We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
John P
Johannesburg, South Africa

Service beyond belief

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Nov 2019
We recently stayed at Camp Ndlovu the Service is truly amazing, the food divine (more kilos to work off in the gym). Nothing was too much trouble. The game drives are good but the Rangers are not allowed o go 'offroading' so make sure you have a good camera if you want some nice sightings.
Date of stay: October 2019
Room Tip: All the rooms have views to the bush
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at Ndlovu Safari Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 14 Nov 2019
Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Camp Ndlovu. We hope to welcome you back some day in the near future and would like to wish you all the very best until we meet again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 12 741
  • Expedia.com
    R 11 358
  • Hotels.com
    R 11 381
  • Tripadvisor
    R 11 358
10.5 km from Ndlovu Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 15 070
  • Hotels.com
    R 13 893
  • Expedia.com
    R 13 865
  • Tripadvisor
    R 13 865
14.9 km from Ndlovu Safari Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
R 19 040
R 17 315
  • Hotels.com
    R 19 040
  • Expedia.com
    R 19 002
  • Priceline
16.4 km from Ndlovu Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 12 001
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 11 019
  • Agoda.com
    R 9 011
  • Hotels.com
    R 11 031
12.9 km from Ndlovu Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 15 458
  • Trip.com
  • Priceline
14.8 km from Ndlovu Safari Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
R 15 369
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 15 369
21.3 km from Ndlovu Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
11.8 km from Ndlovu Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
87
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
87
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attention to detail main gate the general manager bubble bath game drives piece of heaven sense of humour food was fantastic impeccable service every evening wonderful weekend welgevonden reserve an amazing experience amazing lodge spent nights game lodge jack
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2019 via mobile

What a gorgeous place! We have just spent 3 wonderful nights at Camp Ndlovu and were so sad to leave.
The camp itself is beautifully decorated- every room sporting wonderful antique furniture and traditional rugs. The beds were so comfortable that the whole family are demanding an up grade when we get home!
Our children were thrilled by our own private plunge pool which looked out over a watering hole visited by elephants, zebras, warthogs and monkeys.
You know a place is doing something right when you are aware of the names of all 9 members of staff - they simply could not have done more for us and did so with such charm and grace.
The food was amazing - every meal wonderful, fresh, delicious food and so much of it!
Finally the safari itself exceeded all expectations. It is malaria free, big 5 and 3 hours drive from Jo’burg so from a practical perspective it is a good choice. We had a wonderful guide and found the whole experience just magical!
Bravo to Sanet (manager) and her wonderful team for giving us such a wonderful trip!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at Ndlovu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2019

Thank you so much for your amazing review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Camp Ndlovu. It was an absolute pleasure having you and your family stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. Thank you once again and all the very best from the Camp Ndlovu team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2019

We decided last minute to go away for a night for our anniversary and we couldn't have asked for a better choice.
This lodge is absolutely amazing, from arriving to the glass of sparkling wine and the visit from the elephant, to the amazing staff, beautiful furnishes and delicious food.
Our guide Melvin was so knowledgeable and made even the quiet game drives interesting.
The rooms and main lodge resonated understated luxury without losing that bush feel.
The lodge is perfectly located on a river which draws game to the area in front of the deck and the rooms. The elephant also came to say goodbye during our breakfast.
The food... Wouldn't have been out of place in a 5 star restaurant. It was wonderful!
Highly recommended!!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank KirstiB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at Ndlovu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2019

Thank you so much, we really appreciate your review and for choosing to spend your anniversary with us, we hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. All the very best from the Camp Ndlovu team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2019 via mobile

Three couples travelling together arrived off the plane and transported to camp Ndlovu for a three day adventure. What an amazing experience And a warm welcome to Africa... right from check in to our departure our group was treated to first class food, rooms, service and safari. Melvin our safari driver has over 25 years experience and knew exactly how to track the big 5. We got 4 of the big 5 and were thrilled. The food at all three meals was delicious and beautifully presented. The extra touches included in room drinks. The rooms were beautifully appointed and also had outdoor private pool off your room and an outdoor shower & tub option. The views from the rooms included elephants, baboons, zebra and Whart hogs on a river. All the staff were professional and exceeded expectations. One of our party has been on a few safaris and rated this one 10/10. I definitely recommend and would love to return with my grandkids.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank J3830OOkimw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at Ndlovu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2019

Thank you so much for your amazing review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Camp Ndlovu. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you once again and all the very best from the Camp Ndlovu team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2019

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in January 2019. The place exceeded my expectations. It was our first time in South Africa and our first safari. Needless to say, we are already planning to come back to Africa in January 2020. This place is breathtaking. It's a piece of heaven on earth. The staff, the food, the accommodations and the game drives are PERFECT! From our suite, each morning I got to have coffee while watching the elephants. I don't even have the words to describe. It's pure luxury in the middle of the jungle. We felt like royalty. Anything we needed or wanted, the staff provided and were so polite. The game drives were AMAZING. We saw the big 5. Every day we saw lions and they were close up too. This was a trip of a lifetime. Don't look at another place to stay. This place is it. The room was clean and super nice. From our bed would could look out and see nature and all of the animals that would randomly roam. The manager was the sweetest lady. So extremely accommodating. I don’t have one negative thing to say about our time there. We felt safe the entire time and we will definitely be back.

Date of stay: January 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tiffaney1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at Ndlovu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2019

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Camp Ndlovu. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you once again and all the very best from the Camp Ndlovu team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2019

Camp Ndlovu is a 10 person luxury lodge in Welgevonden Game Reserve. My family and I have just spent 5 nights and had the most amazing time. We were 10 people - 4 adults and 6 children so we had the lodge exclusively. Sanat and her team were amazing, nothing was too much to ask. The service was attentive and the food was fantastic.
The lodge is beautiful and our rooms were fantastic with our own swimming pool which over looked a watering hole. One day the kids were playing in the pool and the elephants came close by.
Melvin was our wonderful ranger, he has been working at Welgevonden Game Reserve for over 27 years. He knows the reserve like the back of his hand - he knows everything about every single animal, he can spot an animal miles away and which animals footprints are in the sand plus how fresh their tracks. He was very patient with the children and answered all their questions.
This was my children's first safari holiday, they got to see the Big 5 and more. Welgevonden is a great reserve offering different terrains and experiences. Its Malaria free and a 3 hours drive from Jo'burg.
Thank you Camp Ndlovu for a truly wonderful holiday.

Room tip: Try to take the property exclusively as its well worth it!
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Unique Family T... U
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at Ndlovu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2019

Thank you so much for your review, it really means a lot to us and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Camp Ndlovu. We look forward to welcoming you back and would like to wish you all the very best from the Camp Ndlovu team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews