We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Heather B
Bordon, United Kingdom

Amazing luxury break in the middle of no where

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Mar 2024
Amazing hol, fantastic lodge and staff that really go above and beyond.
Game drives with Keegan are great, very knowledgeable at tracking and finding the animals.
All meals were delicious, with lovely snacks and drinks on the game drives to keep you going.
Birthday cake, bubbles and singing made in the perfect treat.
Will return !
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Small intimate lodge
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 14 Mar 2024
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Nungubane experience exceeded your expectations. Com back soon.

From The Nungubane Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 19 190
R 17 315
  • Hotels.com
    R 19 040
  • Expedia.com
    R 19 040
  • Priceline
    R 19 190
4.7 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 15 070
  • Expedia.com
    R 15 077
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 13 670
  • Hotels.com
    R 15 077
7.4 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
R 18 662
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 18 662
  • Trip.com
    R 13 043
  • Booking.com
    R 14 562
14.7 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 11 668
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 12 500
  • Agoda.com
    R 9 338
  • Hotels.com
    R 12 500
9.4 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 16 100
  • Trip.com
    R 15 723
  • Priceline
4.6 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
R 15 400
R 15 070
  • Expedia.com
    R 15 400
  • Hotels.com
    R 15 400
  • Priceline
    R 15 070
30.6 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 11 840
  • Hotels.com
    R 10 704
  • Expedia.com
    R 10 704
  • Tripadvisor
    R 10 704
9.5 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 061
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 181
  • Agoda.com
    R 959
  • Official Hotel
    R 1 125
8.0 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Restaurant
R 7 769
  • Hotels.com
    R 8 409
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 793
  • Priceline
    R 7 769
15.0 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Matingwe Lodge
R 5 000
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 5 000
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 000
  • eDreams
    R 5 000
15.0 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
269
24
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
269
24
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game lodge the reserve other guests manager chris friendly team wonderful place to visit memorable stay after dark great knowledge attention to detail excellent food home away from home our room was spacious private deck south africa two night stay african bush
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2024

What a memorable weekend.
From the moment off pickup to drop-off your expectations are exceeded this place is situated deep in the heart of the bushveld. The friendliness and attention to detail from all the staff is incredible. Never felt this welcome and spoiled in one weekend. Animal sightings was great and we learned a lot from Keegan.
The rooms are spotless clean and the view from the deck incredible. Chef spoiled us too much, and Kyra's made us feel like family. This is a true gem in the bush. I left a piece of my heart

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sherpa39793311178
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2024

Thank you for sharing the wonderful moments that you experienced with us. A home from home is what Nungubane is all about and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

From The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2024

What a awesome experience most friendly staff. Keegan and Kyra the managers are the best . They treated us like family. The food was delicious , the game drives was the highlight of the weekend with stunning sightings. We will defenitly revisit in the future.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NorthStar50193879766
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2024

Hi. Thankyou for sharing your experiences with us. Congeniality is what we pride ourselves on and look forward to seeing you again soon.

From The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2024

We had the most amazing time. Beautiful lodge, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and spotless clean. The food was excellent. The game drives was the highlight of the weekend. Thank you Keegan and Kyra for looking after us, spoiling us, and all your attention to the smallest detail. You made our stay so special. Thank you for your hospitality. We will definitely visit again.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Inspire10970133395
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2024

We are so pleased that you had such an amazing time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the the too distant future.

Warm Regards

The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2024

It was an absolutely amazing stay! Keagen and Kyra who manage the Lodge are amazing, and all the staff are very friendly and efficient. They all ensured that our stay was absolutely wonderful. We were there for our 25th wedding anniversary and were totally spoilt from arrival to when we left. The views are incredible. The rooms are beautiful and have superb views! The game drives with the guide Bertus van Zyl was excellent and we learnt so many things from him. We went out early mornings and late afternoons. Superb! The food was incredibly tasty as well and left us looking forward to the next meal! On our last night they made the most romantic setting in our room along with a private supper and a beautiful letter which we have kept as a wonderful memory of our time there. It was amazing! I highly recommend going there and hope to go back soon.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DominiqueB_7072
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2024

It was wonderful to host you on your 25th wedding anniversary and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2024

Stayed 3 nights and from the moment Keegan picked us up, we were absolutely blown away. Every single element of this experience was above and beyond what we had imagined. The warm welcome and continued hospitality, the attention to detail, the beautiful lodge and rooms, the food, and the little surprises every day made this trip a true highlight. Keegan, Kyra, Monique and all of the staff were exceptional. The game drives were brilliant and made so special due to Keegans encyclopaedic knowledge! We saw so many animals and beautiful scenery. We cannot recommend Nungubane highly enough. Book and you will not regret it!!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

We are so pleased that the time spent with us was so special and that you thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

From The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews