We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See Attraction”

Long Island Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19,00*
and up
Long Island Aquarium Admission
Ranked #2 of 30 things to do in Riverhead
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This FINtastic destination features one of the largest all-living coral reef displays in this hemisphere, a 120,000-gallon shark tank, year-round sea lion shows, African Penguins, Marmosets, numerous touch tanks and more than 100 exhibits including the lavish indoor gardens of our Butterflies, Bugs and Birds Exhibit! This Section features more than 30 species of North American and exotic, tropical free-flying butterflies and is the only insect displays of its kind in New York (and one of the only exhibits like this in the Northeast) featuring bugs ranging from most deadly to largest and most colorful. You can even hand feed the gorgeous conures, ringnecks and lovebirds in our Bird Aviary. We're celebrating our 15th birthday this year and we want you to join the celebration. You'll get FREE Aquarium admission (with valid ID) within 7 days of your birthday!! You can also try one of our JAWsome Aquatic Adventures, like the Shark Dive where you'll get in the cage and down into our amazing Lost City of Atlantis Shark Exhibit. Or the Penguin Encounter where you'll get up close and personal with our cutest feathered friends. You can even snorkel with tropical fish from around the world with our Pirate Snorkel Adventure (seasonal)! There are plenty of special events on the calendar, for guests of all ages. Check our website for a full listing of the great activities you won't want to miss. Like our Family Sleepovers, where you'll explore the Aquarium after hours, then spend the night in front of one of the tanks. Or Fish & Sips, our adults only wine tasting event featuring more than 20 local vineyards with tasting and purchasing opportunities. You can celebrate the holidays with us at our Holiday Brunches for Easter, Mother's Day or to celebrate Christmas with our Santa Brunch. We can also help you host your child's next birthday, we specialize in parties and have a wide range of party packages to offer. Planning a Bar/Bat Mitzvah or Sweet 16? We've got you covered, our Atlantis Banquets & Events team will make your child's special day the party of the year. You can even get married where the walls are alive with our most colorful and tropical exhibits! Named a Top 10 Aquarium for Children by Parents Magazine, the Long Island Aquarium is open daily from10am to 5pm year-round (Closed Christmas & Thanksgiving Days). You can add to the fun with an overnight stay at the waterfront Hyatt Place Long Island / East End and located adjacent to the property.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A wonderful place to visit and the only place in New York to see an octopus! Totally kid friendly and accessible.

Thank bobo62479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LongIslandAquarium, Manager at Long Island Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this kind review! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again! Enjoy your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"sea lion show"
in 88 reviews
"butterfly exhibit"
in 51 reviews
"shark tank"
in 51 reviews
"fish"
in 63 reviews
"butterfly room"
in 19 reviews
"boat ride"
in 20 reviews
"outdoor exhibits"
in 15 reviews
"sea creatures"
in 9 reviews
"touch tank"
in 15 reviews
"penguin encounter"
in 11 reviews
"octopus"
in 10 reviews
"marine life"
in 10 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 9 reviews
"feed the stingrays"
in 9 reviews
"long island"
in 37 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 17 reviews
"snow monkeys"
in 6 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Been to a number of Aquariums and this one falls midway.

There is nothing outstanding but it is a destination. Admission is high considering it does not include many of the perks that adults and children would be drawn to.

A few attractions were not operating.

One has to exit thru a very tired souvenir store that is overpriced, along with stuffed animals etc. that have seen better days.

We did enjoy our two plus hour stay as did our five year old.

1  Thank Dancing2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LongIslandAquarium, Manager at Long Island Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for visiting us! We're so glad that you and your family enjoyed your visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

For the last 3 yrs we have been doing the Aquarium with the Buffet after.....We have totally enjoyed it! The Aquarium is awesome and the buffet is perfect....

Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LongIslandAquarium, Manager at Long Island Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your kind review! We're glad you have enjoyed the Mother's Day Brunch and visit to the Aquarium! We look forward to having you visit us again!! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write this kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

We spent a rainy day here with the kids (2.5, 4.5). The place is really nice, well designed with many fun and some awe inspiring exhibitions. The kids (and their parents) were mesmerized by the shark tank and the "touch tank" and butterfly garden were exciting as well. Probably better on a sunny (or at least not rainy) day, but we had a great time. Food options are OK (not a huge selection), parking is slightly off-site (5 minute walk up a side street).

1  Thank Gadi_Lalazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LongIslandAquarium, Manager at Long Island Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for this kind review!! We're so glad you and your family enjoyed visiting with us and hope you can visit again on a better weather day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

I have always enjoyed aquariums and this trip has really set the bar high. My boyfriend and I were excited to do the shark dive and penguin encounter that we booked. Jean met us for the shark dive and gave us a brief, but all encompassing tour of the inner aquarium. She was funny, knowledgeable, and very fun, showing us how to properly feed the rays, as well as telling us all about the history of the aquarium and it's exhibits. Then we met Jim our dive instructor who was absolutely amazing. He made both of us feel very comfortable and relaxed our nerves. The dive itself was breathtaking. You feel so much closer to these gorgeous creatures and get that added bonus of being up close and personal, yet still safe. While Jim pointed out great shots for me to grab with my go pro, Jean gave us more facts about the exhibit and it's inhabitants. They really both made the experience that much more amazing

We did the penguin encounter later in the day and that was also just awesome. We got to hang out in the penguin exhibit with them and watch them be super cute and learn all about them. After, we got to sit down and pet and meet Kevin. We learned a little more about him and got to take some photos. Also just an incredible experience.

I found the staff at this aquarium to be beyond knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. It was an absolute pleasure and we will be back soon. Highly highly recommend

1  Thank chantal l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Long Island Aquarium also viewed

Riverhead, Hamptons
Hampton Bays, Southampton
 
East Hampton, Hamptons
Southampton, Hamptons
 

Been to Long Island Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing