We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hannah M

Perfection!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Jan 2024
Stayed 3 nights and from the moment Keegan picked us up, we were absolutely blown away. Every single element of this experience was above and beyond what we had imagined. The warm welcome and continued hospitality, the attention to detail, the beautiful lodge and rooms, the food, and the little surprises every day made this trip a true highlight. Keegan, Kyra, Monique and all of the staff were exceptional. The game drives were brilliant and made so special due to Keegans encyclopaedic knowledge! We saw so many animals and beautiful scenery. We cannot recommend Nungubane highly enough. Book and you will not regret it!!
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 29 Jan 2024
We are so pleased that the time spent with us was so special and that you thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

From The Nungubane Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 18 290
R 16 640
  • Expedia.com
    R 18 288
  • Hotels.com
    R 18 290
  • eDreams
    R 16 640
4.7 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 15 070
  • Expedia.com
    R 13 891
  • Hotels.com
    R 13 893
  • Priceline
    R 15 070
7.4 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
R 10 388
  • Expedia.com
    R 11 450
  • Vio.com
    R 8 935
  • Hotels.com
    R 11 451
14.7 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 12 122
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 11 249
  • Agoda.com
    R 9 338
  • Hotels.com
    R 11 250
9.4 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 11 840
  • Expedia.com
    R 11 746
  • Agoda.com
    R 8 844
  • Hotels.com
    R 11 734
9.5 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 076
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 143
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 005
  • Official Hotel
    R 1 146
8.0 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Restaurant
R 8 407
R 7 767
  • Hotels.com
    R 8 407
  • Expedia.com
    R 8 406
  • Priceline
    R 7 767
15.0 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Matingwe Lodge
R 5 000
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 5 000
  • eDreams
    R 5 000
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 000
15.0 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
270
24
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
270
24
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game lodge the reserve other guests manager chris friendly team wonderful place to visit memorable stay after dark great knowledge attention to detail excellent food home away from home our room was spacious private deck south africa two night stay african bush
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2024

I am not someone that usually would leave a review but the Nungubane Family were exceptional in every respect.
Never have I experienced the perfect balance between ultimate professionalism and top shelf service. This applies to every individual that we dealt with. Nothing of our experience was “usual” from the warm uniquely African welcome to the everyday tailor made adjustments to our experience.
I have been on many safari trips through both provincial and national parks, none came close to Nungubane and Keagan!
I learned so much about the bush and the animals that I never knew. It was refreshing to have a guide that was truly connected with the “total bush” paying attention and having deep knowledge of every aspect from the big 5 through to birds, dung beetles and plants - absolutely refreshing.
If you choose to visit Nungubane, be sure to spen 90 minutes with Anne and her hot stones (massage) she is a wizard!
I can’t find fault with any aspect of our visit (and I am critical in this sense).
If there was just one improvement that I might Suggs it would be to have a pair of binoculars allocated to each chalet for overseas traveler’s who might not have their own (but this too was accommodated for us).
Thank you Nungubane Family - I hope that we can visit with you again.
Warm regards
Andre de Wet

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Flyer15601979542
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2024

Hi Andre.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review - greatly appreciated. We are so pleased that your stay with us exceeded your expectations is so many ways and that you thoroughly enjoyed the many experiences that Nungubane offered.. We certainly look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

From The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2024

Wow, what can I say! My husband and I had the best experience ever. Keegan, Kyra, Monique and all the other staff were incredible, we felt so spoiled. The food was delicious (they made special vegan options available too), the accommodation was beautiful, the game drives amazing with Keegan’s incredible knowledge of animals, plants, birds and insects. They also arranged a romantic dinner for our anniversary:). We are already missing the bush and the staff, it truly feels like they are family! We will definitely be back as soon as we can. Thanks guys! Hope to see you very soon again!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Trip13460138820
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2024

We are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us - yes congeniality is the hallmark of the Nungubane experience and we look forward seeing you again in the not too distant future.

From The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2024

A wonderful, beyond imaginations stay at the Nungubane Game Lodge, Welgevonden Game Reserve, South Africa over Christmas. We highly recommend this lodge. It was definitely well worth the long journey from Finland. Great food, super lodging and lovely staff that made us feel like home. It would have been worth it for this only but we came for the game drives and that was incredible too. Very good and entertaining guides with knowledge of the animals and the nature that made the viewing of the animals an experience we will never forget. Thank you so much for making our stay special. BTW we spotted all big 5 and many, many more.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FinnishTraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2024

Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent visit to Nungubane Game Lodge. We are so pleased that your visit met with all your expectations and that your experiences will be long remembered. We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

From the Nungubane Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2023

We went to Nungubane Game Lodge for my husband's 50th...what an amazing experience!! Keegan, Kyra, Monique and staff, went out of their way to make our stay unforgettable!! One incredible place, amazing food, awesome ambience and staff!! Keegan went out of his way to make every game drive an unforgettable experience. We have zero complaints and will defenitely be back soon. Cheers Ngubane, Ngiyabonga kakhulu!!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elsa - Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2023

We are so pleased that your stay with us met with your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

From The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2023

Very nice stay. Food was great, location and park are stunning and our guide Keegan and his wife made our stay wonderful. Keegan was very knowledgeable about the animal and plants and shared with us a lot of insight. Thank you !

Room tip: The drinks are excluded. We though it was included.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hugo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2023

Hi Hugo

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

From The Nungubane Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews