We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable house, good beds and showers...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pitfield Cottage

Pitfield is an 'L' shape building with panoramic views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pitfield is an 'L' shape building with panoramic views
1 of the 2 sitting areas Upstairs bedroom with en suite shower room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Pitfield is an 'L' shape building with panoramic views
1 of the 2 sitting areas
Upstairs bedroom with en suite shower room
bedroom with en suite shower room
All 5 bedrooms can be set up as superking or twins
1 of the 2 kitchen/sitting/dining rooms
Extendable dining tables in both kitchen/sitting/dining areas
1 of the 4 bathrooms
open plan sitting/dining/kitchen
1 of the patio areas
Take in the views from this patio
Front door at the Pitmiddle end of the house (Pitfield is Pitmiddle and Outfield joined together)
Snowy Outfield end of the house (Pitfield is Pitmiddle and Outfield joined together)
Wind turbine located up the hill, visible from Pitmiddle patio and dining area
tennis court with great views
enjoy the views from inside or outside, summer house sits above tennis court
Pet friendly environment
The pond in summer
Fire pit and Giant's picnic table up by the pond
Games room on site
Family walks on site and nearby
Snowy hill - great views at the top
snowy Pitfield
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Abernyte, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mcdutchy
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very comfortable house, good beds and showers, greatly kitted out”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This barn convertion has been done really well and it makes for a very comfortable stay in the house. We rented both houses i.e they are joined together and it worked perfectly. It is remote but you just have to be organised in your shopping, errol isnt too far away and the fantastic abernyte antiques centre just a mere 5 minutes drive, they do deli food and also great lunches. Would recommend to anyone......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable house
Liked least: Cold spots in the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
Glad it worked well for you all. Inchture village shop and the post office are 10 minutes away for essentials and a newspaper etc and then Dundee and Perth city centres are 20 minutes away. Some guests even use the supermarket on line shopping service and get their food and drink delivered which is quite handy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great venue for a 60th birthday celebration.”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We rented the three cottages Outfield, Pitmiddle and Honeysuckle for a weekend event celebrating my 60th birthday. The cottages have all been upgraded to high standards but retain charm and cosiness and have many environmentally positive features such as recycled wood floor and a ground source heat pump. The location is delightful being high in the Sidlaws with great views over the Tay. The two main cottages can be linked via an interconnecting door making them ideal for a birthday party but in addition, Suki, the owner, allowed us to rent an additional building, not normally available, which was ideal for a small ceilidh. I greatly appreciate Suki's flexibility in meeting our requirements, not only in providing a space for a ceilidh but also for providing space for a couple of small tents and for supplying a couple of camp beds.

The farm is set in a beautiful landscape drenched in history and is ideal for walkers. Information on local walks, either starting from the farm or a short drive away, is available in the cottages. The games room provides plenty of distraction for both children and adults. The many children in our group were also entertained by a couple of alpacas and, Susi, the farm dog. Tennis courts are also available.

If you are putting on a big event here the local Inchture Hotel can provide 'overflow' accommodation.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2015
Delighted that adults and children all had lots of fun on site whether it was in the house, in the games room, on the tennis court or up on the hill. We are particularly pleased that you discovered the local walks - many of which start from the farm. All the roads in our area are now limited to 40mph so that cyclists and walkers can make the most of our landscape. Perthshire core paths have a wonderful interactive on line map detailing the local walks - try the squirrel hut walk at Redmyre next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela126...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Times had by all”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Pitmiddle which was the two cottages combined due to being a party of 7. When we arrived we were given a warm welcome and shown around etc. Clear instructions for cooker etc was at hand. Well furnished and clean, most of all we enjoyed our stay and looking forward to going back hopeful this year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: layout and location
Liked least: nothing at all
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
Looking forward to seeing you all again - to avoid confusion this group stayed at Pitfield which is my 2 cottages of Pitmiddle and Outfield rented out together with the interconnecting door unlocked thus providing 2 living/kitchen/dining areas etc. Most guests use the Pitmiddle front door as the dedicated front door as 2 or 3 cars can park and come and go easily.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C
Kelso, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming and comfortable home from home”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

The extended family fitted comfortably into the five bedrooms of Pitfield Cottage and our dogs were made welcome as well. We enjoyed a beautiful setting with fantastic views.
The house has plenty of space if one living area is used as the dining room and the other for seating. The houses are very well equiped.
The temperature was well below freezing for a few days and nights and I felt that the underfloor heating in the three bedroomed struggled. But with an open log fireplace in each sitting area and back up convector heaters the heat was maintained to a comfortable level.
Car is essential

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So dog friendly
Liked least: The games room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
Lovely to meet you all and the dogs. Appreciate you pointing out that 1 half of house seemed warmer than the other and you needed to use the convectors provided in the houses to boost the heat. Still investigating what the cause might be. We try to be prepared for most eventualities and have a shed full of logs, candles and many more convectors should the need arise!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuartie...
Lochgelly, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Weekend Away”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A group of us stayed the weekend at Pitfield Cottage and had a wonderful time. The house has some stunning views over the Perthshire Hills and is well equipped for a weekend away. Attached to the property is a games room and a tennis court, with perhaps the best view in Scotland.

We found the house to be in excellent order was very spacious and well maintained.

Around 12 miles from Dundee it is slightly off the beaten track, although that is noted by the helpful owner in the property description.

We ate out at the hotel in Inchture, on the Saturday evening they kindly sent up a mini bus to collect us and return us to the property.

If you are looking for a largish house in the country but not to far from the city then I would highly recommend this property.

We are already looking to return next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and layout of the house
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing