We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Lunch in Rustic Setting”
Review of Geelbek

Geelbek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Informal easy going meals for families in the West Coast National Park, Langebaan. Play area for children in nature, bird hides close by.
Reviewed 14 February 2023

After a morning of bird watching, on an extremely hot day, we (five in our party) ventured over to the Geelbek Restaurant for a light lunch. Our waiter, pleasant and efficient, attended to us immediately and our much-needed iced drinks were delivered to us within record time. A second round of drinks came just as quickly. We ordered standard fare- hamburgers and pizza/buns, which were fine. I must admit I was a bit taken aback at the price of a hamburger (R140.00) -this is considerably more expensive than a hamburger anywhere in Cape Town City.
The ambience is rustic, plain, with no frills. We sat outside near the trees and noisy weavers, and all in all found it very relaxing and pleasant.

Date of visit: February 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank maureenlambrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2023

What a terrible dirty, smelly place. Half the offering on the menu were not available, but I would not eat in the place in anyone paid me. The staff were sullen and not interested.
My advice, take a picnic but do not go near this awful place.

Date of visit: November 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank royandjean447
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2022 via mobile

Unexpectedly well-prepared breakfasts, friendly service, affordable. Did well to work around load-shedding in spite of no back-up electricity.

Date of visit: November 2022
Thank 100magdaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 September 2022

Surely San Parks can do better than this. The Geelbek restaurant recently (3 weeks ago) opened again.
Outside toilets not working, The restaurant itself is in shambles. The floors look like they have not yet been cleaned since the opening, Two staff members present today appeared as if they have never been working in a restaurant.
This during such a busy period in the West Coast park.

Date of visit: September 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank LucillehT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2022 via mobile

How can you get an order wrong if we were the only 2 people inside the place. Staff are surly and sullen. Act like they doing you a favor. Service is slow. Meals are not worth the money you spend. If yiu go the west coast park, rather pack a picnic basket.

Date of visit: August 2022
3  Thank TrishMile
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Been to Geelbek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.