We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
98
36
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
36
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages miniature horses well equipped for self catering royal natal national park horse riding thula thula drakensberg mountains meals delivered spectacular vistas both breakfast and dinner fairy tale braai area peaceful location hiking trails two nights tugela falls serviced daily
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

This is definitely the place to go to if you're really looking at getting away from everything. The views are beautiful, the cottages are really well equipped for self caterers and the breakfasts are yummy.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

My husband and I stayed for a week during our honeymoon. Vaughn and Chantal are eager and friendly hosts. The food is incredible, while we could enjoy it with spectacular views. We could relax totally. The cottages are central (inside of a 50 km radius) to literally all the major attractions and viewpoints of the Northern and Central Drakensberg. We highly recommend a visit!!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ElismaB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughn P, Owner at Berghouse and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Thank you for visiting and also for your kind review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your Honeymoon stay with us in the Northern Drakensberg. We hope you cherish your memories of this Drakensberg Experience. We look forward to your return someday!
With warm regards from owners and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Superb views on the Drakensberg mountains
Very friendly staff
Good price/quality ratio
Nice trail tracks on the domain
No supermarket nearby
Dinner is served between 6.30 and 7 pm in your own cottage. Due to this and because there’s no central room to meet other guests, no WiFi or television in the cottages, you’re almost obliged to go early to bed.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeroen_Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughn P, Owner at Berghouse and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Hi Jeroen,
Thank you for your kind and in-depth review, but most of all for visiting our destination in the Drakensberg. We hope that you will cherish your experience at the Drakensberg for many years. We look forward to your return visit someday. Hopefully, by that time we will have a communal room to meet other guests, just like the firepit area that everyone meets at on top of the hill with that 270 deg view of the panorama of mountains.With warm regards from us all at the Berghouse and Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

We stayed here a while ago with my parents, fantastic view, beautiful cosy cottages and very helpfull and friendly hosts! Some lovely walks around the cottages and closely situated to Royal natal. wonderful waking up with a stunning view of the mountains and the horses. Thanks so much! will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EliseP359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughn P, Owner at Berghouse and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

We enjoyed hosting you and your parents Elize, we look forward to your return someday, with warm regards from us all at the Berghouse and Cottages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights of our honeymoon in the Phezulu cottage. The views were completely stunning. We really enjoyed firing up the braaii during the sunset. Vaughan and chantelle are so lovely and helpful. Cute miniature ponies and dogs on site. The treks nearby are amazing, particularly senitel peak! Like other reviews, the photos online don't do the place justice. Highly recommended!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NicolasGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughn P, Owner at Berghouse and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Hi Niclas, thank you for your kind words! we will try our best to improve the photos where we can!, it is always a pleasant surprise to see the views from this location. We enjoyed hosting you and look forward to doing it again sometime soon. We are also thrilled that you have lovely memories of the Drakensberg mountains, miniature horses and trails we offer on-site and in the nearby National park. Greetings from us all at the Berghouse and Cottages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews