We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
102
35
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
35
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages miniature horses thula thula spectacular views horse riding royal natal national park well equipped for self catering drakensberg mountains meals delivered mountain paradise fairy tale braai area hiking trails peaceful location friendly hosts two nights tugela falls
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2018

Spectacular views from the veranda of the Phezulu cottage! The cottage has all of the amenities you need for an enjoyable self-catering stay. The B&B option is a good deal.
Absolutely loved the ponies who trot around and the location of the property makes surrounding activities easily accessible. The trek up the driveway takes some getting used to, but can become a fun part of the journey if you enjoy 'roughing it' a little. The only suggestion I would make to future visitors is to stock up on dinner supplies - because ordering in is very expensive! We ordered dinner one evening and although the food was tasty , we had a standard sized pie, some side veg and salad that cost R440 for 2 people. Dessert was a taste-tester and finished after 3 teaspoon fulls. However, overall a lovely place to stay and staff are friendly - so, would certainly recommend it!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank JadeS1783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

Where to start. Chantal is lovely and so helpful in arranging whatever you need for your stay. Cottages are in a stunning location with views to die for. Accommodation is in very good condition and loved the ponies milling around. Antelope on the property with a great hiking track and less than 20km to Royal Natal NP. Cannot be beaten for value and view.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisH1894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

This is definitely the place to go to if you're really looking at getting away from everything. The views are beautiful, the cottages are really well equipped for self caterers and the breakfasts are yummy.

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

My husband and I stayed for a week during our honeymoon. Vaughn and Chantal are eager and friendly hosts. The food is incredible, while we could enjoy it with spectacular views. We could relax totally. The cottages are central (inside of a 50 km radius) to literally all the major attractions and viewpoints of the Northern and Central Drakensberg. We highly recommend a visit!!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ElismaB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughn P, Owner at Berghouse and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Thank you for visiting and also for your kind review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your Honeymoon stay with us in the Northern Drakensberg. We hope you cherish your memories of this Drakensberg Experience. We look forward to your return someday!
With warm regards from owners and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Superb views on the Drakensberg mountains
Very friendly staff
Good price/quality ratio
Nice trail tracks on the domain
No supermarket nearby
Dinner is served between 6.30 and 7 pm in your own cottage. Due to this and because there’s no central room to meet other guests, no WiFi or television in the cottages, you’re almost obliged to go early to bed.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeroen_Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughn P, Owner at Berghouse and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Hi Jeroen,
Thank you for your kind and in-depth review, but most of all for visiting our destination in the Drakensberg. We hope that you will cherish your experience at the Drakensberg for many years. We look forward to your return visit someday. Hopefully, by that time we will have a communal room to meet other guests, just like the firepit area that everyone meets at on top of the hill with that 270 deg view of the panorama of mountains.With warm regards from us all at the Berghouse and Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews