooms are just first class and extremely comfortable with everything you need. Plus amazing views from the deck.
The safari service is everything you want. Informative, well managed, comfortable and interesting. The guides are knowledgeable and friendly and good company.
The food from breakfast to dinner was great and we have memories that will stay with us forever!
Thank you to everyone at Ikuka
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IKUKA SAFARI CAMP, General Manager at Ikuka Safari Camp, responded to this review
Responded 30 Jul 2023
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience on here with others, we truly appreciate it! We are really pleased to read that you had everything you would want from a safari experience! We look forward to staying in touch. Best wishes from the Ikuka Family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
19.3 km from Ikuka Safari Camp
Pool
Restaurant
    37.8 km from Ikuka Safari Camp
    Free parking
    Restaurant
      32.0 km from Ikuka Safari Camp
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      29.9 km from Ikuka Safari Camp
      Restaurant
      Bar/Lounge
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      24.6 km from Ikuka Safari Camp
      Free parking
      Restaurant
      View more hotels in Ruaha National Park
      Reviews (180)
      Filter reviews
      180 results
      Traveller rating
      179
      1
      0
      0
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      179
      1
      0
      0
      0
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews safari camp owners mark game drives plunge pool our honeymoon pure luxury bush breakfast breathtaking views hot water bottles travel agent great outdoors felt completely rock house great gin and tonic positive energy sitting room animal tracks
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      12 - 17 of 180 reviews
      Reviewed 12 July 2023 via mobile

      We visited Tanzania for our 1st ever safari & spent 3 nights at Ikuka - easily the best 3 nights of our honeymoon.

      The venue is stunning, rooms are glamping to the absolute max, huge bed, beautiful panoramic views off a high vantage point, privacy whilst also being open.

      Tommo & his team cater to your every need, happy, chatty staff … hot water bottles in your bed; greeting you on your return from safaris with a team of waving staff, which my other half loved every time! Water bottles filled with ice to keep you cool in the day.

      Food is divine & there’s plenty of it! … Maybe they’re trying to fatten us all up for the lions?!
      The bar is fully stocked with all the spirits you could ask for & they certainly know how to make a proper cocktail!

      We haven’t even got to the safari yet!! Our guide was incredibly knowledgable, we learned a lot from him. We were lucky enough to see almost everything we could have hoped, including a cheetah! Unfortunately the wild dogs evaded us, however we hear they were seen the day after we left - typical!! Haha!! … At least it’s a pretty good excuse to go back!!

      My new wife & I both agree, this was by far the best holiday experience we have ever had! And something we will most definitely never forget.

      Date of stay: June 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank browners1
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      IKUKA SAFARI CAMP, General Manager at Ikuka Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2023

      Thank you so much for your wonderful for review and for taking the time to share your experience on here with others. We are very happy to read that we were the best 3 nights of your honeymoon! Please come back soon for the wild dogs! We look forward to staying in touch. Best wishes from the Ikuka family.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 10 July 2023

      It is really hard to describe Ikuka in words...it is perfection. The location overlooking the national park is idyllic and Tom and his team provide a seamless safari experience. Your every possible want & need is catered for and anticipated. Every time we entered or left the camp Tom & his staff would be there there with cooling towels and a refreshing beverage.

      To say that we were well fed is an understatement. Coffee tray, Bush breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, sundowners & dinner! All of an extremely high standard.

      The rooms were beautiful. Massive bed, open bathroom and every facility you could possibly need.

      It is well worth spending a couple of days in camp without going on safari drives just to soak in the views and the atmosphere.

      Date of stay: June 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank helencW5118LP
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      IKUKA SAFARI CAMP, General Manager at Ikuka Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2023

      Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience on here with others. We agree - spending time to soak in the views from the camp is a winner! We look forward to staying in touch. Best wishes from the Ikuka family.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 9 July 2023

      This isn't easy to write a review worthy of IKUKA.

      IKUKA is a special place that will change you.

      The team is caring and kind, and memorable.

      Tom is brilliant with his entire team. I want to stress every single member of the team is the best you could ever encounter.

      The meals were outstanding, and the presentation was beyond words.

      We cried when we left as we had become their family.

      The Safari experience was world-class and exclusive, and non-commercial. I think it must feel like Africa was 40 yrs ago.

      Mustafa was our guide and friend, and we are grateful for all the brilliant

      wildlife experience. We saw everything

      Room tip: Book soon before it is discovered by many
      Date of stay: June 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank C8567SCbrentd
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      IKUKA SAFARI CAMP, General Manager at Ikuka Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2023

      Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for this wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience with others, we truly appreciate it. Being non-commercial and genuine is something we really try to achieve, we are so pleased that you had this experience! We look forward to staying in touch. Best wishes from your Ikuka family.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 9 July 2023

      There are insufficient superlatives to justly review Ikuka Safari Camp...
      It was Heaven.
      My partner and I spent a week there and we had the time of our lives. It is Incredible on many levels: location, service, details, cuisine, accommodation, care, thoughtfulness, warmth and genuine interest in all their lucky visitors.
      I worked in and later taught hospitality management in various countries and every single person working at Ikuka Safari camp is obviously at PhD level. They were astounding.
      I won't spoil the surprise element for future visitors but the attention to detail surpasses every expectation.
      The accommodation -- beautiful, supremely comfortable and all in keeping with stunning natural surroundings.
      The food -- Well it was simply Brilliant. .. and very plentiful! I was amazed that such a level of excellence could be achieved there in the bush and in a week there was not one course or meal that was anything less than delicious and all expertly presented.
      The Ikuka Family -- Simply The Best. Tommy and Chevy are Superb at what they do and their enjoyment in their work is obvious. They are wonderfully supported by a team that anticipate your wishes, obviously take great pride in their work and also, importantly, obviously enjoy what they're doing.
      Geoffrey -- He was our guide on our game drives and oh, was he amazing! Nothing was too much trouble, every siting was wonderful and his knowledge and care were unsurpassed.
      I made a joke that we should sell our house and move there because it is simply heaven... I was only half joking.
      Mick and I Thank the Entire Ikuka Family for giving us an unforgettable experience and we so hope that we will be able to return to the heaven that is Ikuka.

      Date of stay: June 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Zoe C
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      IKUKA SAFARI CAMP, General Manager at Ikuka Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2023

      Asante sana from the bottom of our hearts for this wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience on here with others, we truly appreciate it! We thoroughly enjoyed having you both to stay at Ikuka, thank you for appreciating us and everything you experienced! We look forward to staying in touch. Best wishes from your Ikuka family.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 7 July 2023 via mobile

      We visited the camp in early July and were blown away by the service, views and game/ safari experiences.
      Tommy and the whole team ran a really professional operation with greetings, cold towels and drinks every time we arrived in the camp post a safari drive.
      Fantastic rooms and central facilities with views of the ever changing Tanzanian countryside really added to the wild experience.
      Food and drinks were above our expectations and friendly attentive staff made dinner at the communal table a real end of day highlight.
      Our guide Geoffrey was outstanding and took time to get us into the best locations to see a wide variety of the animals in Ruaha National Park
      Highly recommend you put Ikuka on you itinerary if you are in Tanzania.
      Cheers
      The Cooks

      Date of stay: July 2023
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank Hamish C
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      IKUKA SAFARI CAMP, General Manager at Ikuka Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2023

      Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and for sharing your experience on here with others, we truly appreciate it! We are so glad that you enjoyed our camp, the safaris, Ruaha and our location! Thank you again for recommending us so highly. We look forward to staying in touch. Best wishes from the Ikuka Family.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews