We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
OomVos
Roodepoort, South Africa

Very humble experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 05 Jun 2019
This is an amazing place. We could only stayed for one night, but boy o boy what an experience!!
We most definitely will visit it again and then stay for at least two days. The way in which the chalets are set up, make it very nice with the kitchen and braai areas just next to the rooms.
Highly recommended!!
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Quiver Inn Guesthouse
R 1 050
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 050
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 050
  • Vio.com
    R 1 050
41.3 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Keetmanshoop Self-Catering Accommodation
R 600
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 600
  • Agoda.com
    R 600
41.0 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
R 2 326
R 2 196
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 2 196
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 326
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 326
122.8 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 1 386
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 386
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 386
  • Vio.com
    R 1 386
83.4 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 2 000
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 2 000
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 000
41.3 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Bar/Lounge
R 1 580
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 580
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 580
41.6 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 3 452
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 452
  • eDreams
    R 3 452
164.7 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 900
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 900
  • Agoda.com
    R 900
40.6 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
R 700
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 700
  • Agoda.com
    R 700
40.7 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
R 2 640
R 400
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 400
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 640
5956.4 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Keetmanshoop
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
91
29
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
91
29
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour quiver trees rock formations the owner donkey boiler hot water nature lovers the cottages ablution block next morning working farm attention to detail giel fossils dolomites oom 3km
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2019

Just to be clear, this is a review about the added extra at the fossil camp: the personal tour provided by Giel.

We had not specifically planned on taking the trip to the Mesosaurus Fossil Camp, but since we arrived in Keetmanshoop earlier than expected, we decided to drop in. And a very great drop-in it was!

Giel, the owner of the farm and the tour guide, is so enthusiastic that one cannot help but become infected by his enthusiasm! What a friendly, entertaining and knowledgeable man! For a small fee, Giel spent about an hour taking us and another couple around the fossil site, the site of the soldier’s grave and the most beautiful quiver tree forest. Giel gave us a brief history lesson around the soldier’s grave which was interesting. However, when it came to his lesson on the fossils, he really came into his element. It was extremely informative, but without being so detailed as to become boring. Thereafter we visited the stunning quiver trees and the musical dolerite rocks, where Giel played us two songs on the rocks. At the end of the tour, we were allowed to spend as much time on the farm as we liked. Giel is so generous of heart that he handed out quiver tree seeds free of charge to all who wanted them.

The trip to the Mesosaurus Fossil Camp tour is absolutely worth it, a real must see!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 323melanief
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2019 via mobile

If you like fossils you have to go, because on the owners private tour, you can see and touch fossils that he found in his farm. Also many quiver trees but less crowded than close quiver tree forest. Great campsite that is truly secluded and has great views.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank don_nemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2019

Lovely site, not what we expected. Shared facilities was not a problem. Great views from our pitch and we took advantage of exploring the local area. There were plenty of "kodak" moments to take advantage of. Well worth taking the road to this location.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DaveA1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2018

We spent a night at the fabulous campsite in the Kalahari desert - strange but beautiful landscape, huge boulders and quiver trees standing proud on hill tops. 3km from the farm house this is really a wonderful wilderness place. A massive sociable weavers nest gave us privacy and lots of avian company at our site, one of six, well spread in the bush surrounds. Each site has a tap and fire pit, and although the ablutions are rustic they were clean and perfectly adequate, lovely hot water heated by the donkey. Sheep wandered through the campsite, and we met more on the great 4x4 route - good fun for hubby to drive, more strange landscape, quiver trees and improbable rock arrangements. We felt no need to visit the nearby Quiver Forest or Giant's Playground. Apologies to the owners for not investigating the Mesosaurus fossils, and thanks for providing us with a fabulous bush camp.

Room tip: The chalets look lovely but the campsite is amazing!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
Thank LoonyLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2018

The owner took us on a tour through the camp and told us the story about the Mesosaurus. He is very friendly and has a good knowledge about the Mesosaurus and how it got there. He can also speak a little bit of German, which helped, because some travelers were Germans.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Marna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews