We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Helen C
Doha, Qatar

Unmatchable safari experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Jul 2023
It is really hard to describe Ikuka in words...it is perfection. The location overlooking the national park is idyllic and Tom and his team provide a seamless safari experience. Your every possible want & need is catered for and anticipated. Every time we entered or left the camp Tom & his staff would be there there with cooling towels and a refreshing beverage.

To say that we were well fed is an understatement. Coffee tray, Bush breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, sundowners & dinner! All of an extremely high standard.

The rooms were beautiful. Massive bed, open bathroom and every facility you could possibly need.

It is well worth spending a couple of days in camp without going on safari drives just to soak in the views and the atmosphere.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IKUKA SAFARI CAMP, General Manager at Ikuka Safari Camp, responded to this review
Responded 11 Jul 2023
Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience on here with others. We agree - spending time to soak in the views from the camp is a winner! We look forward to staying in touch. Best wishes from the Ikuka family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 21 696
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 21 696
19.3 km from Ikuka Safari Camp
Pool
Restaurant
R 4 469
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 4 468
30.9 km from Ikuka Safari Camp
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
29.9 km from Ikuka Safari Camp
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Contact accommodation for availability.
24.6 km from Ikuka Safari Camp
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Ruaha National Park
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
178
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
178
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews safari camp owners mark game drives plunge pool our honeymoon pure luxury bush breakfast breathtaking views hot water bottles travel agent great outdoors felt completely rock house great gin and tonic positive energy sitting room animal tracks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2023

This isn't easy to write a review worthy of IKUKA.

IKUKA is a special place that will change you.

The team is caring and kind, and memorable.

Tom is brilliant with his entire team. I want to stress every single member of the team is the best you could ever encounter.

The meals were outstanding, and the presentation was beyond words.

We cried when we left as we had become their family.

The Safari experience was world-class and exclusive, and non-commercial. I think it must feel like Africa was 40 yrs ago.

Mustafa was our guide and friend, and we are grateful for all the brilliant

wildlife experience. We saw everything

Room tip: Book soon before it is discovered by many
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank C8567SCbrentd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IKUKA SAFARI CAMP, General Manager at Ikuka Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2023

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for this wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience with others, we truly appreciate it. Being non-commercial and genuine is something we really try to achieve, we are so pleased that you had this experience! We look forward to staying in touch. Best wishes from your Ikuka family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2023

There are insufficient superlatives to justly review Ikuka Safari Camp...
It was Heaven.
My partner and I spent a week there and we had the time of our lives. It is Incredible on many levels: location, service, details, cuisine, accommodation, care, thoughtfulness, warmth and genuine interest in all their lucky visitors.
I worked in and later taught hospitality management in various countries and every single person working at Ikuka Safari camp is obviously at PhD level. They were astounding.
I won't spoil the surprise element for future visitors but the attention to detail surpasses every expectation.
The accommodation -- beautiful, supremely comfortable and all in keeping with stunning natural surroundings.
The food -- Well it was simply Brilliant. .. and very plentiful! I was amazed that such a level of excellence could be achieved there in the bush and in a week there was not one course or meal that was anything less than delicious and all expertly presented.
The Ikuka Family -- Simply The Best. Tommy and Chevy are Superb at what they do and their enjoyment in their work is obvious. They are wonderfully supported by a team that anticipate your wishes, obviously take great pride in their work and also, importantly, obviously enjoy what they're doing.
Geoffrey -- He was our guide on our game drives and oh, was he amazing! Nothing was too much trouble, every siting was wonderful and his knowledge and care were unsurpassed.
I made a joke that we should sell our house and move there because it is simply heaven... I was only half joking.
Mick and I Thank the Entire Ikuka Family for giving us an unforgettable experience and we so hope that we will be able to return to the heaven that is Ikuka.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IKUKA SAFARI CAMP, General Manager at Ikuka Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2023

Asante sana from the bottom of our hearts for this wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience on here with others, we truly appreciate it! We thoroughly enjoyed having you both to stay at Ikuka, thank you for appreciating us and everything you experienced! We look forward to staying in touch. Best wishes from your Ikuka family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2023 via mobile

We visited the camp in early July and were blown away by the service, views and game/ safari experiences.
Tommy and the whole team ran a really professional operation with greetings, cold towels and drinks every time we arrived in the camp post a safari drive.
Fantastic rooms and central facilities with views of the ever changing Tanzanian countryside really added to the wild experience.
Food and drinks were above our expectations and friendly attentive staff made dinner at the communal table a real end of day highlight.
Our guide Geoffrey was outstanding and took time to get us into the best locations to see a wide variety of the animals in Ruaha National Park
Highly recommend you put Ikuka on you itinerary if you are in Tanzania.
Cheers
The Cooks

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Hamish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IKUKA SAFARI CAMP, General Manager at Ikuka Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2023

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and for sharing your experience on here with others, we truly appreciate it! We are so glad that you enjoyed our camp, the safaris, Ruaha and our location! Thank you again for recommending us so highly. We look forward to staying in touch. Best wishes from the Ikuka Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2023

We do not normally stay at luxury camps – we like our safari experiences to be as much on the wild side as possible, but we were advised to make an exception in June 2023.

Ikuka Safari Camp presides over the Ruaha National Park from its unique location high up on the Mwagusi escarpment – it is quite literally a high-end destination! It is both a ‘chilling out’ and a ‘serious safari’ destination. The TLC of family ownership shines through from the camp’s design and layout through to its décor and furnishings. This is no ordinary camp underpinned by the quality its staff, service, food, and attention to detail. It is one of a very small number of camps we would not hesitate to return to. It justly belongs to the luxury end of the safari camps market yet is not in any way ostentatious. Warm, welcoming, offering mesmerising views stretching 30kms or more. A wonderful place to take a safari siesta in preparation for the next game drive experience.

We were blessed to have the services of Senior Guide, Festo. Brits will instantly take to Festo who is not only very knowledgeable on all matters wildlife, but also has a fantastic grasp of English humour due to his outstanding language skills. There was plenty of wildlife on offer and I particularly enjoyed a walking safari – time to stop and stare at the flora and some fauna – magical!

The staff and their manager Tommy were all exceptional, even rising to the challenge of recovering a pair of swimming trunks that had apparently thrown themselves over the precipice – we won’t mention the drowning socks in the plunge pool. Nothing was too much trouble; everyone was genuinely welcoming and friendly; so many smiles we initially thought they must be part of the staff uniform, but we were wrong – everyone was just genuinely happy to be there.

We seriously hope to make a return visit, trusting there will be a room with a view!

Room tip: Cold air sinks; dropping down to the valley in the early morning can be quite chilly - layered clothing, hat, gloves = good ideas.
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IKUKA SAFARI CAMP, General Manager at Ikuka Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2023

Thank you so much for this lovely review and for taking the time to write this and for sharing your experience with others, we truly appreciate it. We are so happy that you felt the TLC throughout the camp and from our wonderful team. We look forward to staying in touch. Best wishes from the Ikuka family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2023

This was the 4th and final Safari camp in our 2.5 weeks in Tanzania. It was fabulous. We would not hesitate to recommend this camp. It is located inside Ruaha national park and in the best location compared to all the other 12 lodges in th area. Ikuka sits on the top of hills, perfectly integrated into the hillside so you cannot find it unless you know where it is. Each room/cabana sits off the edge of the hillside to maximize views. The rooms are furnished with everything you would need and more. The staff are kind, thoughtful, and caring and do everything they can to anticipate any need you might have. They generously feed you 6-7 times a day with an absolutely creative menu. We were fortunate to stay 4 nights which I would recommend. Make the effort to stay here and experience this national park as it was a totally different safari experience (from landscape as well as wild life viewing) from our south Serengeti and Mahale stays.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank G-Steph888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IKUKA SAFARI CAMP, General Manager at Ikuka Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2023

Thank you so much for your glowing review and for taking the time to share your experience with others on here. We are so pleased you had a fabulous time at our camp and in Ruaha. We look forward to staying in touch. Best wishes from the Ikuka Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews