We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sarah F
Leeds, United Kingdom

A fabulous stay!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Mar 2023via mobile
From the beautiful musical welcome, to the fabulous food, attention to detail and knowledgeable staff, we couldn't have asked for a more memorable stay at Nungubane Lodge.

The accomodation is absolutely stunning, perfectly clean and the views over the bush including elephants from our balcony were mesmerising.

The food is fresh, fabulous quality and delicious and you could tell how much care and effort had gone into every dish.

Our game drives with Keegan were always fascinating. We saw so many rhinos, lions, wildebeest and many more. When the big five weren't around we learnt about the birds and plants instead. Keegan's knowledge, stories and evident passion for the bush makes him a fabulous guide.

All of the staff really went above and beyond and we were genuinely sad to say good bye. We can't wait to recommend this special place to all of our family and friends. Thank you Nungubane!
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 29 Mar 2023
Thank you for your wonderful feedback - we are delighted that your stay with us exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming your friends and family to Nungubane in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards from the Nungubane Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 19 002
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 19 002
4.7 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 13 866
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 13 866
7.4 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
R 13 535
R 11 359
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 11 359
14.7 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 11 015
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 11 015
9.4 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
5.0 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
3.7 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
269
24
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
269
24
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game lodge the reserve other guests manager chris friendly team wonderful place to visit memorable stay after dark great knowledge attention to detail excellent food home away from home our room was spacious private deck south africa two night stay african bush
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2023

Incredible stay with the best hosts: Annoushka (super cheerful&energetic), Ranger Bertus (massive knowledge from animals to plants to stars) & the rest of the awesome crew! Super nice, attentive, fun, helpful, generous, smart & casual staff. Delicious food (you will for sure not starve, maybe need a diet after:)).It was a beautiful get away with long lasting memories! PS: it is very private so only 5 cottages/ 10 people. Highly recommended!!!

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ginag532
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2023

Thank you for taking the time to post a review - we greatly appreciate it. We are delighted that your stay with us exceeded your expectations and trust that we will see you again in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards

The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2022

I am late writing this but that is by no means a reflection of the experience we had which was just incredible. We were with young kids and older relatives (TripAdvisor didn’t offer me that option - only teens) and Chris, Keegan and the team went out of their way to make it the most memorable experience for all. Sightings were just incredible (and close - but always safe!) and have left a lasting mark on the kids with my eldest calling Nungubane his favourite place in the world (and he’s well travelled!). Thank you to all for a truly magical trip - we will be back.

Date of stay: August 2022
Thank Voyage02452048782
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2023

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful time with the Nungubane Team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2022

We had an amazing time with Annouchka on our game drives, she is the best! Nungabane is a beautiful lodge, and the staff go out of their way to make it fantastic. But de driver/ranger is the one with whom you spend your days, and Annouchka is the one you want to spend your days with! Humor, knowledge, perseverance and she knows all the places to be!
I would love to go back soon!

Room tip: Just ask, they will make it happen
Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mirjam d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2022

Hi Mirjam

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful time with Annouchka and the Team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2022

My partner and I have travelled extensively national and internationally, but I have never experienced a better , personal bush breakaway like Nungubane. The staff were on point 100% of the time, from the most incredible 5 star breakfasts, lunches and dinners to cocktail specialities. The bush is filled with animals comfortable enough to walk right up to the game drive vehicle, with our guide (Keegan) sharing his extensive knowledge about the bush and its residents. Enjoy the most beautiful sunrises and sunsets, either in the bush or in your very own private villas. Special shout out to Keegan and Kyra with a phenomenal team. Always there, always smiling. I will most definitely be back, and we are bringing friends. Much love for Nungubane.

Room tip: Our photos are available on Instagram and Facebook @Nungubane
Date of stay: October 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Labuschne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2022

We really appreciate you taking the time to post your review and highlight the wonderful experiences that you had with Keegan and the Team. It was a pleasure having you as our Guests and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back soon.
Warm regards from The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2022 via mobile

You showed us what true joy and fun looks like again after a very difficult and challenging time at home. Chris and Anouschka are awesome hosts, we felt welcomed the minute we arrived, had some amazing sightings with the best guide ever and to top everything off the food was marvellous. The staff was super friendly and everyone makes such a great team. The rooms were very cozy, the view was stunning and the overall atmosphere was nice and relaxing. We definetly plan on coming back (for longer than two nights hopefully haha). For sure the best place to start an unforgettable holiday in South Africa and we hope to see all of you again soon!

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank FamilyGottschling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2022

Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experiences with the Nungubane Team.. Hospitality is the hallmark of the Nungubane experience and we are so pleased that your stay with us exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards

The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews