We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Moschuu

Peaceful and relaxed camp in an extraordinary envirinment

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Oct 2018via mobile
Spent one great night at Mesosaurus Fossil Camp. The camp is situated within the quiver trees which gives a special atmosphere to he camp. A highlight is Giel's (the owner) tour to see the fossiles of Mesosaurus and to learn about the history of the area of the farm. If you travel with a 4x4, don't miss to go on the trail through the Quiver Tree forest! We're looking forward to coming back!
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Quiver Inn Guesthouse
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
41.3 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Keetmanshoop Self-Catering Accommodation
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
41.0 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
122.8 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
83.4 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
41.3 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Bar/Lounge
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
41.6 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free parking
Pool
Campground with braai area and washing area.
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
153.2 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
164.7 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
40.7 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Decorative detail
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
41.2 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
View more hotels in Keetmanshoop
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
91
29
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
91
29
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour quiver trees rock formations the owner donkey boiler hot water nature lovers the cottages ablution block next morning working farm attention to detail giel fossils dolomites oom 3km
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

We were part of a party of 12 people who shared the bush camp with 6 other tourists and a child. By night time when we wanted to use the facilities, no water was left for either the showers or toilets. The situation was the same the next morning. We left without having to report the situation as no-one was at home to report to!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mcmaartens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hendrik S, Owner at Mesosaurus Fossil Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Thank you for your response. We are working on the water problem. It seems that we have a little hedgehog eating our water pipelines, as a snack, causing the water to leak out. We appologise for any inconvience causes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

I’ve spent two nights camping at this wonderful farm and experience only the best and warm hospitality of the owner Giel and his son Hendrik and his wife. It was one of my dreams to set eyes on a Mesosaurus fossil since 2000 when I’ve first read about it! May 2018 I had the privilege to see this remarkable fossil introduced to me by the excellent and informative guide. Hendrik’s passionate enthusiasm, knowledge of fossils and early history, together with his sense of humour just added to the fascinating detail of the discovery of the prehistoric Mesosaurus fossil.

The campsite is high up in the hills, surrounded by dolomite rock and hundreds of Quiver trees. You can drive through the trees and rocks or hike and take thousands of photos. The campsite is rustic with a few Camelthorn trees and there is no grass, only soft Kalahari sand. No running tap water at the campsites, only at the ablution building and it’s from a nearby borehole. One ablution building with flush toilets, hot water showers, hand basins and a separate basin for dish washing. You have to light a small fire underneath a metal drum called a “donkey” if you need hot water. No electricity.

Keep in mind that the campsite, chalets and the fossils are on a working farm and there might not be someone at the reception to receive you. When I arrived there were a note stating that if no one is in the office, wait a few minutes or walk across the road to the farmhouse to announce your arrival. The farms location is really off-the-beaten track and Internet and cellphone reception varies from just to nothing, at least at the campsite! Sometimes, according to Hendrik they have braai packs (lamb or beef) available and the price is more than reasonable. Fire wood available to purchase at the reception.

The campsite is also far away from the main road which promises a peaceful sleep at night. The campsite can accommodate the very popular and various types of South African 4x4 bush campers and rooftop tent vehicles. It’s not that commercialized as the nearby campsite down the road towards Keetmanshoop and I enjoyed the beautiful night skies. I can highly recommend this camp.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Stephan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 August 2018

We enjoyed this campsite a lot. It was very quiet and in the middle of nowhere.

Don't expect full amenities and electricity; hot water is quite limited and provided through a fire stove you need to light yourself. But the setting and scenery make up for the absence of luxury. Recommended for anyone visiting Keetmanshoop or on their way from Windhoek to Fish River.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Toon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 July 2018

We stopped off at the fossil site during a recent road trip. Hendrik gives a very interesting talk about how and why the fossils came to be there and how he and his father found them. He also took us to the Kokerboom forest and the 'ringing stones" area. Very interesting.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank harte
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 June 2018

We stayed 2 nights at this campsite and it was great. The trip with Hendrik is also to recommand, he knows a lot about the region and the fossiles. Best thing is his braai pack, the meat is excellent on the grill.

Date of stay: May 2018
1  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nolene S, Owner at Mesosaurus Fossil Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thank you for your response

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews