We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
124
24
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
24
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridingfree stateout of this worldbeautiful scenerylonger stayattention to detailrelaxing weekendprivate game reservean amazing experiencehonesty barsun roomgreat foodriding experiencefriendly hostsfew yearsspecial weekendthe main reason
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Unsurpassed tranquility on a horse farm. The dinner served in their small restaurant was really good, and the staff was accommodating and friendly. A definite for couples looking to relax without any wifi and/or Internet and cellphone reception.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Murial123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle_vZ13, Public Relations Manager at Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Dear Murial123,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your valued feedback with us. We really feel humbled by your experience with us, as it is our goal to fully satisfy our guests' every need. It also is quite refreshing to know that our tranquil surroundings are ranked higher than the lack of WIFI and cellphone reception, as we personally feel that we would like couples and families to visit and RECONNECT with each other, without all of today's distractions which steels from quality family time.

We hope to welcome you back again soon - be sure to be welcomed by the same friendliness & hearty meals. (the unsurpassed tranquillity is a given;)

Yours in hospitality,
The Moolmanshoek Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

My husband and myself recently moved to Johannesburg, South Africa and needed some calm days out of the city to regain our energy and to chill between Christmas and New Years. If I regret anything that that we didn't stay a whole week. The location and the whole valley are amazing, the sights are gorgeous and the silence and beauty of the nature gave us exactly what we needed. We did two gorge hikes on the farm and enjoyed them, thoroughly. Our room was spacious even though we are rather big boys and cleaned two times a day. There was always fresh coffee and drinks. The service was friendly. I recommed to book the option with breakfast and dinner as there is no restaurant near and the menus were deliciuos. Personally, I think this was one of the nicest breakfast terraces I enjoyed and I m a frequent traveller.

Swimming in the dams and picknicken in the valley was amazing. There are horses roaming the farm. We thought they were for advance riders only, but there are also offerings for beginners, which we would do when we go next time. All in all, I d recommend this place for couples or families that need calm but also want to engage in medium difficult outdoor activities.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank G8413PZjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle_vZ13, Guest Relations Manager at Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Dear G8413PZjan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. We are extremely happy to, 1st of all, hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and 2nd of all, that you will be returning. It is not only our goal to fully satisfy our guests' every need, but also to have our guests return time after time, wanting more of what we have on offer.
Thank you for your recommendation - we really look forward to taking you out on one of Wiesman's guided horse trials. We know that it will be a highlight of your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Be sure to be welcomed to the same warm, free-state hospitality.

Yours in hospitality,
The Moolmanshoek Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We sort of found this place by accident. Unbelievable place to stay. Food was amazing, nature was beautiful (especially on horseback), and hospitality superb. All at a very affordable price. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank bluetito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle_vZ13, Guest Relations Manager at Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Dear bluetito,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. We are so happy that you found us - by accident or not - luckily we know that everything happens for a reason right? We are happy that the reason was for you to relax in our surroundings, and enjoy our hospitality and facilities on offer.
Further to the above "accidental reasons", we hope that you will be returning soon for a longer stay - be sure to be welcomed by the same superb hospitality.

Yours in hospitality,
The Moolmanshoek Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

We drove down in our "little old lady" known as Rotkappchen! My hubby and I are seasoned road trippers and love finding little hidden gems!. This one was gifted to us by our friends as a 50th birthday gift and gosh do they know us well. The setting is simply out of this world. Although we are not equestrians, the other guests there went on and on about the amazing outrides, views and how "well behaved" the horses are. We soaked up the view, watched the sun set, the Witteberg changing colours. Dinner was served in the restaurant - magnificent "Boerekos". The wine list is extensive - you want for nothing. After a good nights rest - we had breakfast on the "stoep" with the most incredible view. After breakfast, we headed off to Fouriesburg.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountain are better. I would not recommend Courtyard Rooms
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kieka2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle_vZ13, Guest Relations Manager at Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Dear Kieka2014,

Thank you so much for not only giving us your valued feedback, but for sharing your special 50th birthday story with us! So being the curious bunch we are, we 1st had to google the meaning of your little lad's name, Rotkappchen, and we really enjoyed the outcome of "Little Red Riding Hood."

We are also so thankful that your friends decided on gifting you with "us", and that you enjoyed everything we had on offer. It is our hope that yourselves and little red riding hood will soon drive past our "hood" again, and pop in for yet another great visit, filled with great wine, magnificent boerekos and warm hospitality. Even though your are not equestrians, we would like to take you out on one of Wiesman's guided outrides, as you will be able to enjoy so much more of our beautiful surroundings from horseback. We make sure to pair our horses with the level of ease of our guests, and usually we leave all of our guests sudden horseman.

Yours in hospitality,
The Moolmanshoek Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

This was the best ever birthday wish come true.
Wow this was amazing weekend for the whole family.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Even the people camping there were awesome people.
I will definity come and visit again

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 319chantelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle_vZ13, Guest Relations Manager at Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Dear 319chantelled,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback and for choosing us as your preferred birthday weekend destination. We are extremely happy to hear that we could be part of a birthday wish come true, and most of all, that you will be returning!

Please be sure that you will be welcomed by the same friendly and helpful staff.
We look forward to your return!

Yours in hospitality,
The Moolmanshoek Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews