We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Theo

Home away from home

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 01 Dec 2020via mobile
We arrived at Nungubane to the warmest welcome from the staff. The whole team was friendly and made us feel at home. The lodge has beautiful views of the Waterberge. The entire experience was great from start to finish.
Thanks to the team for looking after us and going the extra mile.

Can't wait to visit again.
Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 02 Dec 2020
Dear Theo

Thank you for taking the time to share your short vacation experience with the Nungubane Team.. Hospitality is the foundation of the Nungubane experience and we are so glad that your stay with us met with your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

From the Nungubane Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 18 290
R 16 640
  • Expedia.com
    R 18 288
  • Hotels.com
    R 18 290
  • Priceline
4.7 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 20 697
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 20 700
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
8.0 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 16 304
R 15 070
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 15 400
  • Expedia.com
    R 15 398
7.4 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
R 11 831
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 10 664
  • Expedia.com
    R 13 270
14.7 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 12 122
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 9 338
  • Expedia.com
    R 11 249
9.4 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 15 400
R 15 070
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 15 400
  • Expedia.com
    R 15 398
30.6 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
5.0 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
3.7 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
8.2 km from Nungubane Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
270
24
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
270
24
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game lodge the reserve other guests manager chris friendly team wonderful place to visit memorable stay after dark great knowledge attention to detail excellent food home away from home our room was spacious private deck south africa two night stay african bush
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2020

My wife and myself spent 2 nights at Nungubane lodge.
This was truly a unique experience.
The manager Chris and our guide Anushka made us feel very special and went the extra mile to help make our experience unforgettable.
The staff were all super friendly and helpful.
Also a special thanks to Lilly the chef and Ann, they made sure we were spoiled and fed.
The food was also superb.
The game drives with Anushka were exciting and we had very nice sightings.
All in all it was a memorable experience, we made new friends and will not hesitate to recommend Nungubane lodge to anyone contemplating a visit to Welgevonden.

Room tip: There are only a few rooms, and they all have nice views over the bush
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert_Sable
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2020

Dear Robert

Thank you very much for such a great review. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experiences with us following upon your recent visit to the Lodge. We were thrilled to have you as our Guests and your kind words mean the world to us and the Nungubane Team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant.

The Nungubane Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2020

We have just returned from Nungubane Lodge. This lodge is run by the most fantastic couple....Hein and Nikki are so hospitable and nothing is too much for them to handle...including a massive storm! The attention to detail is insurmountable. The rooms are spotless and the bed is very comfortable. Delicious home cooked meals. Informative game drives and an exquisite setting make Nungubane Lodge an excellent choice for a weekend in Welgevonden....you will find it hard to find something to fault. Thank you for a very happy experience.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Meander305654
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2020

We are thrilled that your time with us was so amazing. We endeavor to go above and beyond to ensure all our our Guests have a memorable experience (including severe thunderstorms !!). We look forward to hosting you again soon for another fantastic experience.

Warm Regards

The Nungubane Game Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2020

Nungubane is a small lodge that is professional, but friendly and relaxed at the same time. The rooms were lovely and cool with the fluffiest towels and the nougat with turn down service was a special touch. The meals were delicious and there was certainly no shortage of food, even with a hungry teenager. Our compliments to the chef Meriam and her team. The lodge has a hide, a sala for relaxing with a book and a very inviting swimming pool area. The host, Nicky, looked after us from the moment we arrived and nothing was too much trouble. Our game ranger Hein, was extremely knowledgable and an excellent driver and is a huge asset to the lodge.
The whole team made our stay extremely enjoyable and relaxing and we would not hesitate to recommend this lodge to future travellers.

Date of stay: October 2020
2  Thank lovetotravelZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2020

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences and that your visit to our Lodge met with your expectations. Come back and see us soon

From The Nungubane Game Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2020 via mobile

We were 3 couples and spent 3 spectacular nights at the lodge. From our arrival to our departure there was not a moment we didn't feel like the whole lodge revolved around us. The service was exceptional as was the food.

Our taste buds were spoilt by Miriam and her very competent kitchen team including a starry "braai" in the Boma.

We had Anuschka as our guide and she VERY knowledgeable and friendly with a decent dose of humor.

The only sad part was our departure.

To Chris and his team, we hope to see you again soon!!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank xenephin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

Hospitality is the hallmark of the Nungubane experience and we are so pleased to have been able to share this with you along with Meriam's culinary delights.

Till next time

From The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2020

We had an amazing experience at Nungubane Lodge. The lodge is small and intimate and at a great location in Welgevonden Reserve. Annouchka was our guide and it was one of the best guides we have experienced at any game reserve. Her knowledge is unparalleled and she went out of her way to take us on a different game drive route every day. We were spoilt with amazing game sightings, most of them close to our vehicle. The Welgevonden Reserve is also extremely beautiful with all the game in prime condition and not scared of game drive vehicles. The reserve takes the management of the game and environment very seriously. All the Nungubane staff were so friendly and no special request went unanswered. They went out of their way to make our stay special. The lodge experience is top class but unintimidating and it feels like coming home. We will definitely go back and recommend it to anyone wanting to experience the bushveld.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sarettev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

We are so pleased that you had such an amazing experience and memorable time at Nungubane Game Lodge - our motto is :
" A home from home "
We look forward to "welcoming you home " soon

From The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews