We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
markmelphillips
Cape Town, South Africa

A peaceful piece of Africa 5 Km from Mata Mata

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Sept 2017
We recently supplemented our trip through the Kgalagadi with a 2 night stop over at Torgos Safari lodge. What a pleasure. We were not expecting to find a water hole at hand with regular visits from Springbok, Kudu, Wildebeest and the very special bat eared fox. These little guys provided evening entertainment in their playful quests to catch the moths attracted to the hole flood light. Owls could be heard at night and spotted in the trees during the day. The chalets cum tents were very comfortable and widely spaced along the river Auob, giving us peace and privacy. The resort is about 6 Km from Mata Mata on the Namibian side of the border making day trips into the park easy (but the earliest start is governed by the border office opening time of 8:00).
The African style restaurant provided excellent meals and the hosts could not have been more attentive or friendly. We will definitely be visiting again.
Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Manus K, Owner at Torgos Safari Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 21 Sept 2017
Hi Mark

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our lodge and for the lovely review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again at Torgos!

Kind regards
Manus and Lara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Campground with braai area and washing area.
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
38.2 km from Torgos Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Quiver Inn Guesthouse
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
205.7 km from Torgos Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Keetmanshoop Self-Catering Accommodation
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
205.3 km from Torgos Safari Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
247.1 km from Torgos Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
205.6 km from Torgos Safari Lodge
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
287.5 km from Torgos Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
206.0 km from Torgos Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
205.1 km from Torgos Safari Lodge
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
205.1 km from Torgos Safari Lodge
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
5889.7 km from Torgos Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Keetmanshoop
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
10
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
10
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We stayed at the very luxurious tented camp with en suite bathroom , own Braai facilities and fridge .Fantastic for luxury self-catering, private and spacious in a tranquil setting - but we actually chose the Dinner bed and breakfast option because we arrived late. The food was lovely and the hosts great! Would recommend to any friend who wants to either get into the park early or leave late - its only 8 km from Mata Mata

Room tip: tent 10 is the furthest away from the boma but totally private and surrounded by nature
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dagmar102
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We were two couples that stayed at Torgos Lodges in two "tent homes". We received a warm welcome from Daantjie and Yvonne and what a pity we could only stay one night. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were very clean and the outside area extremely well maintained. A lovely place where you can enjoy the peace and quite that the Kalahari has two offer. The rooms have en suite bathrooms, a fridge and an outside kitchen with a braai. Firewood is provided. There is a pool on the property. The distance between the units provides privacy and there is a waterhole for game viewing. Meat and some basic supplies are available from a small farmstall close by (same owners). The lodge is 5 kilometres from the Mata Mata Gate of the Kgalagadi National Park. We will visit again if we have the opportunity.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank vermaak2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Manus K, Owner at Torgos Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Good day Mr Vermaak

Thank you very much for your positive review, we are always thrilled to hear from our guests that have stayed with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards
Manus Kotze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

My partner and I visited Torgos Lodge in July 2016, it is a place we will most certainly return to for the most memorable Kalahari experience. The lodge was built by hand out of stone and has a beautiful thatch roof. All the tented chalets are unobtrusive to the natural environment and are tastefully decorated with all necessary facilities provided. At night a waterhole is lit in order to view game congregating around this waterhole, a sight to behold. We enjoyed a 5 star meal laid on by the family that own the lodge, Manus and Lara Kotze. This is a good place to overnight at if one is heading for Mata Mata.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rene0741704198
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2015 via mobile

This was only booked as is was close to the transfrontier park and we stayed on 2 separate occasions. What the safari camp lacks in facilities easily makes up for the friendliness of the family who own it. They could not have done more for us including lots of advice, offer of help on everything and even Africaan lessons. The camp is next to a watering hole in a river basin with springboks resident every evening. The local squirrels and bird life cause amusement outside the chalets and the food was excellent. We could have stayed here longer and on the second time had the camp to ourselves so it was paradise. Only very minor points like the bed was a bit short but we are very pleased to have stayed twice. Try the homemade biltong........

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank woodentom1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

A great find 6 Kms from the Mata Mata entrance to Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. Well appointed chalets looking onto a waterhole and Kalahari sand dune. We arrived late afternoon without a reservation and were welcomed in by Lena who made it her business to ensure we were comfortable and happily settled in. The proprietor arrived later and could be more helpful, making sure we had lots of wood for a rustic fire in front of the chalet. Definitely will use the lodge again.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank GravelRoadAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews