We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
99
4
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
99
4
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black tie the main lodge course dinner other guests water skiing boat house moment you arrive food and wine once in a lifetime roaring fire bygone era truffle fries chefs table communal meals formal dinner interesting people other resorts
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2018

It's a magical place that doesn't exist anywhere else I've been. Don't look at the price and compare it to other resorts because others don't exist like this. We were there for a weekend.We arrived Friday and cold champagne waiting- was beautiful day had a great welcome lunch and met the other guests which seemed like old friends by Sunday. Took a boat tour of the lake, walked around, had some snacks and drinks in the pub and then off to an eight course dinner of fine food and wine- with great new friends. Everyone is dressed in black tie or suits one night and the table is candlelit. The food was amazing and off course they remembered our food preferences which we told them before hand and we had some variations of the foot to fit our tastes. It rained the next day but it didn't matter- most places I would have been upset. So no hiking, tennis or boat rides but didn't care. We sat in front of the fireplace of our Adirondack cabin read, and fell asleep after breakfast. Well maybe I shouldn't have had the eggs with truffle cream and the grits and the avocado toast with sou vide egg, and the fresh muffins, croissants and fresh orange juice. Back to our room and the beds were made our clothes folded. We were awake for lunch which on Saturday is a barbecue like you've never made yourself. We met again the other guests which now were like old friends for the weekend as the tables are communal. Well I had to eat a few things like the tuna, amazing fried chicken, chili, turkey, shrimp, lamb sausage, truffle macaroni and cheese and a few other things. I guess I didn't need extra portions of everything as well as the best key lime pie (made there) I every had. Oh and had to have a Bloody Mary with the best homemade mix ever which you can pour yourself or have them make it. And a little wine for lunch why not? Well still raining and back to the room to read more, sleep a little, and then head over to the pub before dinner and chat with everyone, oh besides for any drink you can think of homemade potato chips, and few other snacks. Off to dinner for amazing food and wine, then chatting with the guests which now seem like old friends telling great stories till about 1am, some wanted a little snack so the chef made pizza and truffle fries so yummy and then to sleep. We were the first at breakfast the next day at 9am. I decided to eat a little less and had the pancakes and gravlax and some grits and orange juice. Lunch to go with the fried chicken in the car before we left and then drove back to reality. The service is great, the staff all amazing, the property well kept. You can be active too if you want to. Just to let you know no children allowed, and you should be aware that your dress/pants size may go up one size by the time you leave. There is no wifi but Verizon works great but I don't believe At&t does.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank flierm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron K, General Manager at The Point, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear flierm,

We are so happy you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We look forward to having you back!

Sincerely,
Cameron and The Point Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

Staying with The Point is a magical experience. And I say “with” instead of “at” The Point. If it’s your first time, you’re welcomed as warmly as if you go every year. It’s one of those “once in a lifetime” vacations that you can never get enough of.

Many other reviews give details on what the experience is like, and I echo the sentiments of how truly amazing everything is. The food: outstanding. The service: impeccable. The property: beautiful.

Each of the rooms have a wonderfully different feel and character, and do make you feel at home. You can do as little or as much as you want.

I have been in the summer and the winter, and both are just as amazing as the other season. Though my favorite thing to do is to have lunch on one of the battery operated boats.

The staff at The Point truly make perfection look effortless, and you will love every second you are under their care.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank jackofalltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron K, General Manager at The Point, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear jackofalltravels,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We always look forward to welcoming you back home!

Sincerely,
Cameron and The Point Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

Extraordinary hospitality. Beautiful setting and facilities. Casual luxury. The most minute perfecting details that are missing from the best properties and hotels in the world have been added to The Point. Casual luxury at a level the original Rockefellers and their friends couldn’t have imagined. Who you meet there probably has a large part in the experience you enjoy there - the most accomplished are often the least pretentious (no one was pretentious, BTW).

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank P7919QWdavidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron K, General Manager at The Point, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear David T,

Thank you for the 6th star! We are so honored you enjoyed your stay enough to give us such a rating. We cannot wait to have you back.

Sincerely,
Cameron and The Point Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Couldn’t afford to stay here but if you can do it. What a magnificent resort. Next time I win the lottery this will be my first place to stay. Everything I see on the sight makes my mouth water.

The amenities are wonderful so I’m sure the restaurant is fabulous.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank lshake38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron K, General Manager at The Point, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Linda S,

We will be thinking of you every time the lotto numbers are out! We look forward to having you soon.

Sincerely,
Cameron and The Point Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We have been to The Point 8 times starting back in 2008. Every time was exceptional! The property is rustic but that by no means means roughing it. The quality of everything is totally top notch.
When you arrive, you are greeted with a glass of champagne and a tour of the property. If your room was not used the night before, you can have it as early as you arrive. If guests are vacating, the staff will usually have it ready after lunch. All of the rooms have their own personalities and most repeat guests have their own favorites. There are 4 bedrooms in the main lodge, 3 in the Pub building, 3 in the guest house, and the entire level over the boathouse is one bedroom. Most rooms have decks or patios and all rooms have at least one woodburning fireplace. Whatever room you are in has no bearing on the onsite amenities you can enjoy. We have spent nights in Iroquois, Trappers, and Sentinal, but have seen all of the rooms and there is not one that is bad. Differences are in size, location, and view. Wait until you go to sleep in one of their beds! You will feel as if you are resting in a cloud! Best sleep we have ever had!
The Point is expensive but do remember what is included. Your room, all meals and special requests, all alcohol (4 fully stocked bars spread around the site where you can serve yourself to whatever you want, whenever you want it), the use of the boats and land based activities, the hiking trails and Camp David, etc. etc. Want to go fishing? All right there! Very little is an added cost (in room massages, for one). It is generally adults only but there are a couple of times a year that children are welcome. Ok, no kids but well behaved dogs are always welcome. If you fly in and want to drive someplace, I understand that there are loaner cars on site.
The meals are wonderful. Breakfast is at when and where you wish. We typically have coffee delivered to the room early and then call later for a full breakfast. Our favorite breakfast foods are the corned beef “hash” and the french toast but the list of things they can do is huge. They tell me that the favorite asked for item is fried chicken waffles. Lunch can be in the Main Lodge, on the patio there, in your room, in the Pub, at Camp David - a small cabin in the woods about 1/2 mile down the road, out on the lake in a boat, in a lean-to, set up on a island in the lake with a bonfire, table and chairs with tablecloths, china, etc., etc. The meal can be almost anything you like from a full hot meal to simple salads and sandwiches to.... Saturday lunch is a barbeque full of special offerings. It is served near the large firepit and all sit together. Most join in on this as it is a delicious meal and a fun time together with the other guests. If the weather is bad, it is moved to the Great Hall. Dinner can be anywhere you wish as well but please don’t miss joining the group in the Great Hall. We had reservations about this as all sit at one or two tables, but every night was a terrific experience. In all the trips we have had at The Point, we have had only 2 dinners without other guests. One was at the “Chef’s Table” in the kitchen (great fun and interesting to watch a meal being prepared, plated, etc.) and one was this last trip when it happened that the other guests were doing their own things at various places on site. A table for two was set up in front of one of the fireplaces in the Great Hall. They actually called it “the Rockefeller Experience” as this is what would have happened back when the Rockefellers owned the Camp. While this was a fun night and most certainly enjoyed, we do prefer the communal dining. (By the way, it is not that we always want to be with other people and not just with each other. We go on cruises and almost always get a table for two, plus we usually have most of our other meals at The Point just the two of us.) Sharing time with the others on site at dinner is truly a great experience. Dinners are a preset menu which is available to be checked out by mid afternoon. If it sounds good, awesome. If not, ask what else could be substituted for that course. If someone is having something different from the group, it is served such that you are not made to feel outside the group. You are asked in advance if there are any foods or food food groups you wish to avoid and the Chef will take that into account when planning the dinner. The food is truly excellent and the courses have wines to match. Small portions and several courses. Formal nights are extra courses and last a good bit longer. Very special evenings! After dinner, many go to the Pub which is fun but don’t miss an evening under the stars at the bonfire. A bunch of Adirondack chairs surrounding a large bonfire. Smores, pizza, truffle popcorn and more. If you want something different, just ask! One of the many full bars on site is adjacent to the firepit.The dress code is “requested” but not mandatory. Most do comply with the jacket and tie evenings and, on the formal nights (Wednesdays and Saturdays), most do wear tuxedos or suits. All of the dressing up is as it was when it was the Rockefeller’s Great Camp. On that note, the owners of The Point have made every effort possible to maintain The Point as it was when it was built. Everything that has been added and updated is planned along the original themes. Much has been added and updated but you will not be able to distinguish the new from the old as it blends seamlessly.
What to do there? Anything you want. Boating on boats ranging from the large Elko to the midsize Hacker to the powerboats with outboard motors to the Budsin boats. The Budsin boats are fairly slow boats (we call them floating golf carts) that seat up to 4. They are electric boats with shallow drafts and can go into the nearby waterway that connects to other lakes. We love taking a lunch out there and enjoying an elegant “picnic” lunch and the stunning views of the lake. These have available canopies so you are not in the direct sun if you prefer. The Point also has archery, croquet, badminton, and other lawn activities, tennis, plus a pool table in the Pub, etc. Golf is nearby as is skiing in the winter. Hiking is both nearby with a couple of trails near Camp David and also up one of the several mountains in the vicinity. Fishing and waterskiing are also available.
The Point is an easy 3 hour drive from Albany airport but many drive in from Burlington and Montreal airports as well. One way we have done several times is to fly into Albany, rent a car and drive to Lake Placid. Spend that day and evening in town and get to The Point mid morning the next day. That way, we have most of that day to enjoy all there is to offer. Another way to get there, besides driving, is to fly on Cape Air from Boston into Saranac Lake Airport. Someone from The Point will provide transportation to and from.
Guests are there for varying lengths of time. Some stay for as short a time as an overnight but my guess is the average stay is 2-4 nights. We have met folks who have stayed for weeks at a time.
The Point is our favorite place in the world. We love everything about this place. The staff has yet to tell us “no” to any request and their enthusuasm in everything they do is contagious. Everyone there is happy to be there and makes guests feel like special family. When we drive out of the gates for the last time each visit, we start thinking about when we can go back! We only left yesterday but we miss being there already!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank MLJVA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron K, General Manager at The Point, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear MLJVA13,

Oh my goodness what a review! We are so grateful for you and even more so to take so much time to write such an amazing review. We cannot thank you enough for that. We can't wait to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Cameron and The Point Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews