We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful coffee and cake”

Depresso life without Coffee
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Bergville
Price range: R 15 - R 48
Description: Coffee shop and Gifts. Freshly baked scones, tarts, muffins and cakes. Sit in or to take away
Restaurant details
Description: Coffee shop and Gifts. Freshly baked scones, tarts, muffins and cakes. Sit in or to take away
Reviewed 17 June 2017

We stopped here because it came up no 1 in Bergville. The setting is fantastic, open field and cute colourful tables and chairs and quirky things inside and out.

We ordered coffee and mocca - did not know what this is so had to pay for hot chocolate, expresso and cake separately!!

The service was good.

The coffee was terrible. The muffin and cake were absolutely stale. We threw them in the bin. Shocking serving such old food.

Unless they learn to make decent coffee and have fresh stock of cakes - I would not stop again.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Myra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2017

We stopped there on our way through and back from the golden gate park. Waw, we wished we could sit there forever. Gorgious setting, fine food, great coffee.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GreetHaemers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2017

A very quaint stop-over spot, very nice snacky food and great coffee. We will definitely be back when traveling that way.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Pam-Fourways-Jhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Best meal of our holiday. Great coffee. Biggest tastiest toasted sandwich on home made bread with a nice salad. Order the burger if you are really hungry. It was great, also with nice fresh salad. Good service and wifi

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank 630vittoriod
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

After a weekend in the Drakensberg, on our way home, this was a lovely stop to get some coffee. Quaint shop with lots of things you just have to buy. Good for little gifts.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank GertGom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Depresso life without Coffee also viewed

Bergville, Drakensberg Region
Winterton, Drakensberg Region
 

Been to Depresso life without Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.