We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 467)
Filter reviews
1 467 results
Traveller rating
764
554
97
37
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
764
554
97
37
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dormy house sea view chalk cliffs beautiful hotel oysters main building superior room three star normandy coast views are spectacular notre dame de la garde room was large no elevator breakfast room old building bread croissants
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1 467 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2018

The Dormy House is situated on top of a hill overlooking the bay of Etretat. A walk along the paths on the cliffs enjoying the amazing sunrise early morning makes your day. If you are a golf-lover, make sure to walk the 18 holes, it's one of the most beautiful locations we have ever seen. End your day in the lovely old fashion styled restaurant of the Dormy House. Great food, wonderful wines and good service, all of course in sight of again a stunning view. Make sure to avoid Sundays if you don't like crowds. It can be very busy on the boulevard which creates long waiting time for even an ordinary beer. Other than that: GO!

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Patty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

I first went to the Dormy Housr over 60 years ago and have revisited on 4 occasions since. Little has changed thank heavens as the hotel is comfortable , close to the town and has great views.
We took our dog but didn't walk on the cliffs as the way up,either side of the bay was told steep. The dog was allowed in the room and on the terrace but nowhere else.Thats ok if the weather is good.
Didn't eat in the restaurant as we had the dog but ate in town one night and had lunch on the terrace the next day and the food was nice.
Everybody were helpful particularly reception organising a vets appointment and then rearranging it due to timings to arrive in the Chunnel Pet Centre, ar Ivan in the UK,etc etc.
Breakfast is taken in an adjacent building and it was pretty good.
If passing might stay there again but not making a special trip.

Room Tip: Get a suite or Deluxe room in the main hotel as they have lovely sea view and balcony.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Incredible sea view from a gorgeous room, wonderful location set right at the beach and cliffs and on the boardwalk with quick access into town. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Can't speak to the food / bar - we didn't have enough time to use either but both looked lovely. Would highly recommend (unless you have trouble with stairs... though then the whole of Etretat would probably not be good for you)

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elinzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

We stayed for 2 nights and were a little disappointed before arriving to be told that the restaurant was closed for Dinner on Monday and Tuesday, the nights of our stay.
Never mind there was an excellent range of restaurants in the town, a short walk down a fairly steep path. It seemed even steeper on the return journey!!
The views are stunning, we had the benefit of a sea facing room looking over the town.
The barman could have been a happier and more welcoming soul, but other staff at reception and breakfast were lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumptners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Arrived a bit early, just as well as the car park was overflowing. At reception a woman told us unless we booked for dinner immediately we would not be able to dine at the hotel because all tables would be taken. Without having a chance to see the menu we declined. We were given a room in the building overlooking the car park and given no help with our luggage. Room was small but ok. Diner in one of the cafes in the village was awful but the walk down to the bay was worth it. Breakfast was 3* average and ok. Drink prices in the hotel were very high, 9.20euro for a coffee and a tea. Overall our stay ruined by the attitude of the receptionist but that aside it's ok for 3* and the views from the gardens is outstanding however we will avoid in future.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank CardiffSteveH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews