We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Knarf_from_Gent
Ghent, Belgium

Very nice owners and great braai

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Aug 2015
The accommodation is basic but clean. We were there in the Namibian winter so it was very very cold. There is no heating in the room but the beds are great. The views from the top are amazing and the father of the owner is really great person. He knows a lot about geology and shows you the local fossils they have.
The owner (incredible blue eyes ;-)) made a great braai for us and gave us a lot of information about the surroundings and life in Namibia. We ate in a room next to the bbq and although it was freezing cold and were eating with gloves we had a lot of fun. Great beer and wine also.
I would recommend it if you want to see and hear about life in Namibia from a farmer point of view.
Date of stay: July 2015
Room Tip: All the same.
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Quiver Inn Guesthouse
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
41.3 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Keetmanshoop Self-Catering Accommodation
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
41.0 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
122.8 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
83.4 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
41.3 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
41.6 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free parking
Pool
Campground with braai area and washing area.
Booking.com
  • Priceline
153.2 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
164.7 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
40.7 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Decorative detail
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
41.2 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
View more hotels in Keetmanshoop
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
91
29
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
91
29
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour quiver trees rock formations the owner donkey boiler hot water nature lovers the cottages ablution block next morning working farm attention to detail giel fossils dolomites oom 3km
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2015

The people make this what it is. We were the only people staying that night and whilst we were away the owners son prepared a bonfire and barbeque under the stars just for us. Fabulous.

He is also the person who discovered the mesosaurus fossils, when he was just 10 years old. He delighted in taking us up to the site and showing us the remaining fossils and some of the history of the place.

The accommodation is not luxurious, the breakfast room has a gravel floor, but this is atmospheric without being too adventurous. It is excellent value for money and the staff make it what it is. Very enjoyable.

Quiver Tree Forest is an easy drive away and worth the visit. The Giants Playground is even closer, but in my opinion not worth the bother.

Room tip: All the rooms are isolated, and all the better for it. Brilliant, fabulous night skies.
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avery-Little
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2015

We were shown around by the farm owner Hils. Polite, friendly and knowledgeable. Full of information about the German graves and the fossils. It is interesting to consider just how many fossils there may be on the site, which is largely unexcavated.

After the tour by Hils, we were taken to an area on the farm which has many interesting dolomite formations and quiver trees. Happily spent an hour or two photographing these.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bushmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2014

The place is simple but beautiful, new and well equiped, there are only 4 or 5 chalets every one with private shower and wc, tasteful decoration inside, With enought space in room. Every chalet with tea-coffee facilities and private braai, Great solar shower, One activity are the fossil tour, great tour with unique guide!! very interesting, informative and the guide loves the place and fossils. Beautiful quiver tree forest, great photo opp in sunset time. Dinner was again simple but all with great taste, salads and bbq meat and sausages. Breakfast with not lots but crearly enought choices. Familiar bussiness. Great choice on route between Kalagadi transfrontier park and Fish river canyon N.P.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Parejaconbotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 September 2014

We stayed in the camp site for 2 nights. Fabulous location - well worth the long drive - the Quiver trees are very dramatic. You go past other quiver camps on the way there, but they don't offer the extremely interesting tour by the owner Giel - do take the tour - its good.

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RickygeeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed in one of the cabins for two nights in May 2014. The accommodation is rustic and clean. We arrived mid afternoon giving us time to do a walk up to a ridge on the farm. There are lots of quiver trees and beautiful views. It is a very relaxing place.
Although self catering is available we opted for the good home cooked evening meals delivered by Hendrik to our cabin. Delicious! We were interested in the fossils in the area and took a guided drive with Giel. He has lots of enthusiasm and is very passionate about the fossils.s We also spent a morning driving around the farm on a 4x4 track, lots of quiver trees.
This is a really interesting place to stay.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank granviajes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews