We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
BeeStrydom
Mossel Bay, South Africa

Life changing trip and experience!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 02 Jun 2024
I went to Moolmanshoek for the first time this year, after hearing about it from many friends. I joined an equestrian group of friends that go annually. What a life changing and incredibly amazing experience. I cannot thank Lindy and Weisman enough for the opportunity! The staff were amazing and our every need was catered for - I only wish I didn’t live so far from them so I could visit more often!
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
28.9 km from Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front view
    8.2 km from Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve
    Free parking
    Main Guesthouse
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 1 046
    • Booking.com
    28.4 km from Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • Booking.com
    29.9 km from Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Angel
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    29.2 km from Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    29.0 km from Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    29.6 km from Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve
    Free parking
    Pool
    • eDreams
    • Priceline
    • ZenHotels.com
    32.1 km from Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    30.1 km from Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    logo
    • Agoda.com
    29.2 km from Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve
    View more hotels in Ficksburg
    Reviews (281)
    Filter reviews
    281 results
    Traveller rating
    241
    30
    6
    1
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    241
    30
    6
    1
    3
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews horse riding free state out of this world private game reserve great food beautiful place attention to detail road leading main building surrounding mountains few years every meal rich history manor house stayed for nights his team stunning views
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    2 - 7 of 281 reviews
    Reviewed 17 May 2024

    I stayed six nights at Moolmanshoek. I loved it!
    The horses are amazing and the landscape is out of this world! I loved the endurance with Wiesman: 30 km almost nonstop. Thank you so much Lindy for the marvellous rides too. The wildlife is diverse and I really enjoyed all the motion around me. The room was very peaceful and offered a beautiful view. The food was good. And the staff was so friendly and professional. A five star place. I will be back!

    Date of stay: May 2024
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank fabien d
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 24 April 2024

    This review is relatively objective being g my 17th road trip encompassing 18 properties over a 43 night period.

    Almost lost count of the number of my visits to this lovely rural property. My go to enroute to/from Pretoria.

    The high standards from previous years have been maintained - no mean feat. Staff as ever welcoming and efficient.

    This time I stayed in Room 4 with a lovely view from the balcony over the grasslands up to the spectacular mountains. Room clean, comfortable and well equipped. Great shower pressure.

    Decent food at decent prices, this time eating in the old school and very atmospheric main house rather than the restaurant building. Breakfast was taken on the stoep.

    I’m not horsey (the main theme here) but thoroughly enjoyed the well marked walking trails.

    Decent WiFi in the main house, but as clearly advised, limited cellphone coverage.

    There’s a decent gravel road in from the R70 - but the R70 from Senekal is really badly potholed - major roadworks are under way to completely re surface the road in the vicinity of the property - it’ll take some time! Currently allow 1 1/2 hours from Senekal if driving carefully.

    Date of stay: March 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank JoeCBansteadUK
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mafie Nel, Owner at Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2024

    Thank you for sharing your experience at Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve. We are grateful and thankful that you use our property as your go to/from Pretoria.

    We value your positive feedback and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

    Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 April 2024

    We had the most amazing experience at Moolmanshoek. Our son got married there and this place was incredible on all levels, nature, service and food. We loved every moment there and would highly recommend this as a venue and a weekend get away.

    Date of stay: April 2024
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank vanheerdengene
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mafie Nel, Owner at Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2024

    Thank you for sharing your experience at Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve. We are blessed and grateful that we got to host your son's special day and that service and food were of incredible levels. We wish them all the blessings and happiness.

    Moolmanhoek Private Game Reserve Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 March 2024

    Thank you to Mafie and the staff. You made my wife's birthday one to remember! Service and food were excellent. The game drives were educational, and we enjoyed the unspoiled nature. Looking forward to our next visit in winter.

    Date of stay: February 2024
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank anthonybotha
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mafie Nel, Owner at Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2024

    Thank you for sharing your experience at Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve. We are grateful that we were able to make your wife's birthday one to remember, and that the game drives were educational.

    We look forward to welcoming you back this winter for your next stay.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 February 2024

    What a place! Riding with the game is probably one of the best things I have done so far. The game are so close and unconcerned as you ride around them. The horses are beautifully trained and so surefooted on very steep tracks. The saddlery is good quality and very comfortable. Superb views over the mountains as you enjoy breakfast and lunch on the verandah. Beautifully prepared and tasty food. Accommodation is lovely - the old style converted barn utilising the old cow byre for a bathroom is so unique. The staff were delightful and very helpful. Everything was very comfortable and super quiet. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back! Thank you Weisman and Mafie.

    Date of stay: January 2024
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Paula G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mafie Nel, Owner at Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2024

    Thank you for sharing your experience at Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve. We are thankful for the amazing review you have left regarding the property, the riding, the food as well as the staff.

    We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future to enjoy another outride and tasty food.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews