We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
11
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
11
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

I've had the pleasure of staying at Izingwe Lodge on several occasions. No review could properly convey how incredible of an experience you get when you stay at this lodge. The managers, Angus and Marion, were born to do this type of work. They are comfortable with their guests and easily adapt to different personality types. Marion and the rest of the staff make you feel at home at the lodge, which itself is a work of art. The main lodge is gorgeous and well appointed; simple, timeless African design is cozy and not overly done. And just wait until it's time to eat-you'll be amazed! The chef Tryphina is a master at her craft.

The game drives are also something to behold. Angus is an incredible naturalist, and I couldn't ask for a better guide in the bush. He is quite familiar with multiple faunal groups, and as a naturalist myself, this provides an opportunity for many hours of stimulating conversation about our natural world. Whether you are a beginner or a seasoned Safari-seeker, you will learn something new from Angus-guaranteed! This is also the perfect place to visit if you are a photographer, as so many opportunities to photograph wildlife (large or small) abound.

If you can make it happen, book a stay at Izingwe Lodge and you most certainly won't regret it.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank toddamacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izingwe, General Manager at Izingwe Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Dear Todd
Thank you so much for your kind words. Angus and I, and all the staff at Izingwe Lodge have enjoyed hosting you over the years, and we look forward to having you visit us again soon.
Angus so enjoys sharing his knowledge of the bush with anyone who is interested, and your enthusiasm for game drives and nature will always be remembered with fondness.
With kind regards until the next time...
The Izingwe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Our family just returned from our trip to South Africa. Our stay at Izingwe was like no other! The attention to detail from start to finish was phenomenal. The staff made us feel right at home and treated us like family. Our game drives with Angus were so memorable, allowing us to not just see the animals but to really spend time observing them in their natural habitat and watching them interact with each other. Every meal was a gourmet experience orchestrated with great care. The only thing we would change about our stay at Izingwe would be to make it longer! We can't wait to go back!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank blee2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izingwe, Manager at Izingwe Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Dear Beth
Thank you so much for your review. We so enjoyed hosting you and your family at Izingwe during December. It is always wonderful to host people like yourselves that enjoy spending time on game drive, observing the animals and their behavior. Often, some of the best sightings result from just sitting quietly on the game drive vehicle, watching the animals.
We will remember your day of departure always, with the picnic in the rain and all the laughs that went with it.
We wish you well for 2017 and hope to see you back at Izingwe soon.
Kind regards
The Izingwe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

I was blessed to be a guest at Izingwe in 2015 and 2016. Not being experienced in Africa, I was surprised to see mountains and grassland as we helicoptered in from Jo'berg. Big ground, big sky, wide open and wild country. . . . and then IZINGWE!. Brilliantly sited at the top of a drainage from grasslands to a river valley - a natural highway for predators to plains game - there was a continuous movement of game through and past the lodge - elephants and rhino, zebra and kudu, cheetah and lion, eland and klipspringer . . . all just outside our door or by the boma . . . magical. Utterly quiet at night but for the sound of animals, achingly clear blue skies for weeks, crisp cool mornings and warm afternoons on game drive . . . and then martinis and Angus's jokes at sundowners . . . this is an experience for those interested in an authentic yet luxurious safari.

Date of stay: August 2016
1  Thank Jeb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izingwe, Manager at Izingwe Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016

Dear Jeb
Thank you for your great review. We feel so privileged to have hosted you on your very first trip to South Africa last year, and on your return this August. A very special country, and Izingwe Lodge is a very special Lodge. It is always wonderful to see the bush through the new eyes of our guests.
Indeed the position of the Lodge is magnificent, overlooking Leopard Creek and valleys of the Waterberg Mountain range.
We hope to welcome you back at Izingwe during 2017.
Kindest regards
The Izingwe Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Izingwe Lodge located in the Welgevonden game reserve in South Africa, about 3 hours from Johannesburg, is a compound of three individual private guest villas each beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable with a king size bed, fireplace, sitting area, huge bathroom and porch. Occasionally, you may see an elephant drinking from the nearby infinity pool! The different sitting areas in the Lodge are spacious and lovely with several dining venues and an impressive African bar filled with artifacts and memorabilia. Guests are served dinner in the fenced boma around a large fire pit. The meals were delicious and the desserts were out of this world! We enjoyed sitting in the viewing room next to the boma or the tree watch tower which overlooked Izingwe’s watering hole, where we saw rhinos, giraffes, elephants, zebras, and kudu amongst other wildlife there!
The two game drives a day, one in the early morning and one in the late afternoon, with Angus and Marion were amazing! Angus is an expert field guide who was able to track and identify all the game including the huge lions! Marion has knowledgeable field expertise as well especially with the flora, fauna and specific bird species. They have been Izingwe’s managers for more than 15 years and their expertise was invaluable to our overall experience in South Africa. On our many game drives in the well maintained game drive vehicle, we saw a herd of 40 elephants, rhinos in the water, elan and springbok pronking, baboons fighting the cheetah, zebras running, giraffes eating from tall trees, hyenas fighting, kudu prancing, impala being released by the game wardens, and of course, the highlight was seeing the beautiful lions, lioness and their cubs. It was incredible to watch the lions in their natural habitat and to be close to them to see them hunt and hear them roar. It was a trip of a lifetime, and I couldn’t be more pleased with Izingwe’s accommodations, its friendly, helpful and gracious staff, the wonderful meals, and an amazing setting where we created unbelievable memories. We would most definitely return!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bay511
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izingwe, Manager at Izingwe Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Bay
Many thanks for your great review. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you and Bob at Izingwe. We did indeed have many incredible game sightings with you both at the Lodge itself and on game drive. It is always a treat to watch the elephant drink out of the Lodge's infinity pool. The sighting that we had with you of the cheetah being chased by a group of male baboons was a highlight for us as well.
We hope to see you back at Izingwe again soon.
Warmest regards
The Izingwe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

I would rate my stay at Izingwe Lodge as one of the top two trips of my lifetime! The Lodge was equipped with every luxury imaginable to make the stay both comfortable and tranquil! The view from the main cabin is breathtaking ! Without even leaving the lodge, I was able to see a large collection of animals including rhinos and elephants. Each day we went on two game drives (one in the morning and one in the early evening) which allowed me to see and experience nature like never before! There is no other place on the planet like Izingwe!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jason_Zieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izingwe, Manager at Izingwe Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Dear Jason
Thank you so much for your review. We so enjoyed hosting you at Izingwe. We remember fondly a specific evening game drive with you, where we were surrounded by the Southern Lion Pride lounging on the lawn around the game drive vehicle, while we sat very, very still. We hope that you return to Izingwe again soon for more adventures in the bush.
Fondest regards
The Izingwe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews