We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 101)
Filter reviews
2 101 results
Traveller rating
1 160
658
166
65
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 160
658
166
65
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfort room fashion show privilege room glass bottom boat the hotel manager head chef dance floor entertainment team boat house evening entertainment small beach special thanks walk along the beach la cuvette family room kids club banana bar
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 2 101 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2018

I visited Mauritius for the first time with my wife (July 7-14, 2018) and stayed at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa. This hotel is located in a very good area of Grand Baie near the centre of the town with shopping locations within short walking distance. We found the facility to be very clean and the surrounding gardens were impressive. Hotel staff were very helpful and went an extra mile to accommodate all our needs. The front office was well organised and worked efficiently with supervision of manager Ms Asha Ramjutun. Asha organised for us a complementary whole day boat ride to the islands and this was highly appreciated.

We enjoyed the food and the evening music and entertainment. We liked to wind down at the hotel at the end of the day enjoying drinks and nice music. Food was excellent and varied from day to day.

We had mix up on pick up at the airport on arrival day but this was sorted amicably by the hotel staff led by Asha.

The rooms were basic but very comfortable and clean and we enjoyed quite night sleep. Overall this is an excellent facility which we would recommend without any reservations for visitors.

Room Tip: We recommend to choose rooms on the first floor for the views
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Saidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikash D, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Good afternoon Saidi,
Thank you for your great online review with regards to your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed a comfortable and relaxing stay with us, appreciated the hotel's convenient location and services. Your encouraging feedback will definitely be passed on to our Team. We look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

Greeted with hot towels and refreshments on arrival. Lovely basic clean hotel. Stayed 2 weeks. Rooms basic and clean with shower tv hairdryer safe kettle and mini fridge. Ceiling fan noisy but also had air con. All staff fantastic very polite very friendly and most helpful. Food good with good variety to choose from. The Belle Vue restuarant on the beach excellent (extra charge) but well worth it. The only annoying thing was having to sign reciepts constantly. Would be better with different colour coded wrist bands for all inclusive or b&b etc. Was friends anniversary when we arrived and their room was made extra special for them and also presented with a cake and tshirts. Entertainment every night though not much during the day. Weather was good but windy. Rained nearly every night. It was winter there but still nice. Would recommend this hotel. Mauritius a beautiful place and the nicest race of people Ive ever met.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Leabrad09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikash D, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Good morning Lea,
Thank you so much for your very kind words and wonderful feedback. The team and myself are all delighted that enjoyed your visit so much. We do try hard to make our guests feel at home, and well taken care of, so it is very rewarding to know how much our guests enjoy themselves. We hope to be able to welcome you back very soon. Regarding the bill signing, it is part of our policy which helps to prevent billing error in the event a guest got mistaken on his room number and provide that of another guest, this avoids that you get charge for "supplement extra" of another guest who might be on a different meal plan. Thank you again and we look forward for your next visit.

Warmest regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

Everyone told us that this was the tourist hub on the island but the area is full of drunk locals and no adequate pavements or lighting. If you have trouble getting around then this is not for you. Cock roaches in room and dogs and rats all over. The pool is not cold but freezing! The so called private beach is not private and an inch of crushed shells on concrete base. Very windy spot and the all inclusive is not worth it with raw chicken served and birds taking food off your plate in the restaurant. The spa was nice and the bar staff are great. Large screen football on every night drowning out the entertainment. French is the first language across the island so you need some French to get by. Over all will not recommend and will not be returning. Sorry for the poor review and I am confident that hotels response will be well it is our winter - as always!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thepricefamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikash D, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear guest (Thepricefamily5),
Thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel and for sharing your very candid feedback. We have taken note of your very personal comments regarding the Grand Baie Village. We also regret that you did not like your chicken which you found was not up to the desired standards compared to other guests who had the same food from the buffet. All our rooms are nestled in a luxuriant tropical gardens where you will find different kind of tropical birds and insects. We also have a reputed pest control company that handle all pest issues but such presence has not been referred to us in their report, however nonetheless we have informed them. Thank you for your feedback which we have taken very constructively. It is disconcerting to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. What you described certainly does not meet the standard we set forth, and I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations compared to the huge majority of guests. It is always our endeavour to offer our guests the best care and attention to ensure that they enjoy an enriching and memorable stay on the island, we apologise for your experience and hope that this time incident will not diminish the opinion of others guest wishing to visit us.

Beat regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

Food was tasty but comparing local prices little bit expensive. Our order was delivered very fast. I ordered Mixed fish plate my wife ordered checken salad. Waiter could pay more attention to our table because restaurant was quite empty and i was waiting for our bill quite long. The restaurant is 10 meters from the sea so we took some beautifull photos.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Adomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikash D, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Good morning Adomas,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to know that you found the food tasty and that you are impressed by the food service delivery. My sincere apologies that the bill which you found took long and fell short of your expectation, eventually on that day we were upgrading our order taking system for a quicker service by installing the "tablet ordering". This took us 2 days and now it is fully operational and also very convenient for our team members in providing our guests a more rapid service. Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It was a pleasure having you as a guest and we are looking forward to your next holiday with us.

Best regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

Hotel is in a beautiful setting , walking distance to beach. Staff very friendly, communicating with you to make sure you are making the most of your holiday. Food was great~ lots of variety and menu changed daily. The Spa at the resort was amazing~ peaceful with professional staff.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kanagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikash D, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Good afternoon Kanagee,
Thank you for your review and for sharing your appreciation regarding the staff friendliness, the food, the hotel location which indeed is very convenient and accessible to various attractions in the village, public transport and many dining venues.We are also so pleased to read that you had peaceful and relaxing moment at the Spa. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews