We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
CheapTickets
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
165
45
16
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
165
45
16
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stone camp no electricity open air game reserve great experience the cottages hour stay leave your car your luggage heavy rain secure parking indemnity form some sort different sections high expectations drive guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2016

This was my third visit to Mkhaya over the last five years. This is the best experience Swaziland has to offer when my friends and family come down for a visit! The food is delicious and in great abundance, the service makes you feel like royalty, and the accommodations are thrilling, clean, and comfortable. Thank you, Big Game Parks, for another wonderful experience!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tuffrider3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Stone Camp in Mkhaya Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

The pleasure is ours! it is wonderful to receive such lovely reviews and gratitude, thank you! We love that you keep returning ;0)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Fantastic small game reserve with evening and morning game drives and walks. Very knowledgable ranger but the highlight was the accommodation. The stone rondelles were primitive and luxurious at the same time. Very romantic as all candlelight and no internet.

Room tip: Some people might not like being so in the open but it was lovely
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Stone Camp in Mkhaya Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Thank you for a fabulous review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Highly recommended wilderness experience! We stayed for one night from 10 am to 10 am and enjoyed every bit! Great food, friendly and experienced guides and a truly amazing camp especially at night when all the lanterns guides you back to your cottage.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris2lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Stone Camp in Mkhaya Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Thank you for a great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Spent 2 full days here, extraordinary experience. No electricity, no wifi, mobile phones don't work here. Pitch dark at night, eating out in the open by candlelight and a roaring bonfire (it's cold at night, bring sweaters and jackets). But you'll find a hot water bottle in your wonderfully comfy bed; the showers are hot, & each cabin has its own modern bathroom and toilet. Oil lamps give a real pioneer atmosphere! Food and drink are excellent, served with style: the breakfast (served after a dawn drive) is hearty and welcome. Of course, your reason to come is the wildlife. Rhinos, giraffes, buffalo, hippos, kudu, inyala, Impala, warthogs abound, though numbers are currently down because of the drought. We didn't see elephants, hyenas or leopards this time, so will have to come again. We did see eagles, a vulture, storks, hornbills; Guinea fowl chatter through the camp alongside baby antelope (Bambi!) and velvet monkeys. Shop with jackets souvenirs etc. Best of all, staff are wonderful: like all Swazis, friendly and keen to please, and guides are knowledgeable and professional. Go with the right attitude and you'll have an unforgettable experience.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Edwina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Stone Camp in Mkhaya Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

This is a fabulous review, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016

When we arrived at the camp we were taken on exciting 24h trip into Swasiland's wilderness.
As we were the only guests that day we had the guide for ourselves and enjoyed the beautiful landscape, the interesting explanations about the wildlife and nature and spectecular views.
In our camp we made friends with some charming guinea fowls which live in the camp.
The food was delicious and we had the oppurtunity to try some African specialities.
The highlight of our stay was the night inside the stone house without walls or electricity, only illuminated by petroleum lamps.
It was and extraordinary experience to sleep in the wilderness right next to the sound of birds, monkey and hyenas.
Anyway there is no reason to feel uncomfortable at any time as the camp is guarded all the time.
From the first game drive in the afternoon when we arrived, to the late one ending when the first nocturnal animals can be seen to the morning game drive with a beautiful sunrise we enjoyed every minute and recommend this place to everyone who is looking for an adventure.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sephi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Stone Camp in Mkhaya Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Thank you for your super review and recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews