We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment - it felt like a home in the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Sea Views from the Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea Views from the Balcony
Santa Maria Residence. 1st Floor right hand flat 1st Floor right hand flat, Beautiful sunny south facing sheltered balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Sea Views from the Balcony
Santa Maria Residence. 1st Floor right hand flat
1st Floor right hand flat, Beautiful sunny south facing sheltered balcony
Large Open Plan Flat with Fantanstic Balcony
Spacious open plan Interior. Lounge Area
Double Bedroom with  En suite
The Twin Room
Spacious Open Plan Interior
Kitchen Dining Area
Great Sea Views from the lovely balcony
Fashion beach resort 30m away with Bar, Restaurant and infinity pool
Miles of beautiful sandy beaches
A lovely Sunset from the Beach Bar
Walk for miles... perhaps find a Turtle..!
Josh Angula World Championship Windsurf/ Kitesurf Centre 300m From Flat.
Amazing Water Sports on your Doorstep
Jumping off the Pier seems to be a local tradition... JUST DO IT!!!
Baby Turtles Just Hatched in the Nursery
Life is not exactly hectic... waiting for the fishing boats
The Metropolis..... Santa Maria Town Centre
Releasing Baby Turtles with the SOS Taratugas Rangers
Someone is going to have a nice supper!
Sometimes you fall off!!!...
Santa Maria Town from the Air...
Pilot Whales Close up. That Day We Saw A Humpback Whale, Dolphins and Flying Fish.
The Southern End of Kite Beach, 7 Km of Sand, Kites and Turtles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Chitra B
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointing stay!”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this appartment after reading the great reviews but were slightly diasspointed with our stay. The positives are, that the appartment itself is quite spacious, is in a quiet part of the town, has most basic amenities and also two bathrooms. The lovely neighbours also told us about a nearby beach with it's very own natural wading pool which was a hidden gem and a big hit with our two year old.
The issues that we had with the appartment were, that firstly, the ensuite shower (and the wash basin) flooded within minutes of using and you found yourself standing in a pool of dirt for the rest of the shower. It then took several minutes for the water to drain and hot water also quite often ran out beofre one had finished with their shower. We had no shower mats provided which meant that the bathroom floors were invariably left wet (and muddy after trips to the beach)...we spent a considerable time cleaning up and at times, our stay didn't feel like a holiday. The other big issue we had was, that the flat desription clearly states 'Wi-Fi available' which is misleading. There is no wifi in the flat and you have to get a voucher which costs about 40 euros for 4GB over a week. This should be made clearer.
We also had a problem on the last day. We were promised a late checkout at 2 pm but at 11 am on our return from the beach, we found the cleaning lady at the appartment ready to clean up...despite our explanation that we had just gotten back from the beach and needed to wash up and finish our packing (not the easiest job with a toddler), the lady did not budge meaning we had to move all our stuff to one room so she could get started whilst we got ready. This was extremely stressful as we now had half an hour to pack up, get ready and vacate the apartment. Lastly, and this is no fault of the owners, the view of the beach from the balcony has now been spoilt by the bar that has come up right in front of the appartment complex which is a real shame.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth V
1 review
“Lovely apartment - it felt like a home in the sun. We will come back!”
Reviewed 2 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We came across David's apartment after researching and comparing with some others. Not only was it very good value but David was very responsive and helpful from the very beginning, so it was an easy choice.
David provided us with plenty of helpful advice upfront, which turned out to be really helpful during our stay. Whether it was restaurant recommendations, where to find supermarkets or where to go in medical emergencies - it was plenty of useful information.
David kindly organized a pick-up from the airport for us as well, so we could start enjoying our holidays without any delay.
The description and photos of the apartment were accurate, and we really loved our time there. By foot, it takes some 10 minutes to the centre of Santa Maria, which was ideal to go for a stroll along the beach or stop by one of the restaurant or bars along the way before going for a swim or watching the fishermen at the pier.
It's certainly down to taste, but we preferred the location of this apartment as compared to staying in the more touristy part where most hotels are. It is a quiet, yet safe road, which leads you to a rural path up to Kite Beach to your left and to the city centre if you turn right. We found the area had a very friendly and tranquil atmosphere, and surrounding neighbours, bar and restaurant staff soon became familiar faces.
The apartment itself was spacious and light and offered everything you need. We loved the personal touches - from music to decoration - and it really felt like a second home in the sun. Whenever we didn't fancy going out for dinner/ lunch, we really made our own in the kitchen and dined on the terrace while overlooking the beach and watching the surfers.
It came in quite handy to have the Fashion Club right opposite the apartment. We sometimes stopped by to have a quick drink and a chat with the friendly staff. They also happily helped us out with bits and bops we needed either late at night or at short notice.
Overall, we had a really fantastic week in Santa Maria - probably the most relaxing holiday we ever had - and we will definitely be back!

Thanks again for all your efforts, David! It really made the difference.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2017
Hi Ruth,

Thank you so much for your great review, We could tell you were a lovely couple at the time of booking. Thanks for for looking after the flat and I am really pleased that you had a great holiday.

I do try and keep the flat in good condition and look at it as a second home rather than just a rental flat.

We would love to have you back in the future,
Best regards

David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomekW5
1 review
“Great spacious apartment!”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

If you are looking for relaxed part of Santa Maria - this is a place for you. Great location for water sports. Everything is a short walk away so no need for a car or even a bike. We loved our stay here and hope to come back as soon as possible. I would definitely recommend getting a fresh tuna from the pier and cooking it at home. Flat has a very large balcony with a table and a hammock which is amazing for relaxed evening with a glass of wine. David is a lovely guy and he dealt quickly with some small issues we had. Overall I would recommend it to everyone who's looking to experience the real side of Sal.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jansz1971
1 review
“Good appartment”
Reviewed 31 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Thanks David, for renting your apartment. We have a great kitesurfing vacation. One minute walk near the perfect kite spot leme bedje. Five minutes walk to the village. Kite stuff on the balcony. Good, clean en a lot of space in the apartment. It was super

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tcmcpb
Cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great first trip to Cape Verde”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is a lovely large and open plan 2 bedroom flat. The large south facing balcony has sun all day and it is a lovely relaxing place to watch the world go by. The beach resort development in front of the flat restricts the sea views but you can still see the sea further away to the right.

The flat was well equipped for the 4 of us with a good sized double room with an ensuite and a twin room with a separate family shower room.

We spent most of our time on the beach swimming snorkelling and surfing near the Josh Angulos surf shack about 300m away. The beach is lovely and the beer and pizzas are excellent.

The owners organised a taxi driver to meet us at the airport which made life really easy when we arrived. There was a friendly uk expat couple who live a few hundred meters away who offered their help if we needed it.

Weather was really great, locals and neighbours are friendly, food ranges from cheap local back street food if you dare to really nice decent fish restaurants and everything inbetween

A great holiday and a good value flat. Would definitely be happy to use again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2016
Hi T, Many thanks for your review, I am glad you enjoyed yourselves. We all love to use the flat as well so we try to keep it a bit special and like a second home, lots of friends and a nice community spirit if you like to get involved. Josh Angulos Surf Shack is a great starting place. Regards David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing