We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Catherine Chivers
Nottingham, United Kingdom

Wonderful first safari experience and 50th birthday celebration for my brother in law!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Apr 2024
We had the most amazing time at Nungubane and really didn’t want to leave! Such a wonderful place! The scenery and safaris were absolutely brilliant! We were in awe of Keegan and Marcel- so incredibly knowledgeable! The accommodation, food and staff were brilliant! We loved every minute!
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Temperature drops very quickly so you definitely need layers! The ponchos were fantastic!
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 21 Apr 2024
Thank you for sharing the wonderful moments that you enjoyed with us and in celebrating the 50th birthday. A home from home is what Nungubane is all about and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your bush break away with us.

From The Nungubane Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
5.0 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.7 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.7 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 13 670
  • Booking.com
7.4 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
8.2 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 13 624
  • Booking.com
14.7 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 11 293
  • Booking.com
9.4 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
269
24
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
269
24
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game lodge the reserve other guests manager chris friendly team wonderful place to visit memorable stay after dark great knowledge attention to detail excellent food home away from home our room was spacious private deck south africa two night stay african bush
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2024

amazing, all staff are so friendly and fabulous and treated us for all our needs, they did a fabulous singing and dancing on my dads birthday that we could all join in on. the masseuse was amazing and very relaxing and i wish i could stay for longer

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

Delighted that you so enjoyed your stay with us. Congeniality is the hallmark of the Nungubane experience and we look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2024 via mobile

We had an amazing time here at Nungubane lodge. Great location for game viewing in the reserve. Game rangers were very insightful and knowledgable. Learnt a lot of interesting facts and felt very well looked after. Saw exciting viewings of lions and elephants. Fantastic staff members who were all very friendly, helpful and look after their guests well. Wonderful beds that sleep comfortably and cozy towels. Lovely prepared food with good portions and tasty desserts. Good value for money. Thank you for the wonderful experience Nungubane.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our game drives were informative and eventful. We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

From The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2024

We had an unforgettable 2 days at the lodge with family and received the warmest hospitality from the lodge team. Nothing was too much trouble and the boma birthday dinner and singing was fabulous ! Keegan's knowledge is incredible and he made the bush experience unforgettable for young and old alike. Thank you Kyra, Keegan, Marcel and the entire team ! Brilliant memories are going back to Canada !

Room tip: A short rough patch of road to the gate. Ensure tyres are in good condition.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roving19266792469
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

Congeniality is the hallmark of the Nungubane experience and we are so pleased that your stay with us was a memorable one.

The Nungubane Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2024

A big thank you to Keegan, Kyra and ALL the Nungubane family for another amazing stay. The friendliness and hospitality of all the staff, whatever their role, made for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The game drives were superb with an abundance of up close sightings, only surpassed by Keegan’s passion, enthusiasm and energy to get you the best out of every game drive. Thanks to you all.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Goodeevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

Delighted that your return stay with us met with all your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2024

Amazing hol, fantastic lodge and staff that really go above and beyond.
Game drives with Keegan are great, very knowledgeable at tracking and finding the animals.
All meals were delicious, with lovely snacks and drinks on the game drives to keep you going.
Birthday cake, bubbles and singing made in the perfect treat.
Will return !

Room tip: Small intimate lodge
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2024

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Nungubane experience exceeded your expectations. Com back soon.

From The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews