We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great setting and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sondzela Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Great setting and friendly staff”
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We stayed in rondavels which only had a sink but no shower or toilet. Everything was great and for a backpackers quite nice actually. But why don't you simply put in a toilet and shower into these rondavels? This would certainly add a lot of value.
Otherwise there is a braai area, bar, lounge, kitchen, lots of large trees, a pool, large garden and all in all in a very beautiful setting. Would stay there any time!

  • Stayed March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Sondzela Backpackers, responded to this review, 10 October 2016
Thank you for your review. Great news - we are busy upgrading some of our rondavels to be en-suite with a hot shower and toilet. Originally we chose not to go en-suite due to the competition with the Rest Camp, so we have now decided to give the option and adjust the rates accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    25
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
34
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Very nice situated hostel, right in the Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary. Simply equiped rondavel houses. Clean showers and toillets. Kind and helpful staff. Excelent breakfast at the camp fire. Family with 3 children 10-14.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomáš N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Sondzela Backpackers, responded to this review, 15 September 2016
A great reviews, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Stayed here with a School group, camping on the lawns overlooking the hills of the wildlife Sanctuary. We shared the lawn with Warthogs and Peacocks. Nice clean kitchen and freindly staff to help out with cooking and washing.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antondotreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Sondzela Backpackers, responded to this review, 15 September 2016
Thank you for reviewing Sondzela so favourably!
Just a little point - we don't have peacocks, it isa wildlife sanctuary...I'm sure it was guineafowl that shared the lawn with you ;o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016

SO we decided to head down to Swazi for the weekend and we needed cheap but comfortable accommodation close to the action. Step in Sondzela... What a brilliant place to see Swazi from! It is situated in the Milwane game reserve where yo can jog, walk, cycle, do horse riding and in general just enjoy yourself in the African bush. Needless to say, there are no predators or really dangerous in the park (except hippos and crocodiles), but there are many many Nyalas, Blesbokke, Impalas and Wildebeest. The park is very small compared to the parks in SA, so we were able to drive through the entire park and see the magnificent views all in one day. You do need a bakkie or 4x4 to get to the higher up places though. We stayed in a rondavel at the backpackers which has a double bed and one single bed inside with a washing basin. The showers and toilets are in a communal ablution block. The main building has some rooms and a communal kitchen with a swimming pool, a stoep, a shop with a few neccecities like toothpaste and beer, as well as a tv. They have Wifi available at R35 for 50MB. There is a very nice braai area where they serve the meals. At R40 for breakfast and R65 for dinner the portions are ridiculously huge and very tasty. We had the breakfast each morning and decided to braai each evening. They have roosters (Afrikaans) and stuff there so you can manage fine. The local meat is a bit tough though, but very cheap! There is also a bar area with a tv and pool table as well as table tennis, but we only went there to watch a rugby game one night. We preferred to go out into the country and mix with the locals. Swazi people are super friendly and welcoming. We even saw the king drive by in his rolls royce when we went to the memorial building. The backpackers has a LOT of foreigners, and we made friends with people from Austria, Belgium, Netherlands, Canada, Kenya and Finland. Everyone just chills by the fire every night, its awesome. 10/10 will go again.

Room Tip: The rondawels are a bit more private and the impalas tend to graze around them at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breedster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Sondzela Backpackers, responded to this review, 15 September 2016
What a fabulous review, thank you! Lovely to hear you got so active and got amongst the Swazi scene - it is such an easy and lovely country.
You'll be happy to hear we are busy upgrading some of the rondavels to en-suite, which will fetch a higher rate, but the convenience will be worth it!
We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Sondzela Backpackers is a nice hostel in the Milwane wildlife sanctuary. It's very quiet and all help are very nice and friendly. We unfortunately only had on night there, but the dinner that was made was absolutely delicious, I still wish I could get more. The beds were comfortable and clean. The bathrooms were also clean but there are a lot of windows so if someone did happen to walk by at the wrong time they could definitely see in. Also, the shower gets water all over the floor so be careful walking around barefoot on the tile.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinaarmstrong2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Sondzela Backpackers, responded to this review, 15 September 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and helpful comments - these will be related to our Operations Manager and we'll see what can be done to improve on the shower and windows!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
6.3 km away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
9.2 km away
Summerfield Botanical Garden
10.0 km away
Lugogo Sun
Lugogo Sun
#4 of 6 in Ezulwini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 km away
Foresters Arms
Foresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Mbabane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
17.9 km away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
9.3 km away
The Royal Villas
The Royal Villas
#3 of 6 in Ezulwini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sondzela Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sondzela Backpackers

Property: Sondzela Backpackers
Address: Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary, Swaziland
Region: Swaziland > Manzini District > Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
Price range (per night): R199 - R703
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Sondzela Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing