We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
aprilvis69

Great and original

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Jun 2014via mobile
Rather basic accomodation but all you need is avalable and the vieuw is amazing. Go to the viewpoint on the top for the best sundowner. And ask the manager to show yoy around the fossil camp and the tree forest. He is so pasionate and a very good guide.
The braai was good.
Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Keetmanshoop Self-Catering Accommodation
R 600
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 600
  • Agoda.com
    R 600
41.0 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
R 1 386
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 386
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 386
  • Vio.com
    R 1 374
83.4 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 2 440
R 2 196
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 2 196
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 440
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 440
122.8 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 1 580
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 580
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 580
41.6 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 2 000
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 2 000
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 000
41.3 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Bar/Lounge
R 3 452
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 452
  • eDreams
    R 3 452
164.7 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 900
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 900
  • Agoda.com
    R 900
40.6 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
R 900
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 900
  • Agoda.com
    R 900
40.7 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Decorative detail
R 750
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 750
  • Agoda.com
    R 750
41.2 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
R 400
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
5956.4 km from Mesosaurus Fossil Camp
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Keetmanshoop
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
91
29
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
91
29
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour quiver trees rock formations the owner donkey boiler hot water nature lovers the cottages ablution block next morning working farm attention to detail giel fossils dolomites oom 3km
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Our stay at the Mesosaurus Fossil Park Campsite, situated on the farm Spitzkoppe-Ost, was truly one of the most memorable of our trip. We were camped under a tree which housed a huge communal sociable weaver bird nest we dubbed “Nkandla”. Clearly these little birds were experts at this camping lark because from the moment we arrived they were shouting the odds and were quite forward when food appeared.

Oom Giel Steenkamp and his dog Spookie took us on a tour of the farm to see the fossil remains of the prehistoric mesosaurus tenuidens lizards that once lived there. The schutztruppen grave site, quiver trees and dolerite boulders are also worth seeing. The tour, which lasted about two hours, is a must do if you are in the area.

It is a great place to be at one with your surroundings and recharge your batteries. I would love to visit again and spend more time poking around.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarryMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nolene S, Owner at Mesosaurus Fossil Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your review. Always good to know how our guests experienced there stay with us. Hope to see you in the future again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at the bush camp for one night - an amazing experience. The camp site is in a beautiful location in between rocks and lots of quiver trees. The sunset was stunning. We were the only people in the bush camp and had a wonderful, quiet evening. There are also two big weaver bird nest that are really interesting to watch. The shower and toilet facilities were very good.

Giel was very friendly and the mesosaurus tour he did was informative and also very entertaining. We can only recommend staying there.

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is by far the most simple campsite we stayed at during our trip. But Giel - and his endearing dog Spooky - make of for everything!

The bathroom facilities are shared with all campers - which was not a problem for us travelling in the low season. But they are also clean and have a very good warm shower.

The tour to the fossils site and the quiver tree forest is interesting and entertaining - don't miss it!

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Although we read previous reviews on Tripadvisor, we were still surprised by the Mesosaurus Fossil Camp. This place has everything you need when travelling in Southern Namibia! The accomodation might look basic, but it has everything you need, it's clean, the beds are excellent and the solar system provides plenty of hot water. The hosts cooked us delicious food which was served in the boma close to the cottages, which has a nice fire place (wood was supplied by the hosts) as well.
In the afternoon we attended the guided tour to the fossils, which was one of the best tours we ever did in Namibia. Not only because of the beautiful fossils, but also because of the humorous tour guide (the father of the current owner). On top of that, the farm where this camp is located has approximately 5,000 quiver trees on its site, as well as some stunning rock formations. We enjoyed everyting during sunset (on our very own) and we did not have to go to the quiver tree forest or Giant's Playground the next day. We will never forget this amazing place and we can highly recommend it to other travellers.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaVdmS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We arrived in the late afternoon to a warm welcome and shown to the most delightful little cottages that we had seen during a 17 day trip. The ingenious use of local materials and re-used items make these cottages a joy to stay in.

This is rustic accommodation at its best.

Don't miss the tour to the fossils, kokerboom forest and giant stones.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EveM704
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews