We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hugo P

Great experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Nov 2023
Very nice stay. Food was great, location and park are stunning and our guide Keegan and his wife made our stay wonderful. Keegan was very knowledgeable about the animal and plants and shared with us a lot of insight. Thank you !
Date of stay: November 2023
Room Tip: The drinks are excluded. We though it was included.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 05 Dec 2023
Hi Hugo

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

From The Nungubane Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 15 077
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
    R 15 070
  • Priceline
7.4 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
R 16 100
No prepayment needed
  • Trip.com
  • Priceline
4.6 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
R 10 272
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 10 272
  • Agoda.com
    R 9 011
  • Booking.com
9.4 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 15 400
R 15 070
  • Hotels.com
    R 15 400
  • Expedia.com
    R 15 400
  • Priceline
30.6 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Prestigia.com
  • Vio.com
5.0 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Hotels.com
3.7 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 17 355
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 14 668
  • Booking.com
    R 16 631
4.7 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 32 833
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
8.0 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
8.2 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
269
24
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
269
24
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game lodge the reserve other guests manager chris friendly team wonderful place to visit memorable stay after dark great knowledge attention to detail excellent food home away from home our room was spacious private deck south africa two night stay african bush
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2023

Staff was superb and very friendly and very welcoming. Food was fantastic. The guide was exceptional and game drives very good. Rooms spacious and comfy and bathrooms was great with a large tub and outside shower.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Trail28620230610
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2023

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

From the Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2023

It has taken me ages to settle down and write this review because for a long time after we returned home from this trip, we found it difficult to find the words that would fully encompass just how special this place is and just what a magical time we had there. We were made to feel really welcome from the moment that we arrived. Keegan welcomed us at the gate and it was clear to us from the moment we got into his truck that he was a guide that knew his stuff! His enthusiasm, humility and extraordinary knowledge meant that every drive was a really exciting adventure. We are so grateful to him for the wonderful energy that her brought to our drives; obviously the safari experience is a big part of the trip and we were not disappointed. The lodge is comfortable, welcoming, spotlessly clean and really well equipped. Kyra made us feel at home instantly and it is a wonder we were able to fit in the truck to head home after all the excellent food they provided us with; fresh, home cooked and made with love, we were incredibly well looked after. The team at Nungubane worked incredibly hard to ensure that our stay was perfect. They are friendly, helpful and exceptionally good at what they do. We cannot thank this special team enough for making it such a wonderful holiday. We can't wait to go back!

Room tip: We went in September and had lovely weather but the morning drives could be a bit chilly. Hats and thick socks helped!
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cassie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2023

We are so glad that your stay with us met with all your expectations. Congeniality is the hallmark of the Nungubane experience and we were so happy to share that with you. Come back soon.

From the Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2023 via mobile

Absolutely magical from beginning to end!
On arrival, meeting the whole team..... everybody welcomed us with open arms! Accomodation was spacious, clean and the food was absolutly great. The staff was so friendly and can't do enough to assist us. Keegan took us on 4 game drives. All info was extremely knowledgeable, with amazing animal sightings!
Thank you for picking up on all the small details, to make our trip even more special!
We had an exeptional stay at the Loge!
a Special thanks to Kyra for exceptional service, always in a friendly manner. We can highly reccomend Nungubana Game Lodge!! Thanks agian to an absolutly amazing experience!

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Yolande F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2023

Hi Yolande. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards

The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2023

This was our first safari and Nungubane was recommended to us by our friends, and it didn’t disappoint.
Our guide Keegan was very knowledgeable and his easy manner helped make our 3 day stay a fabulous adventure. With Kyra running front of house they certainly make a perfect duo. The staff were so attentive and the food was delicious, also their singing was a joy to listen to.

We seen lions, elephants, giraffes, rhinos, buffalo and so much more.

We would highly recommend this wonderful lodge.

Graham & Janet

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Graham Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2023

Hi Graham & Janet. So pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely hope to see you again sometime soon.

The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2023

We spent 3 nights at the wonderful Nungubane Game Lodge and the experience was exceptional.

Keegan, Kyra and their team were perfect hosts.and their knowledge charm and enthusiasm helped make this an unforgettable experience.

The game drives were amazing and Keegans knowledge of the reserve and the animals and plant life was encyclopedic. He tracked and found game that gave us some wonderful experiences and memories that will last a lifetime. He asked us what we wanted to see, and then found it for us.

Kyra and the team looked after our every need and the accommodation itself was wonderful. The food, lodges, staff and environment all contributed to a great holiday.

I would recommend Nungubane to anyone looking for a memorable game drive experience with perfect hosts and team

Bill B

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank R3444DXbillb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2023

Hi Bill. We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful time at the Lodge and we certainly enjoyed hosting you. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews