We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Peachman_travel

Worth the trip

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Mar 2023via mobile
Amazing place, service was 6 star, food was outstanding, rooms were fantastic. Highly recommended.
The staff went above and beyond our special requests.
The food quality was above or equal to any top restaurants in SA. The game viewing was great and the park is very well maintained.
Date of stay: March 2023
Room Tip: Great for couples, amazing rooms
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence The Residence, Owner at Ndlovu Safari Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 22 Mar 2023
Thank you so much for your review and feedback, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Camp Ndlovu. Wishing you all the very best and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
11.8 km from Ndlovu Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 12 741
  • Hotels.com
    R 11 381
  • Trip.com
10.5 km from Ndlovu Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 17 315
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 14 962
  • Hotels.com
    R 19 040
16.4 km from Ndlovu Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 15 070
  • Hotels.com
    R 13 893
  • Priceline
14.9 km from Ndlovu Safari Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 12 001
  • Agoda.com
    R 9 011
  • Hotels.com
    R 11 031
12.9 km from Ndlovu Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
17.2 km from Ndlovu Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 15 458
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
14.8 km from Ndlovu Safari Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
87
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
87
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attention to detail main gate the general manager bubble bath game drives piece of heaven sense of humour food was fantastic impeccable service every evening wonderful weekend welgevonden reserve an amazing experience amazing lodge spent nights game lodge jack
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2023 via mobile

A escape from everything. Impeccable service luxury in the Bush. From the food to service to the amazing animals what a escape and true African Bush experience.
Steven our game driver guide was amazing . Sanet and team at the lodge equally amazing highly recommended .
Saw the big five and had unforgettable memories.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank islandseekersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence The Residence, Owner at Ndlovu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2023

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your bush experience with us at Camp Ndlovu. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you once again, and all the very best from the Camp Ndlovu team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2023 via mobile

What an amazing way to start the new year. Camp Ndlovu is everything it promises to be and then some. We were greeted by the manager standing in for Sanet, Moses, who was professional and friendly at all times. He went out of his way to make us feel as though the Camp belonged to us and to make our stay as comfortable as possible. It was a pleasure to be greeted by his smiling face every morning, and his energy and laughter were infectious.
The rooms were beautiful, and ours, room number 5, had a gorgeous view of the river and trees. It was such an experience to swim and watch the wildlife come to the river to drink while never having to leave the privacy of our room. But most impressive was the cleanliness of the rooms. They were impeccably clean. Thank you to the ladies who cleaned them every day for us.
Our meals were all delicious and beautifully prepared by Chef Lawrence. The best of all were the breakfasts, and next time we visit, we will definitely take him up on his offer of breakfast served on a game drive. The dinner served in the boma will always be remembered for the delicious smokey lamb.
Clifford and Jack made sure we were served our meals and drinks with a smile and Clifford will be remembered for his delightful sense of humour and agreeable manner. Thank you Clifford for making sure we got back to our room safely every night.
And lastly a huge thank you to our guide, April. He has a vast knowledge of every bird, plant, insect and animal in the game reserve. April is able to answer any question when asked and each question is answered in the same calm and measured way. He has an enormous love for the animals and nature in the area. I already miss his Bush coffee that he prepared for us on the morning game drives.
We had an incredible holiday, made so special by the extraordinary people who work at Camp Ndlovu. Thank you all of you, we left already making plans for a return visit

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Trip15777951426
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence The Residence, Owner at Ndlovu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2023

Thank you so much for your review and feedback, we really appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you back some day in the near future. From all of us here at Camp Ndlovu, we would like to thank you once again, and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2022

If their are angels in our world, then we certainly met one - STEVEN our guide! Camp Ndlovu is beautiful, inspiring and right in the middle of raw nature at the edge of a stream. We spent 3 nights at Camp Ndlovu which was just the right amount of time. The lodge is small (5 lodges) and so guests are treated like family with all the staff attending to you all the time whether with food, drinks, or just a chat. Our server Clifford could not do enough for us whether we ate inside or on the terrace and always offered inspiring thoughts on his life. The 2 chefs are amazing and always came to see us during and after our meal to make sure everything was good. Now back to Steven our guide: Steven took us on game drives early morning and late afternoon. He spared no effort to find the Big 5. He has eyes like an eagle and will spot animals that most of us would not see. He is an inspiring, humble, smart, kind family man! If you can you should request (demand!) that Steven be your guide. What made Camp Ndlovu so special was that it was family owned and run so make sure nothing has changed if you book a stay here. Ohhh, and ask for Steven to be your Guide!!

Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence The Residence, Owner at Ndlovu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2022

Thank you so much for your review and feedback, it means so much to us to hear that you enjoy our experience with us. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day. Thank you once again and all the very best from the Camp Ndlovu team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2022

Camp Ndlovu is a truly exceptional place. Nestled in the Welgevonden Reserve it offers spectacular game viewing and outstanding accommodation, food and service. We had multiple close sightings of 4 of the big 5, as well as cheetah, giraffe and many other species of animals and birds. The waterhole at the camp provides daily close up viewing of elephants and many other animals. The suites were spacious, stylish, very comfortable and well appointed. The staff were extremely attentive, friendly and thoughtful and the food was consistently outstanding. I very much look forward to visiting again soon.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wendybF2335UW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence The Residence, Owner at Ndlovu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2022

Thank you so much for your amazing review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us at Camp Ndlovu. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you once again and all the very best from the Ndlovu team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2022

What an amazing experience!!!
When I say everything was perfect, I mean everything was perfect cannot fault a thing. The chef is first class and the food, OMW delicious!!!. The game drives were straight out of a magazine :) . This lodge goes above and beyond to make sure you are comfortable at all times. Little touches like running a bubble bath every evening when you get back from your game drive was just the best experience ever!!! A BIG Thank You to Sanet, April and ther team, what a great weekend. Will go back in a heart beat.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BelindaA419
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence The Residence, Owner at Ndlovu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2022

Thank you so much for your amazing review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Camp Ndlovu, it was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you once again and all the very best from the Camp Ndlovu team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews