We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our Second Visit Was Even Better than the First!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newcomb, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gl0riac22...
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our Second Visit Was Even Better than the First!”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

It's always risky to go back to a place you really enjoyed after a few years. But when we decided to visit the Adirondacks recently, we knew we wanted to return to the charming Hoot Owl Lodge. Owners Kelly and Tony make you feel like guests -- not customers. The cozy house is nestled on a lovely property located within easy reach of many of the areas attractions. Great for hikers, bicyclists, or paddlers. Unlike many B&B's, the common areas are very inviting and well-used by guests. It's lovely to sink into one of the big comfy couches in the living room and read about local attractions. And the breakfast...Simply the best. Served in the kitchen at a spacious shared table, the comfortable setting invites conversation with fellow guests -- and that conversation always begins with ooohs and aaaahs over Kelly spectacular treats. And as for comfort, we slept in the Bunk Room and our bed was outfitted with a luxurious down featherbed. I slept like a baby...until the delectable aroma from the kitchen finally lured me down the stairs!
We are looking forward to our next visit!

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J P
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great room and great breakfast!”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed one night at the Hoot Owl. Kelly was a super hostess, making sure we knew all about the inn. Interaction with the other guests enjoying early spring in the Adirondacks added to our sense of belonging. The next morning we set off on the next leg of our bike trip into a light snow, filled up on the most delicious breakfast and a few goodies Kelly packed for us. Stay if you can.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2freetogo
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

If you have never stayed at a B&B, the Hoot Owl Lodge would be a great first B&B experience. The house is wonderfully decorated in Andirondak style, the bedrooms are large and comfortable and breakfast was delicious. Kelly and Tony are exceptional hosts, paying attention to details and making sure your stay is enjoyable. Without a doubt, the best breakfasts we've had at a B&B. An added bonus was the interesting conversations with the other guests.

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zack S
Kennesaw, GA
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Actually reviewing the bakery portion”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I didn't stay at the Lodge, but got some food from the bakery in the same building, Kelly's Roadside Stand. She sells baked good and seasonal vegetables. We got a rhubarb pie and a chocolate pie. Outstanding. She also had muffins and brownies and the like available. Reasonable prices, and a big thumbs up on taste. Ms. Kelly and her husband Tony were both very amiable and friendly people.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeff l
Albany, New York
1 review
“A Warm Inn”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

From the moment I got there, I felt like I was at a home away from home. Every detail was attended to make me feel less like a guest and more like a member of the family. I felt completely relaxed. Beautiful comfortable furnishings throughout made me sit down and enjoy the friendliness of the place and its surroundings.

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing