We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
165
45
16
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
165
45
16
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stone camp no electricity open air game reserve great experience the cottages hour stay leave your car your luggage heavy rain secure parking indemnity form some sort different sections high expectations drive guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We stayed in Stone Camp with our two sons for two nights and it was truly unforgettable. As you come in on the first game drive you can see so much before even arriving at the camp, and when you do arrive, it's nothing but the finest of accommodation, food and care. Our hut was simply gorgeous, and in the evening festooned with oil lamps when we returned from the evening drive, and we even found hot water bottles in our beds before sleep. The staff are amazing, every meal was delicious, and after dinner we even got to hear singing and Swazi dancing. Abby and her team could not have been more courteous or helpful. Stone Camp was a highlight of our time in Southern Africa.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Stone Camp in Mkhaya Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Such a fabulous review, thank you! Lovely to hear your family embraced Mkhaya so magically - and to hear it was a highlight! TripAdvisor reviews are sent on to Managers, so Abby will share your lovely comments with staff, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

What a place! Sleeping at semi-open chalets with hyenas howling just outside our door, taking a shower looking at nyalas, spotting black and white rhinos in crazy land rover rides! We learned really a lot about animal behaviour there, especially for rhinos. We also did an overnight bush walk (with camping in the bush) organized by Mkhaya which was a highlight of our trip. Bongani, our guide in the bush walk, has incredible knowledge on animals and their treks. Definetely a place to visit!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank phaedra o
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Stone Camp in Mkhaya Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Thank you for such a great review! Wonderful to hear you did the Bush Trails... there is nothing like getting out on your feet to experience the bush. So much more comes alive!
Bongani is our Head Guide, extremely passionate about the bush and conservation. Thank you for these comments - they are being sent on to our managers to relate to Bongani!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

This was my third visit to Mkhaya over the last five years. This is the best experience Swaziland has to offer when my friends and family come down for a visit! The food is delicious and in great abundance, the service makes you feel like royalty, and the accommodations are thrilling, clean, and comfortable. Thank you, Big Game Parks, for another wonderful experience!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tuffrider3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Stone Camp in Mkhaya Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

The pleasure is ours! it is wonderful to receive such lovely reviews and gratitude, thank you! We love that you keep returning ;0)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Fantastic small game reserve with evening and morning game drives and walks. Very knowledgable ranger but the highlight was the accommodation. The stone rondelles were primitive and luxurious at the same time. Very romantic as all candlelight and no internet.

Room tip: Some people might not like being so in the open but it was lovely
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Stone Camp in Mkhaya Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Thank you for a fabulous review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Highly recommended wilderness experience! We stayed for one night from 10 am to 10 am and enjoyed every bit! Great food, friendly and experienced guides and a truly amazing camp especially at night when all the lanterns guides you back to your cottage.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris2lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Stone Camp in Mkhaya Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Thank you for a great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews