We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the winery is on a boutique level.”
Review of Hosmer Winery

Hosmer Winery
Ranked #4 of 12 things to do in Ovid
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Here at Hosmer Winery, we try and keep tradition alive. Each bottle of wine starts from the ground up, literally. We use our breathtaking surroundings not only as inspiration but for a reason to do what we do. As one of the original wineries on Cayuga Lake we proudly represent some of the oldest vinifera in the Finger Lakes. We are a fully functioning estate winery; everything from growing, to picking, to pressing, to bottling is done on site. As a farm, we cultivate over 60 acres of grapes with over 10 varieties and growing. Our belief in winemaking and grape growing are parallel and continuing, we strive to maintain preservation of the land and the fruit form vine to table. Our passion for what we do is exemplified through the creation of our memorable wines.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 1 January 2017

various wine styles here with emphasis on quality. The artwork on the bottles is also a plus. Join the wine club so you can always know what is new as well as the happenings and free wine tastings. Its all good here.

Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HosmerWinery, Public Relations Manager at Hosmer Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thank you for taking notice to the emphasis we put on quality, both inside and outside of the bottle! We hope you had a great holiday with delicious wine and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

NY Times Review recommended and we were glad it did. We had such pleasant experience good wines and friendly pourer from our area of Queens.

Thank Queens-cousins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HosmerWinery, Public Relations Manager at Hosmer Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

So cool you found that review and that it brought you up to Hosmer Winery...and that you were able to chat with another Queens local! Hopefully you enjoyed your experience enough that it brings you back to the area. We look forward to seeing you again and enjoy your wine. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

From it's beginnings in the garage almost across the street to the beautiful new surroundings, Hosmer Winery has had the finest wines my husband and I ever tasted, and we have been all over the country including California and the northwest. The hospitality is as unsurpassed as the wine. Make it a must-stop!!!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank sehoffman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HosmerWinery, Public Relations Manager at Hosmer Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Thank you so, so much for our kind words! That makes everyone here so proud and we couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your experience so. We look forward to seeing on the Cayuga Wine Trail soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

One of the favorite spots we visited on our recent trip. Our host (John) was incredibly friendly and very knowledgeable regarding the various wines offered. I prefer drier full bodied wines while my spouse enjoys sweeter varieties, and we each found several that we really enjoyed. Estate red and first spoke Riesling were favorites on the dry end of the spectrum. Sangria and fireside red were favorites on the sweeter side. The day we visited (Saturday) there was a great band on site playing music and a BBQ truck serving excellent smoked meats. All around wonderful visit.

Thank JEL1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HosmerWinery, Public Relations Manager at Hosmer Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

It is great to hear that you and your spouse were both able to find a variety of wines that you enjoyed. It is important to us at Hosmer Winery to make exceptional quality wine for every palate. Thank you for stopping by Hosmer, we will see you next time you are in the area!

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

we had a very nice tasting.they were not busy and when we said we were from MN they said the winemaker was also..they went and got her..we had a nice chat, talked about MN grape varities and how several NY growers are trying them and seeing if they can make desired wine from them - Marquett is the one they are the most interested in. we talked about Cornell grapes and tried some of the wine made from them.. Definatly a 5 star experience or us..perhaps not if you are not fromm MN.

1  Thank MinnScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hosmer Winery also viewed

 

Been to Hosmer Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing