We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stone Camp in Mkhaya Game Reserve
Nearby Hotels
Mountain Inn(Mbabane)
US$103
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Swazi Spa(Ezulwini)
US$159
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lugogo Sun(Ezulwini)
US$128
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantenga Lodge(Ezulwini)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$65
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
136
37
14
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
37
14
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstone campno electricitybush walkwalking safarioil lampsunique experienceopen airblack rhinobush babiesgame reservemeeting pointland roverbush experiencetwo nightson footmy opinionfood was great
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

We did the 24 hour stay...4pm to 4 pm. This includes 3 game drives and a bush walk as well as full board. The accommodation in an open fronted, stone rondeval, was very private and extremely comfortable.
The staff were friendly and helpful, and the Game Rangers ( especially Maxwell) were very knowledgeable.
This is a totally different experience and is highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Poppyslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Stone Camp in Mkhaya Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

A great review, thank you! Will be sure to commend our staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

I took the 24 hour package from 4pm to 4pm and had a great experience. The round stone rooms are beautifully decorated with plenty of distance between them so privacy is assured. The combination of early morning game drives and the late morning game walk are great with sightings of rhinos, warthogs, Impala and Nyala common.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank NicholasUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Stone Camp in Mkhaya Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

A lovely review, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Long story short: we were here to "check it out" in anticipation of a family gathering later in the year. We're going to be back for sure. The combination of safari, food, lodging, and staff makes this a very memorable experience.


The bush: hippos, white and black rhinos (which are all the same colour we learned, but different sizes, different back and hoof shapes, and different temperaments!), giraffes, wildebeests, warthogs, nyalas, impalas, kudus, zebras, turtles, lizards, and others. There are no longer any elephants (sent to the USA) or lions (moved to another reserve). Our guides Sibusosi and Africa were fun and informative. The rides last 2 hours. Having been on rides at Hlane, a sister park, I would recommend the 2.5 hour trip given the overhead of "leaving and getting back" which makes visiting the extremities difficult. 150 minutes for a tour offers significantly more game sightings in further reaches than 120.

The food was tasty, and well-prepared. The food is not high-end restaurant cuisine, but being on safari with no electricity, the food is great, for example, we had a tender and succulent beef ragout served with vegetables and rice as a main course. Surprisingly, the menu did not feature any game. The meats were chicken, fish, and beef. I have to say, for simple fare, it was well done and appreciated by us and the other guests.

They have real coffee available (not instant!). The staff like to push the plunger on the French press immediately but will anxiously wait if you insist on letting it steep for a minute. The wait is worth it.

The rooms are romantic, quaint, rustic, and open. It is somewhat awkward doing “one's business” while a nyala stares at you (the bathroom and bedroom are both semi-open to nature) and you have to put your toothpaste in the safe lest it be stolen as an edible trophy by a curious monkey. Still, if we can watch the animals eat, I don't see why they can't watch us go about our business.

The construction of the private rooms is remarkably old-world and fully functional. The stone design prevents winds from disturbing you in your sleep – though I would have appreciated a breeze at bedtime because it was somewhat hot (27°C) and humid..

The fact that the camp eschews electricity is charming and relaxing. The light of lanterns and the big fire around which the guests eat is truly enjoyable. It is very nice to be digitally unplugged and given the freedom to spelunk about nature on Safari.

Saving the best for last, the staff are very accommodating: professional and friendly. The ladies on staff shared their traditional Swazi dancing after supper which was a treat. Be forewarned, they may ask you to join them! Do it. It's fun!

Room Tip: Ask for a lower numbered room to be closer to camp
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimmyMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Stone Camp in Mkhaya Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2016

We love your detailed review, thank you!!
Mkhaya has never had Lions due to the valuable antelope in the endangered species programme, and the last elephants were moved to Hlane due to drought and impact on the biodiversity - we will chat to our guides to ensure the info is correct ;o)
We look forward to your return, and hope we have game meat on the menu (we usually do)! Thank you for such lovely commendation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We stayed in Stone Camp with our two sons for two nights and it was truly unforgettable. As you come in on the first game drive you can see so much before even arriving at the camp, and when you do arrive, it's nothing but the finest of accommodation, food and care. Our hut was simply gorgeous, and in the evening festooned with oil lamps when we returned from the evening drive, and we even found hot water bottles in our beds before sleep. The staff are amazing, every meal was delicious, and after dinner we even got to hear singing and Swazi dancing. Abby and her team could not have been more courteous or helpful. Stone Camp was a highlight of our time in Southern Africa.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HBT34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Stone Camp in Mkhaya Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Such a fabulous review, thank you! Lovely to hear your family embraced Mkhaya so magically - and to hear it was a highlight! TripAdvisor reviews are sent on to Managers, so Abby will share your lovely comments with staff, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

What a place! Sleeping at semi-open chalets with hyenas howling just outside our door, taking a shower looking at nyalas, spotting black and white rhinos in crazy land rover rides! We learned really a lot about animal behaviour there, especially for rhinos. We also did an overnight bush walk (with camping in the bush) organized by Mkhaya which was a highlight of our trip. Bongani, our guide in the bush walk, has incredible knowledge on animals and their treks. Definetely a place to visit!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank phaedra o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Stone Camp in Mkhaya Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Thank you for such a great review! Wonderful to hear you did the Bush Trails... there is nothing like getting out on your feet to experience the bush. So much more comes alive!
Bongani is our Head Guide, extremely passionate about the bush and conservation. Thank you for these comments - they are being sent on to our managers to relate to Bongani!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews