We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 458)
Filter reviews
1 458 results
Traveller rating
426
649
221
100
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
649
221
100
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self service across the road all inclusive package all inclusive drinks glass bottom boat tea and coffee grand baie curry mini bar boat house honeymoon stay filtered water indian food superior room paradise island three star beach towels
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 1 458 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We stayed for one week at the Casuarina. We had read the reviews and were rather worried about the negative comments, but we need not have worried. The hotel is lovely. The buildings are pretty, and they are set in beautiful tropical gardens with lots of bird life.

The hotel staff were so friendly and helpful. Many of the people have worked there for 20 years or more, so that is always a good sign.

Bar staff and waiting staff were really efficient, and tables were cleared away promptly.

The food was great! The hotel has a good selection of evening meals. The BEST curries we have EVER had. We were so pleased that we ate curry every night! On our final night it was wonderful to try traditional Mauritian cuisine... FANTASTIC!! The chef made fresh naans, there were lots of extra dishes, and loads of vegetarian selections. We are not vegetarians, but we really enjoyed the veggie food.

Breakfasts were good, but don't take the bread that has been out in the open. The birds walk all over it! There is plenty of bread that is kept under cover, so no real problem.

The pool areas are attractive, and there was no problem getting sunbeds. No towels were put on beds in the early morning, so you could take your pick after a leisurely breakfast.

All areas are kept very clean, especially the rooms, which were large and comfortable. It was great to have enough room for 2 large suitcases without tripping over them!!

The beach is accessed by crossing the road in front of the hotel. Use the pedestrian crossing because the bus drivers are mad!! The boat house is only a few minutes walk, and they have kayaks, sail boats, pedaloes, and a glass bottom boat that goes out twice a day. Well worth it (it's included in the all inclusive deal). Make sure you go out more than once, you'll see different things every time.

Our only negative comments:

Rooms are dated and could do with an upgrade. The furniture would be so much nicer if it was natural wood, and not painted orange.
The machine that makes the toast takes AGES! After putting the bread through 5 times, it still wasn't brown.

All in all, a great hotel, and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road. We had room number 233, which was great.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SueWray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshButon, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear SueWray,

Thank you for having taken the time to review our property following your stay there.

Your overview will give our readers a much broader insight into the many qualities of our resort which clearly impacted positively on your holiday enjoyment and overall experience

We take good note of your comments about aspects of the rooms that need updating. We wish to inform you that we carry out a refurbishment program annually so as to meet guests’ expectations. The program for this year pertains to our hotel rooms!

As for the toaster, we have escalated the matter to our team for follow up.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you, once again, at the Casuarina Resort & Spa in the future.

Regards

~ The Management ~


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

the entire place is soooo romantic, with the beach right across the road. Spacious rooms , excellent food. Just a great place to enjoy and relax. We had a lovely time in hamam as well. staff is excellent and the views are beautiful from the rooms and from the dinning areas.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank manashvi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshButon, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Manashvi S,

The Management and team of the Casuarina Resort & Spa greatly appreciate the time you have invested to compose a truly nice review following to your honeymoon trip.

We are so pleased your holiday experience at our resort more than lived up to your expectations.

Please rest assured, your comments have since been shared with the entire team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you, once again, at our property.

Regards

~ The Management ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed for three days with my wife and 2 years old baby. Lovely place but the room seems a little bit dated. Staff were friendly. Not a wide selection of food but taste good. Something the hotel needs to work on. Night entertainment is good and accommodate all ages.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank ravicanhye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshButon, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Ravicanhye,

We thank you for having taken some time to review our property following you recent stay there.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay as a whole.

As for the rooms, we have started to refresh them as well as the public areas and these renovation works will be ongoing for the next 2 or 3 months.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you, once again, at a later date.

Regards

~ The Management ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

beautiful resort,rooms quiet spacious and well maintained ...staff is very courteous and cooperative .....buffets r elaborative and gud...evening live performances keep us engaged.. BUT basic need of today like WI FI is not in the rooms ..that needs to b taken care of ..also some activities for kids in the evening should b planned ...The boat house adventure activities are quiet enjoyable ...special mention for Mr.Punjoo at boat house ...he was very helpful and supportive...Also would like to mention Ms.Deeksha and Ms.Aneksha at reception who received us with lot of warmth and explained everything properly during check in...Chef Sunil has all our appreciation for his hospitality and caring nature ....Thank u to all the staff members of the resort for making our stay comfortable and memorable ....pl continue the good job ...

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Vineetruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshButon, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dera Vineetruby,

Thank you for having chosen to spend your holidays at our property and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers.

We were delighted to learn that you had a most enjoyable holiday as a whole.

As regards Wi Fi, it seems that you stayed in the 1st room category - the standard room - which does not avail of this service. However, Wi Fi is available in our privilege and deluxe rooms (higher room categories) which are a little bit more expensive.

We have taken good note of your comment pertaning to the kids' club which has been escalated to our team.

Hoping to have the pleasure to welcoming you, once again, at our property.

Cordially yours,

~ The Management ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Having just arrived home from a 10 day stay at the Casuarina, i’d like to thank there excellent staff team for helping to make our stay a memorable and comfortable one. Nothing was too much trouble and if we had an issue, there management team were happy to listen and respond in a positive friendly manner. Particular mention to Cihon who made sure that our drinks were just how we liked them, Leenah who kept our room clean and comfortable and Ashley and the management team who listened to suggestions on how to improve service.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Toonarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshButon, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Toonarm,

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at our property.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay and that we were able to meet your expections.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you, once again, at a future date.

Cordially yours,

~ The Management ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews