We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to spen time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ficksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Wonderful place to spen time”
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Amazing scenery, great accommodation, good food and friendly hosts. This is a great place to spend time with, and to reconnect with that special person in your life and your Creator. Thank you Wiesman and Mafie

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank davidjL9986KT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle_vZ13, Guest Relations Manager at Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 13 February 2017
Dear davidjL9986KT,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. It is very important to us to fully satisfy our guests' every need. Experiences and feedback like yours is the reason we do what we do.
We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and most of all, had time to reconnect with your loved one and with God.
We hope to welcome you back again soon, to the same friendly service, great food and accommodation.

Yours in hospitality,
Wiesman, Mafie & the Moolmanshoek team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
37
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Unsurpassed tranquility on a horse farm. The dinner served in their small restaurant was really good, and the staff was accommodating and friendly. A definite for couples looking to relax without any wifi and/or Internet and cellphone reception.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Murial123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle_vZ13, Public Relations Manager at Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 13 February 2017
Dear Murial123,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your valued feedback with us. We really feel humbled by your experience with us, as it is our goal to fully satisfy our guests' every need. It also is quite refreshing to know that our tranquil surroundings are ranked higher than the lack of WIFI and cellphone reception, as we personally feel that we would like couples and families to visit and RECONNECT with each other, without all of today's distractions which steels from quality family time.

We hope to welcome you back again soon - be sure to be welcomed by the same friendliness & hearty meals. (the unsurpassed tranquillity is a given;)

Yours in hospitality,
The Moolmanshoek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2017

My husband and myself recently moved to Johannesburg, South Africa and needed some calm days out of the city to regain our energy and to chill between Christmas and New Years. If I regret anything that that we didn't stay a whole week. The location and the whole valley are amazing, the sights are gorgeous and the silence and beauty of the nature gave us exactly what we needed. We did two gorge hikes on the farm and enjoyed them, thoroughly. Our room was spacious even though we are rather big boys and cleaned two times a day. There was always fresh coffee and drinks. The service was friendly. I recommed to book the option with breakfast and dinner as there is no restaurant near and the menus were deliciuos. Personally, I think this was one of the nicest breakfast terraces I enjoyed and I m a frequent traveller.

Swimming in the dams and picknicken in the valley was amazing. There are horses roaming the farm. We thought they were for advance riders only, but there are also offerings for beginners, which we would do when we go next time. All in all, I d recommend this place for couples or families that need calm but also want to engage in medium difficult outdoor activities.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank G8413PZjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle_vZ13, Guest Relations Manager at Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 13 February 2017
Dear G8413PZjan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. We are extremely happy to, 1st of all, hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and 2nd of all, that you will be returning. It is not only our goal to fully satisfy our guests' every need, but also to have our guests return time after time, wanting more of what we have on offer.
Thank you for your recommendation - we really look forward to taking you out on one of Wiesman's guided horse trials. We know that it will be a highlight of your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Be sure to be welcomed to the same warm, free-state hospitality.

Yours in hospitality,
The Moolmanshoek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We sort of found this place by accident. Unbelievable place to stay. Food was amazing, nature was beautiful (especially on horseback), and hospitality superb. All at a very affordable price. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bluetito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle_vZ13, Guest Relations Manager at Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 13 February 2017
Dear bluetito,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. We are so happy that you found us - by accident or not - luckily we know that everything happens for a reason right? We are happy that the reason was for you to relax in our surroundings, and enjoy our hospitality and facilities on offer.
Further to the above "accidental reasons", we hope that you will be returning soon for a longer stay - be sure to be welcomed by the same superb hospitality.

Yours in hospitality,
The Moolmanshoek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2016

We drove down in our "little old lady" known as Rotkappchen! My hubby and I are seasoned road trippers and love finding little hidden gems!. This one was gifted to us by our friends as a 50th birthday gift and gosh do they know us well. The setting is simply out of this world. Although we are not equestrians, the other guests there went on and on about the amazing outrides, views and how "well behaved" the horses are. We soaked up the view, watched the sun set, the Witteberg changing colours. Dinner was served in the restaurant - magnificent "Boerekos". The wine list is extensive - you want for nothing. After a good nights rest - we had breakfast on the "stoep" with the most incredible view. After breakfast, we headed off to Fouriesburg.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountain are better. I would not recommend Courtyard Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieka2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle_vZ13, Guest Relations Manager at Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 13 February 2017
Dear Kieka2014,

Thank you so much for not only giving us your valued feedback, but for sharing your special 50th birthday story with us! So being the curious bunch we are, we 1st had to google the meaning of your little lad's name, Rotkappchen, and we really enjoyed the outcome of "Little Red Riding Hood."

We are also so thankful that your friends decided on gifting you with "us", and that you enjoyed everything we had on offer. It is our hope that yourselves and little red riding hood will soon drive past our "hood" again, and pop in for yet another great visit, filled with great wine, magnificent boerekos and warm hospitality. Even though your are not equestrians, we would like to take you out on one of Wiesman's guided outrides, as you will be able to enjoy so much more of our beautiful surroundings from horseback. We make sure to pair our horses with the level of ease of our guests, and usually we leave all of our guests sudden horseman.

Yours in hospitality,
The Moolmanshoek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ficksburg
20.2 km away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
Fouriesburg Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fouriesburg
63 reviews
18.8 km away
Pumula Guest Farm
Pumula Guest Farm
#3 of 13 in Fouriesburg
35 reviews
29.6 km away
Bella Rosa Guest House
Bella Rosa Guest House
#2 of 11 in Ficksburg
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.1 km away
Springwater Cottages
Springwater Cottages
#1 of 6 in Ficksburg
21 reviews
20.6 km away
Sandstone Chameleon Country House
23.8 km away
Wyndford Holiday Farm
Wyndford Holiday Farm
#4 of 13 in Fouriesburg
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve

Property: Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve
Address: Moolmanshoek Reserve, Ficksburg 9730, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Ficksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ficksburg
Price range (per night): R1 591 - R2 086
Hotel Class:3,5 star — Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moolmanshoek is situated in the Witteberg mountain range, between Ficksburg and Rosendal, Eastern Free State, South Africa. Do you long to escape for a while from the city noise and stress? Are you seeking rest for your soul, a peaceful environment, or that ideal setting for your wedding, for team building or a conference? The reserve was declared a Natural Heritage Site (No 199) in 1994, mainly because of the rare Mountain Bamboo that grows in the valley. Come and share this piece of Paradise with us for a few days. Take a leisurely stroll across the valley floor, go on a relaxing game drive or explore the reserve on horseback or by horse cart. Our SA Boerperd and Endurance Arab horses are born and bred in the valley, where more than 300 horses make Moolmanshoek their home. It is our hope that the uniqueness and splendour of our surroundings will be as inspiring to you as it has always been to us. We believe that Moolmanshoek is:A feast for the eyes, rest for your soul and firewood for the times ahead!It is our privilege to be stewards of more than 3 300 hectares of the breathtaking Moolmanshoek valley. The Witteberg Mountains surround the valley in the shape of a horseshoe (with Visierskerf peaking at 2407m above sea level) feeding several mountain streams in the valley floor below. This basin is home to a variety of game that include Springbuck, Black Wildebeest, Blesbuck, Zebra, Eland, Gemsbok and many others that are historically indigenous to the area. More than 230 bird species can be seen in the reserve, while a wide variety of plants grow on the mountain slopes and in the beautiful wooded ravines.Under the skilled hands and vision of the owner, Willie Nel, the once productive farm was transformed and developed into a game reserve and conservation area. It was later declared a private nature reserve.You are invited to visit us and revel in the breathtaking natural beauty and tranquillity; the rich variety of wildlife, flora and birdlife in an unspoiled mountain environment. Explore the reserve on horseback, go walking alongside streams and dams, or enjoy fly-fishing in clear spring water. Follow one of our three hiking trails or various day walks and renew your mind and soul. Challenge yourself with abseiling, a 4X4 drive or climbing one of the peaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Safarinow and Agoda so you can book your Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing