We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Shannon S

A true gem!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Jun 2021via mobile
My husband and I stayed at Camp Ndlovu for 3 nights and it completely exceeded our expectations!

From the minute we arrived at the main gate at Welgevonden, we were met by our amazing guide April, who set up a wonderful drink and snack station for us to enjoy. This was such a special touch and the only lodge who did it for their guests.

We then had a wonderful hour drive to the lodge, where we were met by all staff members, singing and playing the drums. We were led out onto the balcony where an Ellie was peacefully enjoying a drink at the river, while we received a bottle of bubbly to enjoy and a delicious lunch.

Our room was exceptional - room with a view, private pool, outdoor bath & shower, delicious snacks and a minibar. Always cleaned and maintained during our stay, with a bubble bath run every night as we got home from our evening drive.

The lodge is intimate and the General Manager, Sanet, ensures that you are treated like royalty during your stay. She really ensures that they pull out all the stops to make your stay even that more memorable. It was my husbands birthday and while on an evening game drive we were treated to a surprise sunset drink stop with a special birthday cake.

The lodge has a gym if you wish to do some exercise, as well as a Spa to get pampered.

Special thanks to Sanet and her amazing team - Jack who looked after us, Ezekiel, Zack, chef Nicholas (his food is insanely good!), our guide April who was so knowledgable, and the wonderful ladies who kept everything so clean.

This is a true gem of a lodge that will offer you the privacy and intimacy you deserve! We will definitely be back.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence The Residence, Owner at Ndlovu Safari Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 21 Jun 2021
Thank you so much for your amazing review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Camp Ndlovu. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you once again and all the very best from the Camp Ndlovu team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
11.8 km from Ndlovu Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
14.0 km from Ndlovu Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 14 742
  • Expedia.com
    R 19 118
16.4 km from Ndlovu Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 32 967
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
18.0 km from Ndlovu Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 13 677
  • Booking.com
14.9 km from Ndlovu Safari Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
17.2 km from Ndlovu Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 11 215
R 10 048
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
12.9 km from Ndlovu Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 15 463
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
21.3 km from Ndlovu Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
87
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
87
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attention to detail main gate the general manager bubble bath game drives piece of heaven sense of humour food was fantastic impeccable service every evening wonderful weekend welgevonden reserve an amazing experience amazing lodge spent nights game lodge jack
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2021

We have had other safari experiences, but this was enhanced by its overall ease. Ndlovu is a mere 2 1/2 hour drive from its sister property, The Residence in Johannesburg, and arranged by them. It matches the Residence in its elegance and its attention to detail. Our guide, April, was so knowledgeable, charming, flexible--the best. We saw and learned so much, relaxed and ate such wonderful food; it was perfect! All staff, starting with manager Sanet, are warm, friendly, and attentive. Now our goal is to return with our daughter and family to give them an experience that will go way beyond a Disney trip!

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Reesie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence The Residence, Owner at Ndlovu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

Thank you so much for your amazing review, we really appreciate it, and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Camp Ndlovu. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay at our properties in the portfolio and look forward to welcoming you back again some day in the near future. Keep well and all the very best from the Camp Ndlovu team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2021 via mobile

My mom turned 65 in April and we were looking for a special bush break away to visit for the occasion.
I had heard about Camp Ndlovu through a family we met at another game lodge, and wow it did not disappoint!

The camp really puts glam into the bush experience - sparkling wine as you arrive and some amazing 3 course meals.
Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and could talk with enthusiasm on all the plants and animals, and the staff so helpful and kind. No ask too big for them!
Then to top it all off they arranged a surprise very glamorous set up in the bush with drinks, cake and snacks for my mom’s birthday celebration. It looked like a wedding! Truely beautiful.

Thank you Camp Ndlovu and all the amazing staff, we will definitely be back.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CarmenSlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence The Residence, Owner at Ndlovu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it, and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Camp Ndlovu. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us, and thank you for choosing us, to spend such a special occasion, we look forward to welcoming you back and from all of us here at Camp Ndlovu, keep safe and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2021

An incredible few days spent at the luxurious Camp Ndlovu. The lodge is so exclusive, private and peaceful. The staff are all excellent and service was outstanding! Always smiling, and so friendly, proactively looking for ways to make your stay more comfortable. The main lodge area and some rooms overlook a waterhole where you can watch animals visit during the day. The food was five star and plentiful! Each meal was thoroughly enjoyed and the tastes and flavors were delicious. The rooms were so private with a plunge pool and a relaxing outside lounge area. The game rangers and game drives were the highlight of the trip and action packed. We had so many incredible sightings in the beautiful Welgevonden Game Reserve from lions to python, to cheetah, elephants and many many more! Overall one of the best luxury lodges we have ever stayed at in the bush and we will definitely be back! Highly recommended!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJRaddall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence The Residence, Owner at Ndlovu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2021

Thank you so much for your amazing review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Camp Ndlovu. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back some day in the near future. Thank you once again, and all the very best from the Camp Ndlovu team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2021

Does it get any better than this, when you can experience the bush and feel like you are miles away from civilization, but only be a mere 2 1/2 hours drive from Johannesburg.
Camp Ndlovu welcomed us to their beautiful lodge with the sound of beating African drums and song, nothing makes me smile more than when lodges add these extra special little touches that make you feel like a tourist in your own Country.

The staff always have bright smiles on their faces and are eagerly waiting to attend to your every beck and call. The food is deliciously and lovingly prepared and you can see the chefs take great pride in their work and presentation.
The large rooms feel like you have your own villa which is closed off with a door creating a sense of total privacy. A splash pool and lounging deck area, outdoor bath and shower and a river facing patio where the sounds of little streams and flowing water take relaxation to another level.

The main lodge area is also elegantly decorated and boasts numerous very comfortable lounging areas where you can sit and watch wildlife grazing or passing by, and the large main pool draws you in and begs you to unwind with a refreshing drink.

We absolutely love the feeling the African bush evokes, a sense of complete peace and contentment, but at the same time, you cannot help but feel a childlike excitement of what you may discover or see, and no bush experience is ever alike.

Our rangers, April and Lazarus, were optimistic and passionate, getting us to sightings and into the right position to capture the moments perfectly.
Our morning started off with a male lion vocalizing and then walking off, eventually crossing right besides our vehicle. And that afternoon we encountered a female leopard and her 3-4 month old leopard cub walking along a road and then into the open runway stretch where we could take hundreds of photo’s of this cute little cub, who was curiously keeping an eye on all the vehicles trying to get a look at him.

The Dutch word, Welgevonden, translates to “well found” or “serendipitous discovery”
This magical piece of land transforms at every opportunity, offering breathtaking views of untouched African wilderness and memories to last a lifetime. There is no doubt that Welgevonden is one of the finest places to watch wildlife, sense wilderness and experience the spirit of Africa.

Upon arrival at Welgevonden reserve you will park your vehicle at the main gate and your lodge will collect you in a game vehicle, which is a great bonus as you immediately benefit from an afternoon game drive to the lodge. What really impressed and shocked me is that although the reserve boasts 20 lodges, when we drove in towards Camp Ndlovu we didn’t spot one, it feels so secluded and private and the lodges are designed and positioned in a way that you never see the other lodges. It’s even rare to see them throughout game drives, I love this as it makes me feel even more exclusive and isolated.

The Residence Portfolio have done an absolutely brilliant job at making Camp Ndlovu feel like home, and like you belong. We cannot wait for our next adventure to this beautiful lodge.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Living B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence The Residence, Owner at Ndlovu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2021

Thank you so much for your amazing review, we really appreciate it, and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Camp Ndlovu. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. Wishing you all the very best from the Camp Ndlovu team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2021

Camp Ndlovu is the perfect place for families or for couples. The service is impeccable. The staff, game rangers, managers and chefs go out of their way to make sure that your stay exceeds expectations. No request is too big or too small! The chef catered to vegan needs (with great success!) as well as to meat eaters.
The rooms are luxurious! The views from the lodge are gorgeous (and it was a treat seeing the animals at the watering hole at the lodge) and of course the game drives were the highlight with our brilliant guide. Thank you for the lovely stay! COVID protocol was followed.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 546gabriellab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence The Residence, Owner at Ndlovu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2021

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear you enjoyed your safari experience at Camp Ndlovu. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. Thank you once again, all the best and please stay safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews