We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 1 654
Priceline
R 1 743
Agoda.com
R 1 427
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
168
97
18
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
168
97
18
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mr ram air conditioning units hot and cold water friendly management the ground floor public beach short drive wear and tear bedroom area really enjoyed our stay here mont choisy early check cap malheureux fridge freezer full kitchen bus stop each morning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We had to move out of our rented house due to my kids dislike of various creatures invading their rooms, plus a wasp nest in the rafters....Oh and a tin roof that played a drum solo when it rained. Well, we found the Grand Baie Suites online went down there and thought the size of room with kitchenette more than ample. It only has about 30 apartments, its off the main road and has a supermarket next door.There is a small pool but it is a short walk to all manner of bars, restaurants and beaches. All in all a good base to go out exploring.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bloke333
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Best Person = ROBIN (Security Guard on Night Shift)

We were 5 singles and had 3 Apartments with us on Ground floor, in front of the very well managed pool.

This hotel is under the banner of GBTT (Grand Bay Travel & Tours) which is the top of the line tour organizer in Mauritius. We took Car on Rent from Tula (at GBTT) and he arranged airport pick and drop and Gabriel + Paradise Island Excursions for us at a very good price.

There is no kitchen in this hotel, but in all rooms, a proper kitchen with all facilities and cutlery is there for travellers.

Robin helped us very much in giving us all the extra information required about little things like food, clubbing, etc

I would definitely recommend this place to every one who wants a budget hotel, with not too much pampering and good hygiene.

People to mention :
1) ROBIN (Night Incharge)
2) ANITA, in room service
3) RAM, Day time Manager
4) MARY, Day time security / receptionist

Room tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor - Though if you want no disturbance at all, pick one on the 1st floor on the north-west side
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Jawad_Rasheed
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Soobarajoo M, Director of Sales at Grand Bay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Dear Mr Rasheedto,

We thank you for choosing Grand Bay Suites for your last stay in Mauritius, we highly value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards

Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Grand Bay Suites for 2 weeks. It is comfortable, convenient, close to beaches, restaurants, shopping and excursions and excellent value for money. It is only 3.5 star but this is mainly to not having a restaurant on-site.

It is well furnished with all kitchen facilities available making it ideal for self catering. Everything you may possibly need is provided although a full length mirror would be a handy addition. The photos posted here are exactly as the place appears and we did not get any unwelcome surprises. The pool area is nice enough and not too busy. The sofa bed was comfortable enough for my 18 year old son to sleep on, but it is only suitable for one adult or two small children.

We were on the second floor and it certainly is best for privacy with only two units per block on each floor. We had both units, one for us and one for the three teenage kids. The only person to come up to our floor every day was the very polite and courteous cleaning lady. There are no lifts but we had little difficulty getting our suitcases up the two flights and were helped by the hotel staff.

Having read a lot of review complaints, they are mostly valid but easily rectifiable to ensure a pleasant stay.

The Wi-Fi is certainly poor and for the first week it was very slow for general browsing even from the balcony. During the second week the modem was upgraded and this improved the speed and range. However it would cut out every 5 minutes so any streaming was not worth attempting. We got a 3G sim from Emtel and that worked really well.

The TV's were 37" but had only four channels with BBC World News as the only English service. The TV's did have HDMI and VGA connections so you could easily plug in your laptop to watch your own content.

We did not have anyone going through our belongings (as other reviewers have stated) and were given access to the laundry room which we used frequently over our two week stay. This was free of charge but we obviously did need to buy our own detergent.

There are certainly small lizards in the rooms but we learnt from experience that this could be reduced by closing all windows in the evening. Ants weren't too much of a problem as we kept everything in the fridge. However if you are particularly susceptible like me, don't sleep with the balcony door open or the mosquitoes will attack you with a vengeance. This also made sense as the other guests can be loud at night and on Saturday nights we could hear the nightclubbers. However downside of the closing the balcony door is trying to sleep with the loud noise from the A/C which you must have on instead.

We brought our own chopping board and knife but this was not needed as a large chopping board and knife set is provided along with kettle, toaster and microwave oven. An iron was also provided but an Iron board would have been welcome.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Ram is the Hotel Manager and gave us good advice on excursions and restaurants. Mary and Robin are on the Reception/Security desk and were very approachable and chatty. They were NOT at all pushy about booking restaurants or excursions for you.

We hired a car online and this was cheaper than what GBTT offered us. We also booked our own excursions directly with the local operators including Horse Riding and Parasailing. We also visited the Botanical Gardens, Black River National Park, Seven Coloured Earth and Casela Safari Adventure park.

La Cuvette is the closest beach and walking distance from the hotel but it is quite smalland gets crowded. Pereybere beach is 2km away and also quite busy. Mont Choisy is the longest and most sandy of the beaches but is 15 mins drive. Balaclava beach was even further and bordered on a private resort. The beach we loved the most was Cap Malheureux in the north. It is also about 15 mins drive and had stunning views of Coin de Mire and other islands. There is also a picturesque chapel there called Notre Dame Auxiliatrice which is definitely worth seeing. We recommend buying some amazing hand-crafted bracelets from a beach vendor called Sanjeev. They were very good value and better that those from the local bazaar in Grand Bay.

Food shopping was best from Super U which is 5 mins drive away but Store 2000 next door was always useful if you forgot something. The Mall at La Croisette is modern and has many fashion outlets. The cinema there shows movies in English at 6pm.

There are many good restaurants around La Croisette and Super U but also on Royal Road in Grand Baie. We would recommend Luigi's, Le Tandoor and Malibu Hotspur.

In summary, we had a very enjoyable stay at Grand Bay Suites and have no reservations in recommending it to everyone.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank shums_u
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Soobarajoo M, General Manager at Grand Bay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear Valued Customer.

Thank you for having chosen GBS, and we have well noted you comments regarding the Wifi service and are looking into the matter.
We highly value your valueable feedback

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016

I stayed here a little while ago but haven't left a review until today.

These apartments are within easy location of Grand Baie center and a short bus ride to Pereybere beach.

A supermarket is just next door so will look after your self catering needs. there are plenty of restuarants and late night bars within walking distance too.

The management, cleanliness and general maintenance of the apartments are impeccable so will make for a lovely stay.

Thanks of organizing a guest bbq one evening - it was delicious.

Should i visit Mauritius again, i'll surely stay here

Room tip: Any to the left of the reception as it offer great sunset views from the kitchen
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank LarisaB14T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

The eatablishment is good, clean and in walking distance to grand bay. The most exceptional part is the excellent manager Mr Ram. We had some issues with our vehicle and cannot stress enough about how kind hearted Ram is. He came to our aid and did everything in his power to sort our vehicle issue out. We are ever grateful to him and his wonderful client service.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 193ziac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews