We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Thandi
Mafikeng, South Africa

Home away from home

Review of Villa La Playa
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Dec 2019
Villa la Playa was exactly what we expected no surprises. Christine welcomes us beautifully with a few drinks. She also left us a few toiletries. She was very helpful in terms of guiding us regarding the shops and more. The accommodation itself was warm and cozy as if you are at home. Everything that you would expect to find in a home was there eg microwave, ironing board, iron, fridge and kettle. The tv is huge and has Netflix 👍🏽👌🏽 My sons enjoyed it thoroughly. The WiFi works excellently. The house is generally neat and comfy. Lots of storage space in the wardrobes, showers are nice and roomy. Exactly like at home. Big beds in the two bedrooms and twin beds in the other room plus a campcot. The shops are a walking distance away, the beach is also a stone’s throw away. It is centrally placed for all the little needs one might have. We had a wonderful time and wouldn’t mind going back again.
Date of stay: December 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
The Pool at the Grand Bay Suites
Tripadvisor
R 1 282
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 1 418
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 5 290
  • Expedia.com
    R 7 933
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Hotel Website
    R 3 169
  • Priceline
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 050
  • Priceline
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 292
  • Priceline
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Grand Baie
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
4
0
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
4
0
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 15 February 2015

I agree with the other reviewers that the location is great with direct access to the beach and the villa is clean and well maintained. Unfortunately, the down side to the location is that with direct beach access, other beach goers may also have access to the rear of the property. While staying at this villa in February 2015 the premises was broken into (while we were sleeping). After staying 5 magical weeks in Mauritius in other places of accommodation, this was a terrible experience as the thieves stole irreplaceable items (amongst other things). My best advice to anyone contemplating staying at this place is to query what security measures are in place (the alarm was not working at the time of our stay). Save yourself some heart-ache and ask the owner about the alarm, or if locks have been changed or perhaps is there now a security guard patrolling the area at night. It wasn't until after our misfortune, did the owner admit to a previous (night) break-in 2 months prior. Also, Pereybere, due to it's high numbers of tourist, is well known for theft. My apologies to the owner for having to write a not so positive review. In his favour, we appreciate his offer of good-will on refunding our pre-payment as well as some cash stolen. But I do feel that it is imperative that future holiday makers are aware of the history of this accommodation.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Yay17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2014

Our family recently spent one week here and we had a wonderful time. The location is stunning with direct access to a beautiful, soft and sandy beach. The water was a little murky however the sea was unusually rough when we visited. The villa itself is a simple three bedroom, double story house with two bathrooms and a lovely living area. It's not a "fancy" villa but it's comfortable and spacious. The highlight is opening the back doors in the morning and looking out onto the beach then casually walking across the back garden to the beach for your morning walk. The villa is fairly close to Grand Baie - it is possible to walk but it's a very long walk! Better to drive the 5-6 minutes to Grand Baie particularly if you need to do shopping. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean and Sarita (our amazing cook) will prepare dinner to order. I highly recommend you ask her to make a Chicken Biryani - you won't regret it!! Some nearby attractions accessible by vehicle include l'Aventure du Sucre (the sugar museum - approx 20 minute drive), the Sir Seewoosagur Ramgulam Botanic Gardens in Pamplemousses (20 minute drive), and the Labourdonnais old colonial house (16 minute drive). Labourdonnais has a fantastic restaurant and I highly recommend you lunch here one day. A 10 minute drive (depending on traffic) around to Cap Malhereux is also highly recommended.

Room tip: Make a menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner on the day you arrive and take Sarita shopping with you for the food. Saves having to shop every day for your daily supplies and gives you more time to enjoy the beach!
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MinickL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2014

When doing my research on accommodation for my family vacation in Mauritius, I came across the website listing the different villas. After reviewing the web content and the pictures, I decided right away that I will stay at one of these properties. Since I was planning to split my time between the North and the East, I decided to stay at 2 properties (the other one being Red Coral). I reached out to Francis Masson about availability and I swear that was the fastest non-automated response I have gotten. He was very prompt and answered all my questions.

The villa is located on a fine sand private beach and is about a 10 minute walk away from the town center (Pereybere). The descriptions of the rooms are as stated on the website. Watching the sunset over the clear blue waters from the backyard/beach and falling asleep listening to waves are experiences that I will remember always! We loved taking morning and evening strolls on the beach, barefoot!

The maids who did the cooking and housekeeping were courteous and did a very good job. One of them came along during grocery shopping to ensure that they had all the ingredients to cook Mauritian dishes. The dishes were well done and we loved it.

The villa is a short drive from Grand Baie which is the center of all tourist activities and is so much quieter. The location is well suited for relaxing in an idyllic setting yet within short distance from other activities.

Tip – I would recommend using the suggested driver to get to the villas because the drivers are aware of the location. Since I arrived later than my family, I took a taxi from the airport and it took a while to locate the villa.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank PJ_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2010
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews