We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kam
Sheffield, United Kingdom

A wonderful experience

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
For a 5 star hotel these reviews will be a bit mixed. We were a family of 8 including 2 elderly ladies and 2 toddlers aged 3. The hotel is absolutey immaculately clean at all times and I mean all areas be it the pool or the rooms or the restaurants or the pathways
The staff are so friendly and polite everyone acknowledges you.
The pool areas are very well looked after, the only complaint here was there was no music other than the yoga music which was around for 30mins or so. When requested they did put music on for us.
The beach area at the main hotel is very pebbly and not much of a beach. The beach area by the adults pool is much better and the water sports there was brilliant. The team there were fantastic with taking us out on the boat and helping us with the paddle boats.

We arrived after a long overnight flight - early morning. Instead of the anticipated wait for our room, we were immediately welcomed with a great breakfast and informed that they would try to at least 1 of our rooms ready for us. It took 2 hours but they had 2 rooms ready and then by afternoon they had the 3rd room ready too.

Securing a poolside bed was never an issue, no matter the time of day, thanks to the ample lounging areas surrounding both pools.

Undoubtedly, the highlight of our stay was the exceptional culinary experience. Every restaurant we dined at delivered incredible food, complemented by an impeccable service.

We must give a special mention to the Kangan Indian restaurant, which was particularly outstanding.

The buffet selection in the main restaurant was brilliant too and catered for us when anybody asked for a specific request. Everything was freshly made.

Our room was great, providing luxury and comfort and the mattresses and pillows were of a high quality.

The spa and gym facilities were equally impressive, providing the perfect opportunity to rejuvenate.

While the resort is nearly flawless, a couple of minor improvements could be considered. The water bottles provided in the rooms were cumbersome to open, and would be better with different tops.

Additionally, the presence of 2-3 well-behaved dogs and cats roaming the premises may be a concern for those averse to animals, they were friendly and generally kept their distance unless approached and encouraged.

It is also worth mentioning that most of this resort is open as are all of the restaurants. You will get used to the heat eventually. The only areas that have air con are the bedrooms.

My toddlers were ill at various points and a doctor was called by the onsite nurse who attended within the hour.

From the moment we arrived until our departure, the Westin Turtle Bay exceeded our expectations at every turn.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Ask for a room near reception or the main pool else you may be walking quite a bit to and from...
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shiksha De St Pern, Marketing at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Gonakam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your detailed feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius.

We are delighted to read about your wonderful experience with us, especially with your family of eight, including two elderly ladies and two toddlers. It's heartening to know that you found our hotel impeccably clean in every area, from the rooms to the restaurants and beyond. Our team takes great pride in maintaining a pristine environment for our guests.

We're thrilled that you appreciated the friendliness and politeness of our staff, as well as their proactive approach to ensuring your comfort throughout your stay. Your feedback regarding the poolside music has been duly noted, and we're glad we could accommodate your request promptly.

It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed our beach areas and that the water sports team provided a memorable experience for you and your family. We strive to offer a variety of activities that cater to all age groups.

Your kind words about our culinary offerings are greatly appreciated. We're delighted that you enjoyed the food and service at our restaurants, particularly at Kangan Indian restaurant. Your compliments will be shared with our culinary team, who work tirelessly to create memorable dining experiences.

We appreciate your constructive feedback regarding the water bottle tops and the presence of animals on the premises. Rest assured, we will review these areas to ensure we continually enhance our guests' experience.

Thank you once again for choosing The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius. We look forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional stay in the near future.

Warm regards,
The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 5 173
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Tripadvisor
    R 5 178
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 15 285
R 4 992
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 992
0.5 km from The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius
Free parking
Pool
R 9 598
R 6 826
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 826
0.8 km from The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • travelup.com
1.0 km from The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 502
  • Algotels
1.0 km from The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 068
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
2.0 km from The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius
Free Wifi
Free parking
Grande Villa Pied Dans L'eau A Baklava, Ile Maurice
    1.2 km from The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius
    getlstd_property_photo
      0.7 km from The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Expedia.com
      0.5 km from The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Expedia.com
      0.8 km from The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius
      View more hotels in Balaclava
      Reviews (3 899)
      Filter reviews
      3 901 results
      Traveller rating
      3 074
      544
      150
      74
      59
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      3 074
      544
      150
      74
      59
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews beach grill seasonal tastes kangan restaurant family pool his team special thanks adult pool sushi junior suite kids club concierge desk outdoor shower our honeymoon main pool half board all inclusive package breakfast and dinner
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      51 - 56 of 3 901 reviews
      Reviewed 3 weeks ago

      We had an amazing experience. Chef Nicolas, Deviraj and Yashraj Mr. Nitish ensured we were happy. They accommodated our requests being vegetarian and traveling with kids they made our food experiences hassle free unlike other places. They made special dishes for us which were lip smacking. It was the best dinner we had at Mauritius. All thanks to them to Facilitate such services Me. Hoodish and be such a warm hosts

      Date of stay: June 2024
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank Sightseer50866532232
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Shiksha De St Pern, Marketing at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

      Dear Sightseer50866532232,

      Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing experience at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa! We are thrilled to hear that Chef Nicolas, Deviraj, Yashraj, and Mr. Nitish made your dining experience exceptional. It's wonderful to know that they were able to cater to your vegetarian preferences and ensure a hassle-free dining experience for your family. We will certainly pass along your kind words to them, especially to Me. Hoodish, for their warm hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back for another unforgettable stay!

      Warm regards,
      The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 3 weeks ago

      Am writing this in the midst of my 6 day stay here at the Westin with my wife, our 2 kids and my parents. The hotel took extra care to book my parents a room close to reception and breakfast and houses the rest of us in 2 rooms in the same villa unit. Any requests were promptly addressed, room service and housekeeping were great. Cannot rave enough about the top class service at the kangan and by the F&B team in general (kudos to Seam, Vikash, Domun, Aarti, Mevin and their team). We are vegetarian and had a complicated mix of rooms on half board and B&B. The way the team handled our dinner reservation, orders and suggested options with patience and a smile is remarkable. This team is definitely experienced and are doing the Westin establishment a whole deal of proud with the service and conduct. The ambience was class, the food preparation was the best Indian we have had in Mauritius, this is my fourth trip to the country. Will miss this place and look forward to returning.

      Date of stay: June 2024
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank 901vikass
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Shiksha De St Pern, Marketing at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

      Dear 901vikass,

      Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius! We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed a memorable stay with us. It's fantastic to know that our team went above and beyond to accommodate your requests and ensure your comfort, from arranging the rooms to handling dining preferences with care.

      We are especially thrilled that you found our Indian cuisine at Kangan exceptional and that our team, especially Seam, Vikash, Domun, Aarti, Mevin, and the F&B team, made such a positive impact on your stay. Your compliments will be shared with them, as they take great pride in delivering exceptional service with a smile.

      Thank you once again for choosing The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience soon!

      Warm regards,
      The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

      Great staff, good surroundings and activities. Varousha in the hotel cleaning and service department who cleaned our room was exceptional, always ensuring we wet okay with the cleaning in our room. Also Sajanna who was serving us at the bar (where shows take place) was always attentive and made sure we were okay. So much activities to do, if you are not a person who doesn’t like to relax all the time (me).

      The room is slightly dated though (but that is just a personal opinion). The outside veranda could do with a little touch up. Location wise, you definitely would need a car, as the hotel is quite far from a local restaurant.

      Overall great experience and great people.

      Room tip: Need a car Lots of water activities
      Date of stay: June 2024
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank Judiyah A
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Shiksha De St Pern, Marketing at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

      Dear Judiyah A,

      Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa. It's fantastic to know that you enjoyed the great surroundings, activities, and the exceptional service provided by Varousha and Sajanna. They will be delighted to hear your kind words!

      We appreciate your constructive feedback regarding the room and veranda. Your comments are valuable to us as we continuously strive to enhance our guests' experience. Rest assured, your observations will be shared with our team for further improvement.

      It's wonderful to hear that overall, you had a great experience with us. We hope to welcome you back soon for another memorable stay!

      Warm regards,
      The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

      Stayed at Westin Turtle Bay resort during our Mauritius visit in June 2024. Had a good time. Most staff is quite friendly, thanks to Vimal, Jaya, Sameer and the whole team. A special mention of Seam, who took good care of our group’s requirements. Pleasant memories created.

      Room tip: Plan water activities in advance
      Date of stay: June 2024
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank Krunalbhatt
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Shiksha De St Pern, Marketing at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

      Dear Krunalbhatt,

      Thank you for choosing to stay at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort during your recent visit to Mauritius in June 2024. We are delighted to hear that you had a good time with us and that our staff, especially Vimal, Jaya, Sameer, and Seam, contributed positively to your experience.

      At The Westin Turtle Bay Resort, we strive to provide exceptional service and create memorable moments for our guests, and it is wonderful to know that you have pleasant memories of your stay. Your kind words will be shared with the entire team, especially with those mentioned, as recognition of their efforts.

      We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another unforgettable stay whenever your travels bring you back to Mauritius.

      Warm regards,
      The Westin Turtle Bay Resort

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

      So what can I say about Westin Turtle Bay that maybe you've not already read about?
      Well to begin with the staff here are ALL fantastically attentive. When I say all
      I mean everyone from grounds people to cleaners, service staff and housekeeping. While everyone we encountered were absolutely amazing
      Some few names stand out for us,
      Seam who was a senior service member of staff,
      Aartee, Yovi, Suneeta and Doomun, all of whom went out of their way over and beyond the call of duty, went that extra mile to make our stay more than excellent!
      Whether we were at the main buffet dining area or the fantastic restaurants, Mystique and Kangan. They were always present and attentive.
      With regards to house keeping

      This has to be the first hotel/resort we've stayed where the housekeeping staff have been outstanding!
      Special mention to Manoj, the senior housekeeping manager, together with his fantastic team consisting of Kajal, Alisha and Rashmi
      They ensured our room was fully stocked of towels and toiletries and more importantly the room was always spotless and clean.
      Never were we made to feel like we're too much trouble!

      That's the staff taken care of now to the food,
      The main dining consisted of a buffet affair whereby the selection and quality of items was second to none.
      I wasn't always impressed with the buffet but that's just me and my palate, by no means is that a criticism to the offerings in place at breakfast or dinner.
      However, I must say that the food that I most enjoyed was at the various restaurants this facility gas to offer namely Mystique and Kangan, with Kangan being my absolute favourite (Indian cuisine). The chefs there are just amazing! Their authenticity and recipe knowledge shows in the food they produce and wow is just the description I can give!
      Even at the buffet the various chefs were always to hand ensuring all dining guests were happy and catered for.
      Continuously coming and talking to the numerous guests to ensure they were happy and satisfied.

      The amenities at Westin are also excellent. This sprawling establishment has a lot to keep everyone happy with it's massive beach front, to it's children's facilities and amenities. A boat house various sporting activities to keep the most active of guests entertained and satisfied.
      By now you must be thinking that I'm on a paid promotion or something but honestly I have received nothing from this establishment to give such a glowing review other than my personal experience of the hospitality and facilities available here.

      Of course there were some aspects which I felt could've been better but these were more to do with my exacting standards rather than any shortfall on the part of the entire team at Westin!
      To the owners of this fine establishment, please take note of the names mentioned above and ensure they are rewarded appropriately! Not only were we taken care of rather I witnessed them approach each and every table with the same enthusiasm!
      I will definitely be returning to this fine establishment!

      Date of stay: June 2024
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank JP4Points
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Shiksha De St Pern, Marketing at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago


      Dear JP4Points,

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at The Westin Turtle Bay here on TripAdvisor. It was an absolute pleasure to read your glowing review!

      We are thrilled to hear that our team members, from groundskeepers to senior service staff, made such a positive impact on your stay. It's fantastic to know that individuals like Seam, Aartee, Yovi, Suneeta, Doomun, Manoj, Kajal, Alisha, and Rashmi went above and beyond to ensure you had a memorable and enjoyable time with us. We will definitely pass on your kind words to them, as recognition of their outstanding service means a lot to us.

      We are also delighted that you enjoyed our dining options, particularly at Mystique and Kangan. Your compliments about the quality and authenticity of our food are greatly appreciated, and we will share your feedback with our culinary team.

      Moreover, we're pleased to hear that our amenities, from the beachfront to our children's facilities and sporting activities, contributed to your overall satisfaction during your stay.

      Your feedback about your experience is truly invaluable to us, and we appreciate your honest assessment. Rest assured, we will take note of your suggestions as we continually strive to meet and exceed the expectations of all our guests.

      Once again, thank you for choosing The Westin Turtle Bay. We look forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional stay in the near future.

      Warm regards,
      The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews