We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Meg

The Best Safari Experience in SA!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 07 Apr 2021
Nungubane lodge ticked every single box!

We stayed at the lodge over the Easter weekend (4 nights) and from the hospitality, the incredible food selection, the game drives and the beautiful atmosphere that was created, we give them 5 stars +.
The rooms are big and well equipped with everything that you need with a king size bed to rest on every night.

The food is at least a two-course meal for breakfast and lunch and dinner with a three-course meal. There was a variety of dishes at every meal which suited everyone’s palette (even for the fussy eaters, they were satisfied).

Whilst in our quiet time, we lazed around by the beautiful pool side with some drinks which the bar was well stocked with.

Annouchka kept us well entertained and informed on our game drives. With her vast knowledge of the animals, the terrain and plants, we felt that we really had one of the BEST rangers that we have ever experienced. She made our trip so worthwhile by getting the best views of lion, rhino, elephant, buffalo and more.

We even had a romantic setup dinner under the stars - which just made our weekend celebration that more special!

The way the lodge is managed by Chris and his staff is such a treat and we left making not only memories but great friendships too!

Thank you to the great team at Nungubane lodge, we hope to visit soon enough and book out the whole lodge with the family :)
Date of stay: April 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 08 Apr 2021
We are delighted that you had such an amazing experience and memorable time with us. Congeniality is the hallmark of Nungubane experience and our motto is : " A home from home "
The Team looks forward to "welcoming you back home " in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards from The Nungubane Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.0 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.7 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 14 742
  • Booking.com
4.7 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
7.4 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
8.2 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 11 215
  • Booking.com
9.4 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
269
24
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
269
24
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game lodge the reserve other guests manager chris friendly team wonderful place to visit memorable stay after dark great knowledge attention to detail excellent food home away from home our room was spacious private deck south africa two night stay african bush
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2021

Our stay at Nungubane was phenomenal, Chris and his staff took great care of us. They were warm, thoughtful and welcoming every step of the way. They provided professional and bespoke service.

They even put on a surprise romantic dinner for us which was really special.

The food was so amazing🤤.

The facilities and room were clean (we have OCD when it comes to cleanliness) and the views from the room were so lovely. Very tranquil escape.

We thoroughly enjoyed the game drives - of the big five we managed to see rhino, lions and elephants 😄.

Rating 5/5.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank VenusAug
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2021

Hi V

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that it met with all your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards

The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2021 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed a fabulous weekend at Nungubane. From the moment we were greeted at the gate, they were true to their 'home from home' philosophy. The small staff are friendly and attentive. I loved the game drives, the food, the room, the views. They even put on a surprise romantic dinner for us which was really special. We loved the idea of eating with the other guests, and if that's not your thing you're welcome to ask for your own space. Thank you Chris and the team for an unforgettable experience!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank suedL5827NN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2021

We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful experience and memorable weekend at the Lodge. Yes we endeavor to live up to our motto : " A home from home "
We really look forward to "welcoming you home " in the not too distant future.

From The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2021

My husband and I visited the lodge for 3 nights in January 2021. Chris and Annouschka gave everything of themselves to make sure our trip was what we had hoped for; so personalized and it made us feel like home. Annouschka is the guide for the game drives. She is super attentive, enthusiastic and filled with so much knowledge about the reserve and the animals. She is so humble with the animals and instinctively knows how to be with them. This ensures us the best animal sitings ever. I was so happy not to drive around like crazy chasing animals. The scenery was so stunning and deserved to be taken in. Both of them also are very serious about safety measures in a relaxed way. We felt truly held and safe...a home away from home. A truly unforgettable experience. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU.

Room tip: All chalets are wonderfully situated.
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rosetN7116OP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and wonderful experiences that you had during your recent visit to our Lodge. It was a pleasure having you as our Guests and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Warm regards from The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2020

My husband and I stayed at Nungubane 2 weeks ago, and we had the best time. All the staff were so attentive, considerate, and super friendly - they went above and beyond to make us feel at home. Our room was clean and spacious and the size of the resort felt incredibly private and intimate. We also had amazing game sitings in Welgevonden, which was a bonus!!

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y3169EBmichelleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2020

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that it met with all your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards

The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2020

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Nungubane at the end of November. The property has a spectacular setting. The room was large and comfortable. The outside deck was a great place to relax. We were warmly welcomed by the team. Hein ensured that we had great sightings on our game drives. Nikki was always willing to please and went out of her way to ensure our comfort. Meriam prepared great meals. Thanks to the team for a memorable stay.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1 472 992
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2020

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experiences. The hallmark of the Nungubane experience is congeniality and we are so pleased that your stay with us was a memorable one.. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

From The Nungubane Game Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews