We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
228
139
44
37
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
139
44
37
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree house open air okavango river mokoro trip swimming pool sense of humour bird walk funny signs laid back close to nature hippo croc hot water overlooking the river ablution facilities mosquito net two nights sunset cruise
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We camped at Ngepi for 5 nights. We enjoyed our stay except for the last night when a large group of people who were on some sort of a rally had a party at the restaurant/pub with very load music which went on until 01h00 the next morning.
The music was so loud that it kept us awake although our camp site was the one furthest away from the pub. Loud music such as this should never be allowed at a "wilderness" establishment such as Ngepi but for it to be allowed to go on until 01h00 was unbelievable. Ngepi claims to be "100% eco friendly" but allowing loud music until the small hours makes a mockery of that claim.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannes K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Ngepi_Team, Owner at Ngepi Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hello Hannes,
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I appreciate it. We take load music very serious and we have some cleaver tricks to stop it before it gets momentum, but sometimes we fail because the party'ers just take the noise to the campsite after we close it all down. My apologies for their inconsiderate behavior.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Lovely camp with great, laid-back family vibe. Loads of things to do. Sadly the site was a little overbooked (truck of 20 travellers put on 1 site seriously affecting ablutions). Also, despite carefully booking activities well in advance they were repeatedly messed up - very frustrating especially with excited kids expectations to manage. Restaurant was good with generous and tasty food. Mickey- the manageress - is a delight and found ways to offset all the booking issues!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank 569tanyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Ngepi_Team, Owner at Ngepi Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Hello Tanya,
So sorry for the messed up activities! Its our silly season and we are working on training up new extra guides. Next time we will be better :-) come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

This is a must for any camper! Campsite very good, lovely green grass. Riverview from campsite beautiful, lots of birds, bathrooms and toilets well thought out and an adventure using them. Everything in this camp is just so cute. We stayed 3 nights and would have loved to stay a week. Will we ever forget this camp, absolutely never. I highly recommend this camp. Cannot fault a thing!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank HantieVe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Ngepi_Team, Owner at Ngepi Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Hello Hantie, ....so how come you only gave a 4 stars!? :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

we had a two bedroom suite (probably not the right word) overlooking the river. our deck was above the water that crocodiles and hippos reside in. their was a pull down bamboo screen to close off the bedrooms from the outside world but we chose to lye in bed and watch the sun rise through the mosquito nets. it was very liberating to be out of sight from all the other villas. rustic bathrooms were brilliant. great meals and staff. enjoy.

Room Tip: ask for a tree house
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Ngepi_Team, Owner at Ngepi Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

many thanks for the good word Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

Quirky and different camp site on the banks of the Okavango. There are chalets which are great although we camped this time. Ablutions did not have hot water but there was a large crowd. Food was excellent in the dining room

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jennyi96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Ngepi_Team, Owner at Ngepi Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

hello Jenny. thanks so much for taking the time to write your review. much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews