We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally disappointed in service”

River Runner's Roost
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Pond Eddy
Price range: US$6 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Low and slow delicious Barbecue including Pork, Ribs, Chicken and mouth watering Texas style Brisket. Hand cut, marinated and char grilled or iron pan blackened Certified Black Angus Beef Steaks. House made Corned Beef and Pastrami second to none. Cajun specialties including our Famous Steak, Chicken, Shrimp and Andouille Sausage Gumbo served over Red Beans and Rice. Italian favorites from our former restaurant of 87 years Gino's Tavern and Restaurant, Port Jervis, NY same family, food and service since 1924. *********SEASONAL RESTAURANT MARCH - NOVEMBER*********
Reviewed 28 July 2015 via mobile

My husband and I have spent plenty of money at this restaurant since last year but were treated terribly by the woman that identified herself as "the owner". We waited close to an hour for our entrees. Every time we inquired about our order, we were told it would be out in a minute. " the owner " was rude and never apologized.

Date of visit: July 2015
1  Thank racksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2014

There's many factors involved in rating a restaurant. Good food, decor, serve & variety of menu.
When this opened we went 3 weeks later. Pleasant decor - trendy for the area. We have a vacation house up here, so restaurants are always welcomed. We ordered Reuben sandwiches.it took over 1 hour to get food. We figured they were new. The following year we returned. This time we sat at the bar and ordered sandwiches. Again, we waited over an hour for the food. This is not fine dinning. Service is slow.....go somewhere else.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Owner at River Runner's Roost, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2015

Dear xxxtraveltoday
I totally agree with your service rating but not how you went about your rating process. You failed to note it was a very busy night with a long waiting list for tables so you opted to sit at the end of the bar and also you were not aware we had a large takeout order of 24 dinners. You were seated at the end of the bar and after I was made aware of the situation that you had waited a long time I directed my wife to comp. your sandwiches only to find out you had departed the premisses. I feel we owe you a free dinning experience but also feel you should tell the management or owners of your displeasure before broadcasting on the internet. Sometimes poor service and long wait times are unavoidable which the establishment has to address only to improve their service procedures. Thanks for you input and please feel free to introduce yourself if you decide to return so we can make up for our mistakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Dropped in for lunch with the family. Positives: Good BBQ, Brisket was my favorite.
Negatives: Sloooow service. Was standing at the bar when I heard the bell ring in the kitchen that was clearly our food. My waitress was right there, but she ignored it, so 30 seconds later I asked her if she could check on our food, so she went back and lo and behold, there was our food.
Atmosphere was OK, but they appear to get a lot of bikers, so if you have young kids, you may want to steer clear, as the obscene language was not hard to hear.

But again, the bbq was good, so you make the call.

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BDR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 August 2014

On a suggestion from friends living in the area we visited River Runner's Roost on Saturday evening after 6:00. The place was hopping, but we were able to get a table in short order. This is a very nice looking place, fairly new interior and can be a bit louder due to the pitch of the ceiling, but overall a comfortable place to be. Great choices on beer. Our party shared calamari which was pretty good for the location. I had the three meat choice with included ribs, pulled pork, and brisket. Wow, very good selections. If you enjoy ribs and pulled pork this is the place for you, very tasty. Overall, our party of four received a check for $105. With drinks included, we found this to be a very good value. We will be going back soon.

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hplcman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This place is located right on Route 97 just a skip an hop past the Hawks Nest.
DO NOT PASS THIS ONE UP..EXCELLENT BBQ. All the staff was friendly..Eat inside or on patio...Chicken..Brisket. .pork or beef ribs or sausage ALL OF THEM WERE AWESOME! !!!
I can only say great things about the food.. WE WILL BE BACK!!!

1  Thank LMY123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed River Runner's Roost also viewed

Pond Eddy, Catskill Region

Been to River Runner's Roost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.