We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
43
31
9
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
31
9
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main camp game reserve open fire bring your own beautiful location dorm room pool table communal kitchen main building hostel middle activities yard swaziland hippos mlilwane animals
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We stayed in rondavels which only had a sink but no shower or toilet. Everything was great and for a backpackers quite nice actually. But why don't you simply put in a toilet and shower into these rondavels? This would certainly add a lot of value.
Otherwise there is a braai area, bar, lounge, kitchen, lots of large trees, a pool, large garden and all in all in a very beautiful setting. Would stay there any time!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JohannesH1637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Sondzela Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Thank you for your review. Great news - we are busy upgrading some of our rondavels to be en-suite with a hot shower and toilet. Originally we chose not to go en-suite due to the competition with the Rest Camp, so we have now decided to give the option and adjust the rates accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Very nice situated hostel, right in the Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary. Simply equiped rondavel houses. Clean showers and toillets. Kind and helpful staff. Excelent breakfast at the camp fire. Family with 3 children 10-14.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomáš N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Sondzela Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

A great reviews, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Stayed here with a School group, camping on the lawns overlooking the hills of the wildlife Sanctuary. We shared the lawn with Warthogs and Peacocks. Nice clean kitchen and freindly staff to help out with cooking and washing.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antondotreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Sondzela Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Thank you for reviewing Sondzela so favourably!
Just a little point - we don't have peacocks, it isa wildlife sanctuary...I'm sure it was guineafowl that shared the lawn with you ;o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

SO we decided to head down to Swazi for the weekend and we needed cheap but comfortable accommodation close to the action. Step in Sondzela... What a brilliant place to see Swazi from! It is situated in the Milwane game reserve where yo can jog, walk, cycle, do horse riding and in general just enjoy yourself in the African bush. Needless to say, there are no predators or really dangerous in the park (except hippos and crocodiles), but there are many many Nyalas, Blesbokke, Impalas and Wildebeest. The park is very small compared to the parks in SA, so we were able to drive through the entire park and see the magnificent views all in one day. You do need a bakkie or 4x4 to get to the higher up places though. We stayed in a rondavel at the backpackers which has a double bed and one single bed inside with a washing basin. The showers and toilets are in a communal ablution block. The main building has some rooms and a communal kitchen with a swimming pool, a stoep, a shop with a few neccecities like toothpaste and beer, as well as a tv. They have Wifi available at R35 for 50MB. There is a very nice braai area where they serve the meals. At R40 for breakfast and R65 for dinner the portions are ridiculously huge and very tasty. We had the breakfast each morning and decided to braai each evening. They have roosters (Afrikaans) and stuff there so you can manage fine. The local meat is a bit tough though, but very cheap! There is also a bar area with a tv and pool table as well as table tennis, but we only went there to watch a rugby game one night. We preferred to go out into the country and mix with the locals. Swazi people are super friendly and welcoming. We even saw the king drive by in his rolls royce when we went to the memorial building. The backpackers has a LOT of foreigners, and we made friends with people from Austria, Belgium, Netherlands, Canada, Kenya and Finland. Everyone just chills by the fire every night, its awesome. 10/10 will go again.

Room Tip: The rondawels are a bit more private and the impalas tend to graze around them at night.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Breedster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Sondzela Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

What a fabulous review, thank you! Lovely to hear you got so active and got amongst the Swazi scene - it is such an easy and lovely country.
You'll be happy to hear we are busy upgrading some of the rondavels to en-suite, which will fetch a higher rate, but the convenience will be worth it!
We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Sondzela Backpackers is a nice hostel in the Milwane wildlife sanctuary. It's very quiet and all help are very nice and friendly. We unfortunately only had on night there, but the dinner that was made was absolutely delicious, I still wish I could get more. The beds were comfortable and clean. The bathrooms were also clean but there are a lot of windows so if someone did happen to walk by at the wrong time they could definitely see in. Also, the shower gets water all over the floor so be careful walking around barefoot on the tile.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank christinaarmstrong2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Sondzela Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Thank you for your lovely review and helpful comments - these will be related to our Operations Manager and we'll see what can be done to improve on the shower and windows!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews