We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wake up to breaky with the animals”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sondzela Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Fun loft dorm room
Cleaner than most hostels
Great sleep - super quiet
HUGE bathroom to spread out in when you shower

Great pool
Reasonably priced dinning room - nothing fancy
Also self catering kitchen

If you wake up early enough - the front yard will be filled with grazing Zebra's and Kudu!

FYI - You also get charged for entrance to the reserve!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABRreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Sondzela Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

A great review thank you!
Yes, Sondzela Backpackers is located within Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary and enjoys the security, peace and wildlife, so contribution to conservation is a prerequisite. At R40,00 pp it is very affordable and worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Sondzela Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2016

We stayed in rondavels which only had a sink but no shower or toilet. Everything was great and for a backpackers quite nice actually. But why don't you simply put in a toilet and shower into these rondavels? This would certainly add a lot of value.
Otherwise there is a braai area, bar, lounge, kitchen, lots of large trees, a pool, large garden and all in all in a very beautiful setting. Would stay there any time!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Johannes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Sondzela Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Thank you for your review. Great news - we are busy upgrading some of our rondavels to be en-suite with a hot shower and toilet. Originally we chose not to go en-suite due to the competition with the Rest Camp, so we have now decided to give the option and adjust the rates accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Very nice situated hostel, right in the Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary. Simply equiped rondavel houses. Clean showers and toillets. Kind and helpful staff. Excelent breakfast at the camp fire. Family with 3 children 10-14.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomáš N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Sondzela Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

A great reviews, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Stayed here with a School group, camping on the lawns overlooking the hills of the wildlife Sanctuary. We shared the lawn with Warthogs and Peacocks. Nice clean kitchen and freindly staff to help out with cooking and washing.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antondotreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Sondzela Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Thank you for reviewing Sondzela so favourably!
Just a little point - we don't have peacocks, it isa wildlife sanctuary...I'm sure it was guineafowl that shared the lawn with you ;o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

SO we decided to head down to Swazi for the weekend and we needed cheap but comfortable accommodation close to the action. Step in Sondzela... What a brilliant place to see Swazi from! It is situated in the Milwane game reserve where yo can jog, walk, cycle, do horse riding and in general just enjoy yourself in the African bush. Needless to say, there are no predators or really dangerous in the park (except hippos and crocodiles), but there are many many Nyalas, Blesbokke, Impalas and Wildebeest. The park is very small compared to the parks in SA, so we were able to drive through the entire park and see the magnificent views all in one day. You do need a bakkie or 4x4 to get to the higher up places though. We stayed in a rondavel at the backpackers which has a double bed and one single bed inside with a washing basin. The showers and toilets are in a communal ablution block. The main building has some rooms and a communal kitchen with a swimming pool, a stoep, a shop with a few neccecities like toothpaste and beer, as well as a tv. They have Wifi available at R35 for 50MB. There is a very nice braai area where they serve the meals. At R40 for breakfast and R65 for dinner the portions are ridiculously huge and very tasty. We had the breakfast each morning and decided to braai each evening. They have roosters (Afrikaans) and stuff there so you can manage fine. The local meat is a bit tough though, but very cheap! There is also a bar area with a tv and pool table as well as table tennis, but we only went there to watch a rugby game one night. We preferred to go out into the country and mix with the locals. Swazi people are super friendly and welcoming. We even saw the king drive by in his rolls royce when we went to the memorial building. The backpackers has a LOT of foreigners, and we made friends with people from Austria, Belgium, Netherlands, Canada, Kenya and Finland. Everyone just chills by the fire every night, its awesome. 10/10 will go again.

Room Tip: The rondawels are a bit more private and the impalas tend to graze around them at night.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Breedster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Sondzela Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

What a fabulous review, thank you! Lovely to hear you got so active and got amongst the Swazi scene - it is such an easy and lovely country.
You'll be happy to hear we are busy upgrading some of the rondavels to en-suite, which will fetch a higher rate, but the convenience will be worth it!
We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
6.3 km away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
730 reviews
10.3 km away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
278 reviews
9.2 km away
Summerfield Botanical Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
330 reviews
0.8 km away
Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
#1 of 2 in Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
446 reviews
2.5 km away
Malandela's Guest House
Malandela's Guest House
#1 of 6 in Malkerns
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sondzela Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sondzela Backpackers

Address: Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary, Swaziland
Phone Number:
Region: Swaziland > Manzini District > Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
Price Range: R212 - R305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing