We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Zighy27
London

Utterly spectacular

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Jun 2017
We stayed for two nights and loved it!

The bush camp is located 3km in to the grounds and is modest yet impressive. It has a well-designed simple ablution block with shower that you can heat with fire. The nights are filled with stars and so quiet. You can cook on your own fire by your tent and roam around amongst the dolerite boulders, sheep, goats and quiver trees. It was a truly wonderful experience.

The fossil tour itself was the best thing we did in Namibia! Giel was so funny and enthusiastic. What a privilege to meet the original discoverer who is clearly still so passionate.

We cannot recommend staying at the camp, doing the fossil tour and 4x4 trail enough!
Date of stay: June 2017
Room Tip: It is possible to walk from the bush camp to the main reception - it took us about 45...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Keetmanshoop Self-Catering Accommodation
Booking.com
R 600
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 600
  • Agoda.com
    R 600
41.0 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Quiver Inn Guesthouse
Booking.com
R 1 050
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 050
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 050
  • Vio.com
    R 1 050
41.3 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 750
R 1 386
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 750
  • Priceline
    R 1 386
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 750
83.4 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 2 000
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 2 000
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 000
41.3 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
R 1 580
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 580
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 580
41.6 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 2 196
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 2 196
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 079
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 079
122.8 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free parking
Pool
Campground with braai area and washing area.
Booking.com
R 1 300
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 300
153.2 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 900
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 900
  • Agoda.com
    R 900
40.6 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Priceline
R 700
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 700
  • Agoda.com
    R 700
40.7 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Decorative detail
Booking.com
R 750
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 750
  • Agoda.com
    R 750
41.2 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
View more hotels in Keetmanshoop
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
91
29
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
91
29
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour quiver trees rock formations the owner donkey boiler hot water nature lovers the cottages ablution block next morning working farm attention to detail giel fossils dolomites oom 3km
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

We had intended to visit Quiver Tree Forest and Giants Playground en route back to SA whilst having an overnight stop in the area. After reading the good advice of fellow Tripadvisor reviewers, we decided to stay at Mesosaurus Fossil camp instead. It proved to be excellent advice. We did stop in at Quiver Tree lodge and saw the quiver trees and Giants Playground (a few kms down the road) but to be honest we found the trees far more impressive at Mesosaurus with similar rock formations. Our host Ghiel was very warm and friendly and led us on a highly informative and interesting tour of the fossils located on the farm. It was truly a privilege to meet such a wonderful salt of the earth character as Oom Ghiel and to see the wonders of nature that this area has to offer.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 115wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nolene S, Owner at Mesosaurus Fossil Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Thank you very much. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Mesosaurus camp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

We stayed 1 night at the bush camp which is a short 3km drive away from the main building in a really peaceful secluded spot among hundreds of quiver trees. We were the only ones staying out there and had the place to ourselves which was fabulous. You can spend hours there wandering around the trees and rocks. The owner was such a nice host and took us on an entertaining tour of the fossils - don't miss this!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarfe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

We took a chance and drove 40 km off the paved highway in hopes of seeing the mesosaur fossils. When we arrived, the owner, Giel, immediately took us to the fossil bed where his 10 year old son discovered the first fossil 25 years ago.

Giel is incredibly knowledgeable about the fossils, the geological history of the region, the current flora and fauna, and more.

He is also quite a jokester and quite funny. We highly recommend taking the time to get off the beaten path and visit the mesosaur fossils and even stay at the bush camp.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We made an detour on our trip trough Namibia to visit this Mesosaurus fossil site out of curiousity.What a suprise.I can not describe or find the words to write how exelent our brief stay was.Worth every cent.Not to be missed.Best way to learn history of that region.And as a bonus there are hundreds of quiver trees on the farm.I did make about 15 min of video,ones published on you tube i shall copy link here.

Giel most entertaining person in whole Namibia,most interesting storis to hear.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank djadranko
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

We stopped here for 1 night on our way from Klein-Aus Vista to Mata Mata. We were welcomed by Hendrik (the son) and settled in to our chalet. It is pretty basic but fits the setting and was comfy. Not much to do here during the hot spell of the day but at 16h30 we met with Giel and went on his fossil tour. Giel is a wonderful, passionate host and is great with kids. After the fossils we saw the quiver trees in a beautiful rocky setting and admired Giel playing a tune on the rocks. The night sky is amazing and you can buy wood at the office for a fire. Go and visit!

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 99Luftballons
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews