We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Home Base for Exploring Santorini”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Raki Cave

Patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio
Lounge area Lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Patio
Lounge area
Lounge area
Ground level patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cave house -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Fira, Santorini, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MaryfromG...
Grimsby, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Home Base for Exploring Santorini”
Reviewed 8 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This place is a perfect home base for exploring the island. It is in a residential area about a 5 minute walk through narrow winding streets to the central square in Fira. It is spacious, well furnished, clean and offers a quiet place to recharge after sightseeing. But above all that, Foti is a friendly, responsive, helpful host. The cave has been restored with visitor needs in mind. There are two windows and a skylight to provide some natural light. Staying in a well-renovated cave is itself an experience to enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unique experience of staying in a cave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherbetvi...
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Raki cave was perfect...and Foti is an exceptional host.
The cave house was immaculate, very clean & recently renovated. It had everything we needed. The location was great, a very short walk to all restaurants and bars in Fira. Foti not only showed us how to get into town & back but also gave us recommendations on places to go & tips on how to get there etc (the tip on the free walking tour to Imerovigli was v good and the Santo winery wine tasting was fantastic !). Foti and Raki Cave get 10 out of 10 from us...and we can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Foti was a very helpful host - from taking us for the short walk into Fira so that we knew where to go, dinner recommendations and even printing our boarding passes for us! Fully equipped kitchen and bathroom supplies. Recently renovated from a traditional raki cave. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salsfairy
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A dream stay in the most perfect way”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

There are not enough words to explain how amazingly wonderful and remarkable Raki Cave and the owner Foti are. Foti has turned this cave into something that is truly mind blowing. We stayed for 5 days and would have stayed longer if we could. The cave is located close to everything, all in walking distance. Foti took us for a walk around the main city centre giving us suggestion and recommendations on things to see and do, places to eat etc.
The cave itself is naturally cool and designed and decorated in such a way that you would believe a high class interior designer has stepped in. Raki Cave is immaculately clean and the bedding is beyond comfortable. We had the most incredible stay here and would come back in a heart beat. Thanks so much Foti for creating such a magical place to stay, we can't wait to return one day

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathyTamY...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Cave House!!!”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Raki Cave is located at Fira, the center of Santorini so it is easy to access different parts of the island. It takes around 5-min to walk from the cave house to the main square, where many restaurants and shops are located! The house is very clean and tidy. It was cleaned every day, and our beddings and towels were changed too! I agree that the service is 'hotel-level'.

Most importantly, the host was very helpful and friendly! He picked us at the bus station and showed us around at Fira. Useful travel information and advice were provided. We were surprised to learn about the history of Santorini and the cave too!

Reading books on the little sofa and having breakfast at the outdoor area were our most enjoyable experience at the cave.

Overall, the Raki Cave is an excellent cave house. I definitely recommend this cave house for your stay at Santorini.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing