We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maralal Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Sunbird Lodge(Maralal)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
11
4
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
4
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Me my brother and my dad all had an incredible stay. The food there was amazing and the service was great. We felt very welcome and comfortable. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable and i sleep very well. My brother and I even got treated to seeing some cheaters that had become domesticated. It was INCREDIBLE.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

Traveling solo, as a younger female, was a daunting experience. Maralal, a place with hidden charm, was still a huge culture shock and I was very apprehensive of finding safe and comfortable lodging once I had wound my way through the dusty streets. My expectations lowered exponentially with each passing hour and I finally caved in and thought I would at least go and see some wildlife at the Maralal Safari lodge before continuing north.

All of the travel guides I read listed the lodge as outdated but worth going to for wildlife viewing, and those guides are the outdated ones!!!

This lodge has incredible luxury compared even to places I stayed at in Nairobi! The food is the best north of Nairobi (try their fried chicken, tacos, and hamburgers for sure!) and the beds are so comfortable that I actually slept in! I was woken up to monkeys and birds, and saw herds of animals just by opening my cabin door!
If you like mornings then you must eat an early breakfast on the patio and watch every species of animal come to the watering hole (best time of day to see them).

The staff are so lovely and considerate, and the management run a truly worthwhile charity that makes the visit that much more special- because you know that your payments are going towards protecting this beautiful sanctuary. For once, I felt zero guilt for splurging on an extra cocktail (their bar is fabulously stocked), or eating the most delicious cake in Kenya ;)

Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
3  Thank raivien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2015 via mobile

Fabulously newly renovated lodge. Wonderful old building surrounded by animals. Camping possible at normal rates. Swimming pool. Friendly and helpful hosts. Great food. Animal rehabilitation. A fabulous new address. Don't miss it in your way up to Lake Turkana

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Louisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2015

After 5 nights of camping in the north; it was a pleasant surprise to find that Maralal safari lodge was up and running! The rooms were great and cosy; hot showers were a pleasant surprise as well. The bar had such a large variety for all; it was nice to see the local residents of maralal town enjoying themselves! It was also great to see the abundance of animals...from zebras and eland in the early morning to gentle water-buck strolling the grounds to cheeky vervet monkeys! Wonderful place to stay over the weekend - i hope to return during the camel derby! great ambience and friendly staff

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stacey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015

After a seven-year closure, it's up and running. Love the wooden chalets and the log fire in each. The walks in the sanctuary offer amazing views of Kirisia Hillls. At night or early morning you may see the zorillas (not to be confused with gorilla) and aardvarks. There are good chances of seeing colobus monkeys, genets and leopards.

The lodge - built in 1962 - has old world charm and a great stop-over between nairobi and Lake Turkana.

Room Tip: furthest end if you want to be closer to the forest
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rupiNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews