We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
don_nemel
Vienna, Austria

Unexpected, interesting, great campsite

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 08 Mar 2019via mobile
If you like fossils you have to go, because on the owners private tour, you can see and touch fossils that he found in his farm. Also many quiver trees but less crowded than close quiver tree forest. Great campsite that is truly secluded and has great views.
Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Quiver Inn Guesthouse
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
41.3 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Keetmanshoop Self-Catering Accommodation
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
41.0 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
R 2 771
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 771
122.8 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free parking
Pool
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
83.4 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
41.3 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Bar/Lounge
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
41.6 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free parking
Pool
Campground with braai area and washing area.
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
153.2 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
164.7 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 445
41.2 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
40.7 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
View more hotels in Keetmanshoop
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
91
29
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
91
29
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour quiver trees rock formations the owner donkey boiler hot water nature lovers the cottages ablution block next morning working farm attention to detail giel fossils dolomites oom 3km
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2019

Lovely site, not what we expected. Shared facilities was not a problem. Great views from our pitch and we took advantage of exploring the local area. There were plenty of "kodak" moments to take advantage of. Well worth taking the road to this location.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DaveA1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2018

We spent a night at the fabulous campsite in the Kalahari desert - strange but beautiful landscape, huge boulders and quiver trees standing proud on hill tops. 3km from the farm house this is really a wonderful wilderness place. A massive sociable weavers nest gave us privacy and lots of avian company at our site, one of six, well spread in the bush surrounds. Each site has a tap and fire pit, and although the ablutions are rustic they were clean and perfectly adequate, lovely hot water heated by the donkey. Sheep wandered through the campsite, and we met more on the great 4x4 route - good fun for hubby to drive, more strange landscape, quiver trees and improbable rock arrangements. We felt no need to visit the nearby Quiver Forest or Giant's Playground. Apologies to the owners for not investigating the Mesosaurus fossils, and thanks for providing us with a fabulous bush camp.

Room tip: The chalets look lovely but the campsite is amazing!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
Thank LoonyLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2018

The owner took us on a tour through the camp and told us the story about the Mesosaurus. He is very friendly and has a good knowledge about the Mesosaurus and how it got there. He can also speak a little bit of German, which helped, because some travelers were Germans.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Marna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

This is a nice campsite within a beautiful landscape of Quiver Trees. Infrastructure is fine and the camping spaces are big an mostly with trees to have some shadow.
In addition the owner makes a tour to fossils and to Quiver trees. He is a very nice and funny guy.
Also there is a 4x4 track to go with the car from the camping site. Fascinating landscape also there. So really great experience. Thanks.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DK791002
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

Spent one great night at Mesosaurus Fossil Camp. The camp is situated within the quiver trees which gives a special atmosphere to he camp. A highlight is Giel's (the owner) tour to see the fossiles of Mesosaurus and to learn about the history of the area of the farm. If you travel with a 4x4, don't miss to go on the trail through the Quiver Tree forest! We're looking forward to coming back!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Moschuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews