We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food..Stuff is like Alice in wonderland”
Review of Upendo Zanzibar

Upendo Zanzibar
Ranked #40 of 417 Restaurants in Zanzibar Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We are a bar, lounge & restaurant located on one of the most unique and beautiful spots in Zanzibar. We are open every day from 08:00 with our kitchen closing at 21:30, and are known for good quality cuisine (international) cooked fresh to order. We take pride in our food & service as well as creating a special atmosphere. We have a wide selection of dishes to suit all pallets & budgets but we do not rush you! We have a main pool area and sun deck that are complimentary for those staying or dining with us. There is FREE wifi on site. We also offer accommodation in form of a luxury private villa & beach bandas.
Reviewed 27 February 2021

Food is great at this place even prices are good.Drinks are a little overpriced.The stuff is actually what males this place not so great.They’re very very slow,constantly chatting and laughing with each other.They don’t care about the customers.We we’re there three times during our stay in Zanzi and all of the times we were there we had to get the menu ourselves because they just wouldn’t come.They always forget something.Can’t do math and want to scam you while paying the bill.The problem is not in pole pole Zanzibar lifestyle..Try Baladin 15 min down the beach everything is fast and precise.. food is out of this world there.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank SLujza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2021 via mobile

Very good food - we had 2 dinners there and everything was delicious. Flora is a very nice person and provides an excellent service!

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank 998vlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2020

We had a lunch in Upendo - it was DELICIOUS! Very friendly and welcoming staff. They're very kind and let us leave our totes with them while we hung out on the beach. Next time I'm planning to stay there - the location and the hotel are that good. Bonus points for very stylish and tasteful decorations.

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank Tatiana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2020

A friend and I went to Upendo for the day. We were greeted by a very welcoming staff and were constantly checked on. The food was excellent and the wine was relatively inexpensive!

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank ElishaJaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2020 via mobile

The setting - the view, the sofas...- are amazing. However, the food is overpriced - like crazy expensive, even for Zanzibar which is expensive overall, and not even good. Go there only for a drink and a chill out maybe.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank OliviaBod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Upendo Zanzibar also viewed

 
Dongwe, Zanzibar Island
Zanzibar City, Zanzibar Island
 

Been to Upendo Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.